Geelong rorting the system

Umm, the fact that FA allows 2 clubs in their infancy to be stripped of its talent right at the point where a list they helped put together, and many said would dominate the landscape, matured, might suggest that FA is detrimental to the 'expansion' you feel was way more important than gifting the Dogs the 16 flag at Sydneys expense.

Theres a lot more grey in AFL than the black and white you like to suggest.

Right. So those squads they drafted in 2010-14/5, that they could add FAs to any time right through to 2018 but other clubs couldn’t touch via FA through to that point unless they got a trade - they were in no position to strengthen them by adding some experienced free agents.

Because of Tom Lynch, Adam Tomlinson and Aiden Corr, the only 3 free agents to move from the expansion clubs, two of whom left the Giants AFTER they’d made a grand final, free agency is further proof that the AFL has set them up to fail in order to prop up the Victorian clubs.

Right. So those squads they drafted in 2010-14/5, that they could add FAs to any time right through to 2018 but other clubs couldn’t touch via FA through to that point unless they got a trade - they were in no position to strengthen them by adding some experienced free agents.

Because of Tom Lynch, Adam Tomlinson and Aiden Corr, the only 3 free agents to move from the expansion clubs, two of whom left the Giants AFTER they’d made a grand final, free agency is further proof that the AFL has set them up to fail in order to prop up the Victorian clubs.
No FA isnt proof that they set them up to fail at all but it certainly came in for those 2 clubs at the worst possible time for retention of mature aged, quality talent.
That it benefitted heartland clubs in their push for flags is a win for Victoria and certainly not a win for expansion.
Nor was GWS falling over during finals or Sydney in the GF, but it sure was another win for the heartland.

Now listen carefully, since 8.15am this morning Ive been sitting on my arse @$50/hr, much of which has been in a busted arse shithole town in lower outback SA, not all bad mind you, the local sports bar served up an amazing 350g Porterhouse steak, and you've provided me hours of entertainment in what would have otherwise been a boring afternoon.
But the reality is, not much I say on here has any substance or value in the real world, its where I come to be dazzled by Rhode Scholars such as yourself and I dish up a bit of BS along the way.
If you took the time to look around you'd see im not alone but you continue flying your flag of reason and I'll continue to laugh at how serious you think this all is.

Now ive got a few more hours of sitting on my arse to do and plod takes a dim view of my attempts to multi task so we'll agree to disagree and I'll bid you adieu.

No FA isnt proof that they set them up to fail at all but it certainly came in for those 2 clubs at the worst possible time for retention of mature aged, quality talent.
That it benefitted heartland clubs in their push for flags is a win for Victoria and certainly not a win for expansion.
Nor was GWS falling over during finals or Sydney in the GF, but it sure was another win for the heartland.

Now listen carefully, since 8.15am this morning Ive been sitting on my arse @$50/hr, much of which has been in a busted arse shithole town in lower outback SA, not all bad mind you, the local sports bar served up an amazing 350g Porterhouse steak, and you've provided me hours of entertainment in what would have otherwise been a boring afternoon.
But the reality is, not much I say on here has any substance or value in the real world, its where I come to be dazzled by Rhode Scholars such as yourself and I dish up a bit of BS along the way.
If you took the time to look around you'd see im not alone but you continue flying your flag of reason and I'll continue to laugh at how serious you think this all is.

Now ive got a few more hours of sitting on my arse to do and plod takes a dim view of my attempts to multi task so we'll agree to disagree and I'll bid you adieu.
Excuse me penfoldsfan, can you please stop crying about vic teams. Just win a grand final m9. It's not hard you sook.

As soon as we dispose of the Vic Coach we'll give it genuine consideration.
Mate, you Port Adelaide supporters live in a bubble. There is no VIC bias in the AFL. Do you remember the COLA that was to the benefit of the Swans and GWS? The only reason it's gone is because the Swans decided to manipulate it to bring in Buddy as a RFA. Let's not also forget you're golden boy Jason Horne Francis who demanded to be released to Port after two years at North. Wasn't that a case of Port pillaging North of the highly prized no 1 draft pick?

And when you talk about GCS and GWS being pillaged there is this thing called the salary cap. You can't bring into your team high draft picks and expect them to all play for peanuts. Naturally some will move on. Lynch went to Richmond as an RFA because GCS could match the offer from Richmond. They could've kep him but didn't.

The Geelong fans in here think the GFC is admired by the football public. Nothing could be further from the truth. Fans know when a club has won with grace and sportsmanship compared with cheating and gaining the system that lacks both grace and sportsmanship compared. The GFC has no admirable qualities, it has some admirable players who haven’t been lead there ($$) from other clubs. Players like Duncan and Guthrie and Myers and guys that have made it the hard way like Mannah. As for the mercenaries, they are what’s wrong with football and society really.
Spot on, plus two of the most overated players in history in Stewart and Hawkins.

For the life of me I’ll never understand how some Tiges supporters lived through three flags in four years, including multiple finals wins over Geelong, yet are so bitter. You think and post about the Cats more than I do, lol. Our rivals are Hawthorn - I doubt many Geelong fans give a second thought to Richmond aside from being weirded out by the few obsessed Tiges supporters on this site.

And one of Freshwater's grievances is that Geelong has managed to attract talent from other clubs, like we are the only club doing it. Has someone forgotten to tell him we live in an era of free agency, and that on EVERY club list there are experienced players recruited from other clubs. If he thinks WB aren't talking to others then he he is delusional.

Even the Geelong Advertiser is asking queations.

"Audits, deals, and jobs: The Cats’ third party payments storm
A string of incidents leading up to an audit into third party payments at the Cats has raised eyebrows across the league."

Paywalled, but found this from a couple of hours ago. 😍

Sunday Shout: Tom Hawkins’ Beaufort heroics, Jon Anderson speaks to Terence Crawford​

Tom Hawkins starred in a cameo appearance for a country football battler, helping the club achieve just its third win since the start of 2023. That and more in the Sunday Shout.

A Tom Hawkins goal after the final siren was the perfect finish for Beaufort and its newest star.

The retired Geelong great booted four goals as the Crows recorded a 36-point win over Central Highlands league rival Hepburn on Saturday. Beaufort kicked away with a seven-goal final term which delighted locals.

It was just Beaufort’s second win of the season and only the club’s third senior footy victory since the start of 2023.

Beaufort coach Daniel Jones described Hawkins’ influence on the club as “brilliant”.

“He’s as genuine a person as you will come across,” Jones said.

“I spoke to him on the phone on Friday and he ended up in the players’ WhatsApp group and was getting around the boys.

“He just took over in the second half. He was clunking everything and kicking goals from everywhere.

“The goal after the siren capped it off.”

The crowd packed into Goldfields Recreation Reserve in Beaufort to see Hawkins in his one-off appearance as part of the Carlton Draft, an initiative which sends ex-AFL guns back to country footy for a day.

“As close to a country league grand final as you’d see,” Jones said of the size of the crowd.

“It’s a great day for our community after the difficulties of drought and having fires come through about 18 months ago.

“It enabled people to take the difficulties of life off their mind. We couldn’t be more thankful for this opportunity.”

8708099a716e6bd5f353ec25e28a178ae21221ab.webp

Even the Geelong Advertiser is asking queations.

"Audits, deals, and jobs: The Cats’ third party payments storm
A string of incidents leading up to an audit into third party payments at the Cats has raised eyebrows across the league."

Quaetions?

AP, why are you so utterly obsessed with Geelong FC? And why does it matter Tom Hawkins, who goes down as probably one of the greatest proponents of team play, didn't kick more than 7 goals in a game? You are absolutely alone in not rating his contribution to the game:

796 goals
296 goal assists (the second-most prolific goal assist player in VFL/AFL history)
5 x All Australian
No 1. great bloke

Quaetions?

AP, why are you so utterly obsessed with Geelong FC? And why does it matter Tom Hawkins, who goes down as probably one of the greatest proponents of team play, didn't kick more than 7 goals in a game? You are absolutely alone in not rating his contribution to the game:

796 goals
296 goal assists (the second-most prolific goal assist player in VFL/AFL history)
5 x All Australian
No 1. great bloke
The thread is about Geelong rorting and it's unAustralian to succeed through rorts.

I don't undersrand what you just said. Why do you want questions?
You said you found an article asking questions. There were no questions in the highlighted text. How thick are you?

Remember when you said the walls were closing in when the audit was announced? Men's teams breaches found: ZERO.

How does that make you feel?

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...