Geelong rorting the system

I'll be honest, I don't know how Geelong were able to afford Jeremy Cameron when he came to the club. Looking at their list at the time it looked like it would be impossible to fit Cameron under the cap.
My way of rationalising is that they don't pay stupid million plus deals to anyone so it allows them to land a big fish all the time. Then the impulsive flog in me thinks Cotton On and cheap land is the way

It is why at the very least the AFL need to make the salaries of players public because if we saw Jeremy Cameron join Geelong and he was being paid $600,000 a year we would automatically think that was a bit suspicious.

Kinda weird how many Geelong players don't live in Geelong but own farms there.

What, 3 of them including one who’s retired and spent all his life on a farm, and 2 of them are among the best 25 players of the last 15 years?

In other words ‘it’s weird that Rhys Stanley plays for a club that’s sort of in the country and lives on a farm after 17 seasons as a professional AFL player.’

I'll be honest, I don't know how Geelong were able to afford Jeremy Cameron when he came to the club. Looking at their list at the time it looked like it would be impossible to fit Cameron under the cap.

Lol.

Ablett and Taylor retired that year. Hawkins and Selwood had already turned 32 by the 2020 GF and their salaries were well past peak.

Who were all these stars in their peak earning years? Dangerfield and Stewart. Do you think they were splitting half the salary cap or something?

Lol.

Ablett and Taylor retired that year. Hawkins and Selwood had already turned 32 by the 2020 GF and their salaries were well past peak.

Who were all these stars in their peak earning years? Dangerfield and Stewart. Do you think they were splitting half the salary cap or something?

Ablett came back to Geelong on considerably less money.

Also is there any evidence Hawkins was on a lot less money during this period?

It was never about the $$$ with Jezza. Lots of clubs had the $$$ to handle his move, but not lots of clubs had prime farmland just waiting to be run about on a tractor!

Ollie Henry and Jack Bowes "moves" just reek though. Insider trading rules there...and insider player management connections. Well played Cats, just like we said "well played Roos in the 70's and Blues in the '80's" both those clubs took advantage of the footy management climate at the time and both won multiple premierships because of their "questionable recruiting practices" (Aylett / Mantello and the 10 year rule, John Elliott at Carlton and the paper bags saga)

Karma took care of both those clubs in the end.

Shonky is as shonky does.

Today's findings are super dispiriting now that it's been all but confirmed that the AFL, just like so many large organisations, are squarely under the thumb of the Geelong Football Club. Is there anything at all we can do - is there some kind of sporting regulator that sits above the AFL that we can get in contact with to put an end to all these rorts? Fair dinkum this is unbelievable.

It was never about the $$$ with Jezza. Lots of clubs had the $$$ to handle his move, but not lots of clubs had prime farmland just waiting to be run about on a tractor!

Ollie Henry and Jack Bowes "moves" just reek though. Insider trading rules there...and insider player management connections. Well played Cats, just like we said "well played Roos in the 70's and Blues in the '80's" both those clubs took advantage of the footy management climate at the time and both won multiple premierships because of their "questionable recruiting practices" (Aylett / Mantello and the 10 year rule, John Elliott at Carlton and the paper bags saga)

Karma took care of both those clubs in the end.

Shonky is as shonky does.

If I were in charge of the AFL two things I would immediately do are

• Make players salaries public
  • Make back ending and front loading of contracts illegal.

I think back ending and front loading contracts opens up a lot of potential for shady dealings.

If a player signs a 5 year $4 million contract then every season they must be paid $800,000. They can't get paid $300,000 for the first 2 years of the contract, $500,000 for the third year and $1.45 million in the last 2 seasons.

Ablett came back to Geelong on considerably less money.

Also is there any evidence Hawkins was on a lot less money during this period?

If you are to read half the posts on this forum, most of our list was dogshit. People can’t have it both ways

What about this list of players that year screams that there was some sort of salary cap abuse.

There were 6 players on that list that had been All Australian at that point - 1 of them was Shaun Higgins who was well past his best, another was Cam Guthrie who was still on the deal he signed before he even became an All Australian. Blicavs hadn’t been one then.
Stewart was on an extension of the contract he’d signed previously, before signing his ‘contract for life’ in 2023.

Carlton by my count had 7 AA players see action last year, and traded in another one (Nick Haynes) over the off season, and theirs aside from poor old Sam Docherty are far more in their prime than some of ours were at that point when Cameron arrived even allowing for the gross difference between he and a player like Haynes.

I’m pretty sure Collingwood fielded 8 AA players last year and just landed Dan Houston who’s been AA the last two years. Again not sure he’s Jeremy Cameron but what have our players from that season done to be so overestimated?

IMG_3640.png

I want players salaries made public, as well as any secondary income streams to be made public as well.

Also ideally the AFL employs someone to check on housing that AFL players buy, just using public records there, making sure they are paying what seems to be correct market value.
What right do you have to their salaries?
Should they be able to compel you to divulge your salary?

To be blunt, none of them are public servants on taxpayers money so we have no right to that information. Rightly the AFLPA will guard that vigorously.

Geelong CEO Steve Hocking is ‘really happy’ with the outcome of the AFL’s review of Chris Scott’s third-party deal with club sponsor Morris Finance.

While SEN’s Sam Edmund reported that the league won’t reveal how the investigation played out, Hocking says that the existing deal between the sponsor and Scott hasn’t changed as a result of the review.

Under rules introduced in 2024, senior coaches can have 20 per cent of their salary paid outside of the soft cap. Scott’s role with Morris Finance is as Chief of Leadership and Performance.

“We’re not concerned at all, and we’ll continue to work with Morris, and Chris as well has got his own relationship with them as well.

“There’s no change at all (to the deal).”

Chris-Scott-ARTICLE-header.jpg
Did we really beat Hawthorn today?
Not bad with Scotty halfway through a shift at Morris

To be blunt, none of them are public servants on taxpayers money so we have no right to that information. Rightly the AFLPA will guard that vigorously.

I am a NSW government employee. My salary is free for anyone to look up at any time.

Do you think Blues players pay for the Hyundai's they'd be given to drive? Or Hawks with Nissan?
Naive to think anything other than all 18 clubs would be greasing the wheels so that sponsors look after the players.

As for Cameron, he bought a property off a relative who was moving interstate. That I personally know to be a fact.

Zak Butters, Aaron Cadman and Harley Reid come out of contract at the end of 2026.
Word is the club have been in contact with the management of all three players about potentially coming to the Cattery.
Imagine the melts if we get one of them, let alone two or all three.
Well keep in mind the salary cap increases every season.

Then wait until Tassie comes in... Salary cap is 20 million dollars. So there's 40 to 45 players on an average wage on $500,000 a year.

Kinda weird how many Geelong players don't live in Geelong but own farms there.
If Port Adelaide handed you a 3 million dollars deal over 5 or 6 years and hand you a 10 acre farm at Virginia or Barossa valley or Hahndorf after you retire, would you accept the deal?

And pay $1 a month in rent of a teammates property so he can claim massive negative gearing benefits

Lol

Then pray tell, what is the tax status of the AFL?

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...