Geelong rorting the system

• Thread starter Thread starter joe444

Chris Scott having two jobs after apparently not taking a wage during COVID so Geelong didn't have to cut coaching staff like every other team.
Real World: What a selfless act that saved the jobs of his peers.

BigFooty nuffies: This is FISHY!!

I heard Geelong is filling in Bass Strait so it can poach Tasmanian players with offers of free land.

Typical Kardinia Park rort, destroying the habitat of the endangered hairy stone crab.

Mr Krabs Meme GIF by MOODMAN

Real World: What a selfless act that saved the jobs of his peers.

BigFooty nuffies: This is FISHY!!
Or maybe he was just happy to wait for in Morris Finance pay cheque down the track to balance it. This is from a coach who famously complains about the job being too stressful and head coaches are stretched too thin with all the commitments.

I mean, if you're use to rorting the cap for an extra 10% thru a booster without incident, why not do the same for the soft cap?

Or maybe he was just happy to wait for in Morris Finance pay cheque down the track to balance it. This is from a coach who famously complains about the job being too stressful and head coaches are stretched too thin with all the commitments.

I mean, if you're use to rorting the cap for an extra 10% thru a booster without incident, why not do the same for the soft cap?
These are some fairly desperate reaches. It comes across as you just really wanting something to be true and then passing off flimsy speculation as evidence.

Again, in the real world this is a non-issue.
People are allowed 2nd jobs. He has one.

In the real world most people complain about their job, so why can't an AFL coach.

From now on, best practice would you not to comment on anything GFC as you're frankly full of shit.
Now be gone, let the adults talk.

PS with his biased jealous feelpinions vs Cleary with educated guesses. Educated given he'd have a lot of info as a footy journo.

Let me get this right.

The suggestions are that Geelong players are getting looked after in deals and payments not in the salary cap. Then this is held up as though their underpayment of players makes them geniuses? Isn't he pointing out that it doesn't make sense? If all their stars are 'taking unders', or playing above their pay level, then something very dodgy is going on.

Let me get this right.

The suggestions are that Geelong players are getting looked after in deals and payments not in the salary cap. Then this is held up as though their underpayment of players makes them geniuses? Isn't he pointing out that it doesn't make sense? If all their stars are 'taking unders', or playing above their pay level, then something very dodgy is going on.
The German hotel is a beat up. Much ado about nothing.

As for what we got sanctioned for last year Ralph, Caro and Cleary all made it clear there was no indication or suggestion Geelong systematically cheated the system but instead were sanctioned for sloppy administration, failure to report on time and as such. Which are things that other clubs have been pulled up for in the last 10 or so years including NM and last year's premiers.

The suggestion from Cleary is that the cap management is well run, and there's been suggestions in the past it's the flattest bell curve in the comp, and as such is better placed to have space free.

Again, in the real world this is a non-issue.
People are allowed 2nd jobs. He has one.

In the real world most people complain about their job, so why can't an AFL coach.

From now on, best practice would you not to comment on anything GFC as you're frankly full of shit.
Now be gone, let the adults talk.

In this real world you’re so fond of speaking about, how much are Geelong rorting. Hypothetically of course, in this real world.

Be gone, curly.
You're beneath me.. Most of us really.

Let me get this right.

We’ll have you given any thought to the idea that they actually are playing above their pay level?

This isn’t a team that is winning competitions for fun. It’s won 1 - 4 seasons ago - but is generally thereabouts, in the mix, churning out 15-18 win seasons.

GWS has been loaded with stars and not performing to expectations for a decade.
The Tigers, with respect to them, were anything but star-laden, and won 3 flags in four years 😂😂
Has anyone ever suspected them of rorting the cap?
No. Why? Because it makes absolutely no sense when you look at their team on paper.

If Geelong’s results weren’t strung together over a period of 20 years no one would look at our list and even remotely suggest we were doing anything dodgy. They wouldn’t even look at the recruitment of Dangerfield, Cameron and Smith and suggest it; it’s 3 gun players over 10 seasons and only two of them had ever won any awards and we’ve had Selwood, Enright, Hawkins, Taylor and Kelly just to name a few disappear in that time. (I realise someone like Stewart would be paid heaps and arrived by different means altogether).

It’s not wins, it’s not names on a bit of paper it’s just repetition that fosters it.

As I’ve said I don’t doubt that we push the envelope every way we possibly can and probably too far on occasion but no worse than anyone else and I don’t really see why we would have needed to for the personnel we’ve had on board since the genuine glory days

Curly was the most loved Stooge.
A person could be called worse.

Arty isn’t to be blamed, he’s doing his best with the insults. Arty if you’re reading this, your insults get me good and are very upsetting.

The only thing we can be sure of is the two clubs in Port and Geelong are the cleanest when it comes to salary cap matters, given both had their routine audits last year and both passed with flying colours.

Huge well-done to both clubs, and I speak for all of us when I say we wish the next eight years are just as rule-abiding as the previous eight were. Around 2034 is the next audit for those two clubs. Should ace it again. :handok:

Arty isn’t to be blamed, he’s doing his best with the insults. Arty if you’re reading this, your insults get me good and are very upsetting.

Curly blasphemy should be a bannable offence.

I bet you didn’t know that the only club that was officially caught breaching the salary cap in a Grand Final winning year was Essendon in 1993? Their opponents that year? Carlton. You feeling aggrieved about 1995 when our supporters know we were cheated out of a flag is wild lol.

Why not go back further and have the guts to talk about Hawthorn in 1989 and that entire era? Don Scott said they were systematically breaching the salary cap, up to and including 1989. He said that 5-6 years ago and Geelong supporters have shied away from bringing that up.

If you want to know the truth and this might blow your mind, every club was cheating in that era. Including Geelong.

And yet the story won’t go away. Do you know why?

Because everyone knows that Geelong’s former CEO audited Geelong. That’s would be like Dracula auditing the blood bank.
Ive posted heaps about how zone era flags won by hawthorn and carlton should be invalid due to unjust zones advantages that created super teams.

Salary cap was introduced in 85. Hawks, carlton and bombers should of lost a third of their starting side if the salary cap was actually enforced in those early years. But from 1990 onwards there was no excuses.

Ive posted heaps about how zone era flags won by hawthorn and carlton should be invalid due to unjust zones advantages that created super teams.

Salary cap was introduced in 85. Hawks, carlton and bombers should of lost a third of their starting side if the salary cap was actually enforced in those early years. But from 1990 onwards there was no excuses.

We have to get creative down here and make our own COLA, unlike the four Nepos suckling the AFL's teat dry.

So this is an admission of guilt.

Not many will count Geelong flags as legit anymore if that's your stance.

So this is an admission of guilt.
Yes, I admit it.

Steve Hocking? Chris Scott? Andrew Mackie? Pfft, it was me all along, humble shitposter from BigFooty.com who has intimate knowledge of the inner workings at Geelong and played a key role in every scheme that made countless oppo nuffers froth whenever they hear the 'G' word. Guess the jig is up now though.

Shannon Neale doesn't need as much money as Hawkins as he's got a side job with Cotton On too.

I have no doubt it's not just the Cats and successful clubs have dabbled into it when the need arises but I recon the cats have pushed the envelop for a long time and so much so that actual public examples are starting to rise. It starts to smell very fishy and the arrogance of Geelong now flaunting breeches in the public is getting out of hand. Eg. Chris Scott having two jobs after apparently not taking a wage during COVID so Geelong didn't have to cut coaching staff like every other team.
Is that like Chris Scott's "job" with Morris Finance, coincidentally another major sponsor of Geelong?

Sounds exactly like Judd's VISY deal that helped him get to Carlton. Officially take unders on a contract that impacts the salary cap but makes up the difference with a third party.

Oh I suspect you're right there; but the assumption behind the conspiracy theories (which is what they are) is that Geelong are getting treatment that somehow goes above and beyond that.

But yes, all the way down to the local school where the daughter of a senior teacher just happened to be the right candidate for a new position, networks are everywhere.

As for Geelong? All these rumours coincided with the Cats finally getting some success, and all seem to come from those associated with the traditional "Big 4". If St Kilda manage to have got it right this time, watch the conspiracists come for them, especially if there is another Caroline Wilson out there.

No. As for the Cats a fraud and thief has been caught and is facing the consequences of his actions.

It has been found he defrauded the NDIS and used a not small sum to bankroll Geelong players high end entertainmentand holidays whilst having alot of contact with a Geelong official who should know better.

Its a terrible look and an issue that has been long suspected.

This coming up has nothing to do with the tall poppy syndrome. Its everything to do with a dodgy character being caught and the money trail leading to multiple Geelong players and an official who spoke with this fraud dozens of times.

Secondly people tend to forget we were losing players from that squad right from the start:
It began with Steven King at the end of 2007 along with Nathan Ablett.
Within 2 years Harley and Egan had gone and Mumford was in Sydney. Ablett was gone at the end of 2010. By 2012 Scarlett, Milburn, Mooney and Ling had all gone as well. Nathan Ablett and Mumford would have been the only ones in that group not on good money. And Mumford was literally squeezed out because we kept Blake on and couldn’t afford to keep both. (Terrible decision).

Sorry that's not true. Sydney offered him massive pay - way more than he was on at Geelong, and roughly what Bartel was getting at the time. No way in a million years was he worth that. This is straight from other players at that year's B&F by the way (I was there). He decided to take the deal to look after himself - to nothing but goodwill and best wishes from Geelong. Only after he left did he start moaning that he would have stayed if he'd been picked for the finals. He was correctly dropped as he'd hit the wall (fair enough being his first full season). 100% correct decision made by the club, vindicated by Blake becoming a premiership player a few weeks later.

Mumford was forced to be sole ruckman after blake couldnt handle it. Mumford was pretty decent at first but then started to hit the wall as the sole ruck as his fitness base was his weakness early in his career. This says nothing about how he would of gone in finals as second ruck to ottens. blake only played a secondary ruck role after mumford went out with ottens back. Im sure mumford would of done it better then blake. Mumford has right to feel dirty given blake couldnt handle being first ruck leaving it to mumford in his first afl season only to be kicked out once ottens came back.

So…. He was offered more money by another club than he was worth, which means he was offered more money than we could, or were willing to pay him???

Sorry I’m just trying to work out how that doesn’t equate to him being squeezed out?

Now, I’m not for a minute saying that at the time he was worth what Sydney paid him, or that in that moment we should have picked him to play over Blake. Blake was quite a serviceable player at that point for what we needed him to do.

But in no universe did his peak ever reach Mumford’s so ultimately it would have worked out for the better if we would have been able to keep both and then pension Blake off after he had served his purpose and keep Mumford long term.

Using your logic Gary Ablett went squeezed out because in relative terms at the time, the suns paid him more than he was worth.

So…. He was offered more money by another club than he was worth, which means he was offered more money than we could, or were willing to pay him???

Sorry I’m just trying to work out how that doesn’t equate to him being squeezed out?

Now, I’m not for a minute saying that at the time he was worth what Sydney paid him, or that in that moment we should have picked him to play over Blake. Blake was quite a serviceable player at that point for what we needed him to do.

But in no universe did his peak ever reach Mumford’s so ultimately it would have worked out for the better if we would have been able to keep both and then pension Blake off after he had served his purpose and keep Mumford long term.

Using your logic Gary Ablett went squeezed out because in relative terms at the time, the suns paid him more than he was worth.

Except that isn't what I said at all. Mumford was offered great money by Sydney, and considering he was at best a promising young player and absolutely nothing more quite reasonably he took it. As I said, to universal goodwill from Geelong. Only much later did he bitch about not being picked for the finals (and as you said, he shouldn't have been either). His return to Geelong for Sydney came in 2010, and his main contribution in a 67 point hiding was getting suspended for a stupid late tackle on Ablett.

To this day I've never understood the infatuation Geelong fans still have for Mumford. He was at best a promising young ruckman who had clearly hit the wall. That's it. It's like he was Garry Dempsey, Polly Farmer, and Max Gawn combined we let go. It didn't hurt us either - the guy we kept helped us win a flag. And we won another flag two years after that.

Except that isn't what I said at all. Mumford was offered great money by Sydney, and considering he was at best a promising young player and absolutely nothing more quite reasonably he took it. As I said, to universal goodwill from Geelong. Only much later did he bitch about not being picked for the finals (and as you said, he shouldn't have been either). His return to Geelong for Sydney came in 2010, and his main contribution in a 67 point hiding was getting suspended for a stupid late tackle on Ablett.

To this day I've never understood the infatuation Geelong fans still have for Mumford. He was at best a promising young ruckman who had clearly hit the wall. That's it. It's like he was Garry Dempsey, Polly Farmer, and Max Gawn combined we let go. It didn't hurt us either - the guy we kept helped us win a flag. And we won another flag two years after that.

The ‘infatuation’ was because he turned into a very good player and was always going to be. Considering how much we struggled in the position, that’s why people wished he stayed.