Geelong rorting the system

Why would the league CEO drive to a player's house to discuss this?

I don't recall Demetriou paying a visit to Cousins, or Gill paying house visits to Hawks players after the injunction.

Very eyebrow raising for the league CEO to personally visit a player at their house to discuss a post on social media.

Cousins was probably in rehab. And no I’m not being facetious. He was off the rails. Smith is engaging in banter with a troll online. What a braindead comparison.

Are you seriously having a sook because one CEO hasn’t treated this player the same way as another player two decades ago. Grow up and get over it.

Cousins was probably in rehab. And no I’m not being facetious. He was off the rails. Smith is engaging in banter with a troll online. What a braindead comparison.

Are you seriously having a sook because one CEO hasn’t treated this player the same way as another player two decades ago. Grow up and get over it.

So you're entirely fine with the league CEO paying house visits to players, especially one with a known drug problem, to tell them to cool it down?

Can't just let the system do its job?

So you're entirely fine with the league CEO paying house visits to players, especially one with a known drug problem, to tell them to cool it down?

Can't just let the system do its job?

Well he doesn’t have a known drug problem, does he.

He admitted to using drugs four seasons ago, didn’t he.

Yes, im entirely fine with the afl ceo doing his job. Amazing that as a pleb who just watches the game, I can come to grips with this without having an aneurism.

I watched the AFL pay for perhaps the best player in the 150 year history of my team go to a team that they invented for profit, and I was, and still am, fine with it.

I’m pretty sure I’ll handle this gross violation of the UN Human Rights policy that you’re so up in arms about.

Well he doesn’t have a known drug problem, does he.

He admitted to using drugs four seasons ago, didn’t he.

He's been suspended for using illicit substances in the past, plenty of rumours flying around about people seeing him partaking and made a social media post about doing drugs.

Yes, im entirely fine with the afl ceo doing his job. Amazing that as a pleb who just watches the game, I can come to grips with this without having an aneurism.

His job isn't making house visits to players to discuss their social media activity, it's running the league.

Mentoring him is the responsibility of the GFC.

I watched the AFL pay for perhaps the best player in the 150 year history of my team go to a team that they invented for profit, and I was, and still am, fine with it.

I’m pretty sure I’ll handle this gross violation of the UN Human Rights policy that you’re so up in arms about.

Cool.

He's been suspended for using illicit substances in the past, plenty of rumours flying around about people seeing him partaking and made a social media post about doing drugs.

His job isn't making house visits to players to discuss their social media activity, it's running the league.

Cool.

Btw, Demetriou flew to Perth to meet cousins.

Not sure what they ate, though.

Pays to do your research, mate.

Hope you’re ok.

Why would the league CEO drive to a player's house to discuss this?

I don't recall Demetriou paying a visit to Cousins, or Gill paying house visits to Hawks players after the injunction.

Very eyebrow raising for the league CEO to personally visit a player at their house to discuss a post on social media.

Wow it's almost like Dillon is a different guy to Demetriou and Gill. What a concept.

Well there you go, had no idea.

Why wouldn't I be? You're the one getting worked up in this thread.

Well you seem pretty upset about the idea of afl officials taking an interest in player welfare or warning them to behave themselves which I would be fairly certain is what this little meeting would have been about. In the case of cousins I’d say it was a welfare check ( well I wouldn’t say it was - the article says it straight out) so it isn’t just on the clubs, it’s on the league as well if that’s anything to go by.

Again, what’s the big deal with the boss saying ‘you are splashed across every second article because you are playing good footy and in every ad etc so don’t put us in a position where we have to discipline you.’

Cool.
Elite level pearl clutching.

‘Cut throat’ sport doesn’t mean you act like dog shit. Ross Lyon leaving St Kilda the first time is an example of cut throat but shit. I’d rather win being a good sport than underhanded tactics.
Ross Lyon leaving the saints at the end of 2011 to join the dockers is an example of being cut throat but poo...

Many players have walked out on one club to go to another club like Ross Lyon has done. LoL

That was a pretty exceptional circumstance, though.

When Tassie comes in the AFL will want someone to be the face of that club, and that someone is going to be making serious cash money.

Since Ablett Jr left Geelong have brought in Dangerfield and Cameron among others. I think they have done OK. In the event my club gets some good players I hope they all get HJs franchises and Caltex servos.
I know it's off topic....

I am still half convinced that Alex Pearce will be one of the 1st Tassie blokes signing up to them.

It makes sense. Yeah he will be 31 years old when he signs with them. It will be a 2 year deal. And he is a local Tassie guy too.

No different with Ross Glendenning joining West coast eagles at the end of 1986. He was returning to WA. He was already 30 or 31 years old and he signed a 2 year deal.

Tyson Stengle for free was an unreal rort. Turfed out by two lesser clubs - AA, premiership, and the difference again last night. What an uplifting story he's been. :heart:

Gs0vexdaUAA3FCQ

Tyson Stengle for free was an unreal rort. Turfed out by two lesser clubs - AA, premiership, and the difference again last night. What an uplifting story he's been. :heart:

Gs0vexdaUAA3FCQ

We rorted that one by consulting a clairvoyant and putting a plant in at AFL house and inventing the idea of delisted free agents in the knowledge that we would get him and he would kill it

Gs0vexdaUAA3FCQ
What a story that can be told about our superior culture as a club.

Who knows why they started Gold Coast. But it sure hasn't led to any profit.

Dunno about that.

Previous broadcast rights deal signed in 2015 was $2.5 billion. Most recent was $4.5 billion.

I’m not sure the exact figure overall prior to 2015 but per year, it was about 60 per cent of what it became in 2015.

Regardless of how little money the Suns - or Giants for that matter - make (or lose) in isolation, having an extra game most weeks, and an extra piece of Australia to offer to broadcasters, it undoubtedly has played a part in the sheer volume of obscene cash the broadcasters have paid the AFL.

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...