Geelong rorting the system

You changed your post and edited it so say 'current team'. Which really makes no sense when talking about Wells vs other recruiting managers. Since the Wells era, Melbourne would've had just as many hits when it comes to rookies. Stef Martin, Nev Jetta, Tom Mcdonald, Jamar, Cam Bruce, Russel Robertson, A.Davey etc. every team has them

Yes I have. So? The guy you replied to literally spoke about our current team. I checked your team. What the hell is your point.

if he wanted to he could have added a whole stack of other guys onto his list if he wanted to. He just named 13 players that took to the field on the weekend im pretty sure.

Again, where are all these hits? You’ve had 3 times as many top 10 selections in the last 25 years. So you’ve somehow managed to screw them up.

So it’s not your high picks you’ve nailed. You sure as hell aren’t getting the low ones as good as we are.

So where is all this miraculous recruiting.

Do you get extra points for being at the bottom end of the ladder for longer? Is that how you prove it?

Is our paltry 395 wins this century to your 239 proof of this incredible penchant you have for looting the good picks out from under everybody’s noses?

If you win every game for almost 8 straight seasons and we don’t win any, and you catch up that margin, will that be proof that we’ve picked better players than you, in this infantilised world you’ve created?

AFL journaliats fell over themselves talking about how good Tom Hawkins was when he retired, now he's largely forgotton.
That's the journalistic Geelong bias.

Hi guys some great discussions going on here, I have a quick question I’m sure will be an easy one to answer, why has the AFL picked Geelong to be their favourites? They obviously give us so much that other clubs don’t get. I’m feeling privileged we get everything handed to us but I just can’t workout why they picked us over the other 17 clubs. Please enlighten me.

It makes perfect sense mate.

A club who’s existence is never going to be in doubt, who’s room for growth is not all that great and who’s financial security is virtually guaranteed no matter how poorly we go.

Makes way more sense to prop us up than say, the Saints or the Dogs or North or the northern clubs, or even the power clubs who, while they will never disappear, offer huge financial benefits when they are up and about.

It’s logical they’d pick a club right in the middle

There are some clubs the AFL simply wouldn't pick, like Richmond, because they are too extreme. Cellar dwellers for more than a decade, then come good for 3 years, only to become cellar dwellers again. The AFL picks winners ;)

The old boys squattocracy connections and the Stephen Hocking influence and changes he made to favour Geelong before he went back to Geelong as CEO.
Also the constant whinging by Chris Scott has a bullying affect on the AFL admin.

Yes I have. So? The guy you replied to literally spoke about our current team. I checked your team. What the hell is your point.

if he wanted to he could have added a whole stack of other guys onto his list if he wanted to. He just named 13 players that took to the field on the weekend im pretty sure.

Again, where are all these hits? You’ve had 3 times as many top 10 selections in the last 25 years. So you’ve somehow managed to screw them up.

So it’s not your high picks you’ve nailed. You sure as hell aren’t getting the low ones as good as we are.

So where is all this miraculous recruiting.

Do you get extra points for being at the bottom end of the ladder for longer? Is that how you prove it?

Is our paltry 395 wins this century to your 239 proof of this incredible penchant you have for looting the good picks out from under everybody’s noses?

If you win every game for almost 8 straight seasons and we don’t win any, and you catch up that margin, will that be proof that we’ve picked better players than you, in this infantilised world you’ve created?
yeah Geelong have been very successful **

yeah, we did botch some picks, as Geelong have done with many of their picks, such as Tenace, Clark, Mitch Brown, Daniel Menzel, Smedts, Nakia Cockatoo, Jackson Thurlow, Jordan Murdoch, Parfitt, Cooper Stephens, Darcy Lang, all first round picks.

11 failed picks for various reasons out of 21 first round picks. Over 50% bust rate. So don't tell me Wells is a gun recruiter. He may be good at the late picks but his early picks have been junk.

yeah Geelong have been very successful **

yeah, we did botch some picks, as Geelong have done with many of their picks, such as Tenace, Clark, Mitch Brown, Daniel Menzel, Smedts, Nakia Cockatoo, Jackson Thurlow, Jordan Murdoch, Parfitt, Cooper Stephens, Darcy Lang, all first round picks.

11 failed picks for various reasons out of 21 first round picks. Over 50% bust rate. So don't tell me Wells is a gun recruiter. He may be good at the late picks but his early picks have been junk.

We botched Menzel? We were supposed to know he would slip and do an ACL on the astrofturf on the MCG after kicking 2 goals in the opening quarter of a Qualifying Final, giving him 32 goals in 21 games as a 19 year old behind Mooney, Hawkins, Podsiadly, Johnson and Chapman. Nup. At least try and be realistic. Any other club would have jettisoned the kid when he kept rupturing the same tendon. Even his eventual record for us was pretty good - almost 2 goals a game after 4 knee reconstructions.

Parfitt played 130 games for us and won a flag.

Again, you can peel off all the names you want. Every team will have more misses than hits.

Difference is, we simply have more hits than you do.

We botched Menzel? We were supposed to know he would slip and do an ACL on the astrofturf on the MCG after kicking 2 goals in the opening quarter of a Qualifying Final, giving him 32 goals in 21 games as a 19 year old behind Mooney, Hawkins, Podsiadly, Johnson and Chapman. Nup. At least try and be realistic. Any other club would have jettisoned the kid when he kept rupturing the same tendon. Even his eventual record for us was pretty good - almost 2 goals a game after 4 knee reconstructions.

Parfitt played 130 games for us and won a flag.

Again, you can peel off all the names you want. Every team will have more misses than hits.

Difference is, we simply have more hits than you do.
As I said, various reasons. don't try to pretend any of those names weren't busts.

Yeah, I'm just saying, let's not pretend Wells is some Messiah of recruiting. He's just like the rest of them. A lot of good picks and a lot of bad picks.

The Afl just isn't an even playing field. so comparing one teams success over another is more due to the advantages/disadvantages a team gets than anything else.

As I said, various reasons. don't try to pretend any of those names weren't busts.

Yeah, I'm just saying, let's not pretend Wells is some Messiah of recruiting. He's just like the rest of them. A lot of good picks and a lot of bad picks.

The Afl just isn't an even playing field. so comparing one teams success over another is more due to the advantages/disadvantages a team gets than anything else

Parfitt wasn’t a bust.

I pointed out that one was an excellent selection who literally had an accident that no recruiter could have foreseen, and Parfitt was taken at 26 in the 2016 national draft and played 130 games and won a flag.

Do you know who the best player in the 2016 draft was after pick 26?

Tom Stewart.

Think we did ok.

Parfitt and Stewart are no Mitch Hannan and Dion Johnson who you guys selected after him so maybe we should have taken one of them.

We missed Shai Bolton I suppose but I’ll settle for a five time all Australian in Stewart.

We’ve turned Esava Ratugolea into Lawson Humphries too which you’d think sets us up for a half-back flanker for the foreseeable future while hamstringing Port Adelaide for a few seasons as well.

Parfitt wasn’t a bust.

I pointed out that one was an excellent selection who literally had an accident that no recruiter could have foreseen, and Parfitt was taken at 26 in the 2016 national draft and played 130 games and won a flag.

Do you know who the best player in the 2016 draft was after pick 26?

Tom Stewart.

Think we did ok.

Parfitt and Stewart are no Mitch Hannan and Dion Johnson who you guys selected after him so maybe we should have taken one of them.

We missed Shai Bolton I suppose but I’ll settle for a five time all Australian in Stewart.

We’ve turned Esava Ratugolea into Lawson Humphries too which you’d think sets us up for a half-back flanker for the foreseeable future while hamstringing Port Adelaide for a few seasons as well.
Tom Stewart has literally nothing to do with Parfitt's selection. It's like saying Jack Watts wasn't a bust because we got Neville Jetta at 51 in the same draft. like what sort of horrendous logic are you using.

Who cares. They both won a flag together from the same draft, their selections were our two consecutive ones in the same draft, our recruiting team went ‘we will have this guy, then we will have this guy.’ The whole concept of it being a bust is the idea that the selection costs you and you get nothing in return. We got a solid performer who played in a flag. The same year we got one of modern footy’s best defenders, we got Ratugolea who we seem to have upgraded significantly to Humphries, oh, and we picked up Mark o’Connor, Zac Guthrie and Jack Henry.

Think we came out ahead that year.

The Afl just isn't an even playing field. so comparing one teams success over another is more due to the advantages/disadvantages a team gets than anything else.

Melbourne would know about draft advantages.

Can't remember the last time Geelong won a spoon and got charity picks.

Melbourne would know about draft advantages.

Can't remember the last time Geelong won a spoon and got charity picks.
You'd have to be a pensioner to remember us winning a spoon.

Ahhh the ole double-double rort. Danking our way to a 119 point AFL flag having already father-son'ed our way to the VFL flag a week earlier. :handok:

I mean, you did really improve that year, Bomber Thompson's job was on the line coming into 2007 - but yeah, the Cats really found something that made the difference. Like Jobe Watson did in his lone outstanding season.

So what you're saying does make sense. :handok:

You sound bitter danster.
Do you think Melbourne make the finals or waste away another year?

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...