Geelong rorting the system

I can't recall the exact number but from about the mid 1980s to mid 2010s Geelong won 30+ something games and Richmond about 6, or at least than 10, in that period. And many of those wins were shellackings, beltings, thrashings, whatever you wanna call them... of the highest of order, Richmond have been Geelong's bunnies so to speak. The most famous/infamous that 200+ annihilation in 2007 before Geelong went on a 20 something winning streak.

It's why despite their recent success they will always be Bitchmond to me, they have always being an irrelevance to me and nothing more than a much needed percentage booster whenever I looked them up in the fixture. The toothless Tiggers bottom out year after year and when they finally get it right in drafting quality players after decades of mediocrity they wanna act as if Geelong being a bottom feeder and finishing at the bottom of the ladder would have been preferable than actually contending for flags without needing to rely on handouts in the draft like they have for years on end.

I don't get why so many Geelong supporters are triggered by these insufferable insecure idiots, I have just have contempt, disdain and pity for the Richmond Football Club in general despite their recent tanking assisted success.
You might enjoy that time beating us in H&A games, but I always get the pleasure of beating Geelong when it means most - in finals.

I watched the 1967 GF. That was sweet as.
I watched the 1980 second SF. That was beautiful and KB with 8 was glorious.
The 2017 QF. Enough said about that. Began the modern era.
The 2020 GF and the Dusty legend was enshrined for ever.

So although we were bunnies in the H&A we reversed the tables in finals. Just so much pleasure....

Solidarity mate. Driver here too. Hope we have yet another win at the Fair Work Commission today

Um… I mean… get back to discussing the thread topic everybody!! 🚂
I hope you lot get fair rights from fair work. Anyone that works in those jobs on the train line, I don't care if you are a ticket valid person, or security guard or train driver, I have lots of respect for them.

As for the cats players, Dangerfield took a pay cut didn't he? Bloke is 34 years old and got a 2 year deal.

Again .... If you get busted for being over the salary cap then you deserve punishment. It's not as tight as 2010 when the cap was only 8.2 million dollars.

I look at who's at the near bottom. North Melbourne and Richmond are struggling and you have to think how they make it to 90 percent of the cap, let alone 95 percent

I can't recall the exact number but from about the mid 1980s to mid 2010s Geelong won 30+ something games and Richmond about 6, or at least than 10, in that period. And many of those wins were shellackings, beltings, thrashings, whatever you wanna call them... of the highest of order, Richmond have been Geelong's bunnies so to speak. The most famous/infamous that 200+ annihilation in 2007 before Geelong went on a 20 something winning streak.

It's why despite their recent success they will always be Bitchmond to me, they have always being an irrelevance to me and nothing more than a much needed percentage booster whenever I looked them up in the fixture. The toothless Tiggers bottom out year after year and when they finally get it right in drafting quality players after decades of mediocrity they wanna act as if Geelong being a bottom feeder and finishing at the bottom of the ladder would have been preferable than actually contending for flags without needing to rely on handouts in the draft like they have for years on end.

I don't get why so many Geelong supporters are triggered by these insufferable insecure idiots, I have just have contempt, disdain and pity for the Richmond Football Club in general despite their recent tanking assisted success.
Interesting points you got there.

I do remember the days when Kevin Sheedy was Essendons coach for 27 years. Essendon rarely lost to Richmond between 1981 to 2007.

I might look that one up too...

Incorrect on the head coach. Luke Beveridge had an arrangement with Victoria University to work as a professor starting in 2017.
Were they a major sponsor?

Simmo owns two Hungry Jacks so I recon that is close too but I don’t think he was flipping burgers mid week.

I can’t recall another club announcing it, the arrogance is starting to show. Never ends well after that stage.

I can’t recall another club announcing it, the arrogance is starting to show. Never ends well after that stage
The club didn't announce it at all. The company did.
And why is this so taboo? Hundreds of thousands of Australians would have two jobs. But an AFL coach isn't allowed to have a life outside footy, that's the arrogance right there.

Puma are a premium sponsor of Richmond and were paying Martin $500k per season to wear Puma boots. Why does no one want to talk about that, or Nick Daicos signing a huge deal with Nike (a premier partner of Collingwood)? :sadv1:

It’s an equipment deal. Companies have marketing budgets and Dusty needs to wear boots.

It’s completely different to a club sponsor making up a fake second job for the senior coach to get around the soft cap.

Dusty was also one of if not the highest players in the league under his Richmond deal, so he wasn’t taking Geelong unders to stay on for more farmland success.

Or what really happened was technically within the rules and the afl wants to obfuscate the loophole while they work to close it.

What I think happened is that everyone knew you couldn’t historically do the fake second job from a sponsor thing to get around the soft cap under any previous afl administration. Geelong likely realised how shit and weak the current administration is and exploited that. Which isn’t a Geelong problem.

The reaction from other clubs says they knew you couldn’t do it and were floored the new administration approved it. The flow on effect was all these clubs were going to come to the league with equivalent proposals for fake jobs to get around the soft cap and the dumb dumbs in head office finally realised that.

What I think happened is that everyone knew you couldn’t historically do the fake second job from a sponsor thing to get around the soft cap under any previous afl administration. Geelong likely realised how shit and weak the current administration is and exploited that. Which isn’t a Geelong problem.

The reaction from other clubs says they knew you couldn’t do it and were floored the new administration approved it. The flow on effect was all these clubs were going to come to the league with equivalent proposals for fake jobs to get around the soft cap and the dumb dumbs in head office finally realised that.
The relationship with Morris predates this administration though

The arrangement which ‘transcended the traditional sponsorship arrangement’, ie the fake job, didn’t though. That was ticked off by the current administration.

The job didn't though
In any case i think we're getting a bit creative on very little tangible information.

Maybe there's no wrongdoing at all and the afl is just trying to manage emotions of other clubs. Maybe they acted in a blurred line area and this it's giving us a blurred line outcome. Maybe George Soros sent the guys that shot Kennedy, staged the moon landing, and put the microchip in Bidens head to come over and do a brown paper bags number.

It’s an equipment deal. Companies have marketing budgets and Dusty needs to wear boots.

It’s completely different to a club sponsor making up a fake second job for the senior coach to get around the soft cap.

Dusty was also one of if not the highest players in the league under his Richmond deal, so he wasn’t taking Geelong unders to stay on for more farmland success.
Equipment deal? Oh, that’s okay then…

Nobody has ever offered me $$$ to use their equipment

I've been around a while. Seen a load of people legless drunk. Never once seen a person taken away in an ambulance to a hospital simply due to drinking too much. I have no doubt it happens but it is rare enough that I have never seen it or had personal knowledge of a case.

But it is well known to be a more regular occurance for people who take illicit drugs.

Why would someone in the public eye say they were smashed on booze when they were under the influence of drugs or a cocktail of the two? Because booze is legal, illicit drugs are not.
Very much not rare. There’s a couple who get picked up from public places on a nearly daily basis and get brought to the ED

Edit to clarify they are not football players

Yes that’s exactly what I’m saying. Did he misbehave? Did he get into a fight? Did he piss or himself vomit all over a patron? Did he make a racist or public statement about a political issue? He was probably sitting in a corner and whatever he did do happened.

Again, stop making a ‘statement’ as though you know what happened mate.

The most likely situation, given that a player was at training the next day, and actually taking part, albeit on lighter duties, is that he was discharged from hospital from with a you’re free to go as you just drink too much piss explanation.

Most people who overdose on drugs don’t show up for work the next day, based on my understanding.
Depends on the drug. Eg a slight misjudgement of GHB dose can put one unconscious but the back to normal in a few hours.

What on earth does that have to do with Geelong rorting the system?

Take it to the bay you obsessed clown.
Well according to some here balta is now “sanctioned” which means he will be off to Geelong at bargain rates

According to tigers fans he took unders on the north deal to stay loyal to the tigers, though.

3 players on a 38 man list in a provincial city live on farms, and it’s actually down to 2 now because Hawkins - who grew up on a farm has retired - and you think that is proof of a rort - and another of those 2 is Rhys Stanley who grew up in Berri which is a farming town, and Jeremy Cameron who could afford to live basically wherever he wants.

That’s very convincing.

I mean seriously up until last year Richmond had 33 per cent of the amount of players living on farms that we did to the best of my knowledge and they’re in the middle of the city.

According to tigers fans he took unders on the north deal to stay loyal to the tigers, though.

3 players on a 38 man list in a provincial city live on farms, and it’s actually down to 2 now because Hawkins - who grew up on a farm has retired - and you think that is proof of a rort - and another of those 2 is Rhys Stanley who grew up in Berri which is a farming town, and Jeremy Cameron who could afford to live basically wherever he wants.

That’s very convincing.

I mean seriously up until last year Richmond had 33 per cent of the amount of players living on farms that we did to the best of my knowledge and they’re in the middle of the city.

North was probably upper band. His Richmond deal was market value.

In any case i think we're getting a bit creative on very little tangible information.

Maybe there's no wrongdoing at all and the afl is just trying to manage emotions of other clubs. Maybe they acted in a blurred line area and this it's giving us a blurred line outcome. Maybe George Soros sent the guys that shot Kennedy, staged the moon landing, and put the microchip in Bidens head to come over and do a brown paper bags number.
If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, it’s a duck.

It’s up there with the Essendon “we’re not sure what we injected since we have no records”.

The club didn't announce it at all. The company did.
And why is this so taboo? Hundreds of thousands of Australians would have two jobs. But an AFL coach isn't allowed to have a life outside footy, that's the arrogance right there.
Sure,
The PM should get a 2nd job too.

Some jobs are full on and I know being an AFL coach is because Scott has complained about it in the past. If it wasn’t a rort job and he had to put in 10-15 hours a week, I’d be concerned if I was a Geelong fan.

If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, it’s a duck.

It’s up there with the Essendon “we’re not sure what we injected since we have no records”.

Sure,
The PM should get a 2nd job too.

Some jobs are full on and I know being an AFL coach is because Scott has complained about it in the past. If it wasn’t a rort job and he had to put in 10-15 hours a week, I’d be concerned if I was a Geelong fan.
Dunno if it's remotely like the Essendon saga

The players are being injected with cash, farmland and cotton deals, offsite, against the rules, no records are being kept etc etc - allegedly.

The parallels are disturbing.

Geelong rorting the system