Geelong rorting the system

Sure, I reckon you need to tally what Geelong gave up for those 8. And what are those 8 getting paid compared to what other clubs get players to change clubs for.
Eg does those 8 incl the pick you got along with Bowes?

For me, the sooner the “open secret” rumour about Geelong land deals is rejected, the better.
As it’s not just a usual rumour that dies a natural end. It’s a constant feed.
it doesn't die because Geelong stays competitive and football nuffies can't cope with the fact that Geelong may be a well run organisation, oh no they must be cheating. In 07-11 it was PED "rumours" and now its salary cap rorts for guys like Rhys Stanley and Tanner Bruhn :$

Never mind Zach Merrett is driving around in a Lamborghini Urus and Aaron Francis sold his $2m property in St Kilda West when he got traded to Sydney. I too find it hard to imagine that these blokes getting paid anywhere from $300-800k per year can afford nice things

Just a reminder that there in 1900 posts in a thread about Geelong rorting the system . I wonder why?

Doesn't mean Geelong are 'rorting' anything. Means a lot of clowns on the internet don't like Geelong FC and are sick of them being good. Nothing will come of this and ignorant clowns like you will still pretend we're 'favoured'.

See, the whole theory of talented players going to Geelong because of their success or proximity to rural Victoria is on shaky grounds right now.

First of all, Geelong isn’t really much of a country town being so close to Melbourne. Second biggest city in Victoria with half of Canberra’s population. Even then, it’s more densely populated than Canberra.

Secondly, these third party payments could very well be why they’re able to keep to a salary structure. The only team that, relative to other teams, doesn’t really splurge to keep or attract players is Geelong. Jeremy Cameron might be the only player I can think of that they splurged on.
Even successful (and big) Victorian clubs like Collingwood and Hawthorn are unable to retain/attract talent the way Geelong does.

The narrative has always been that they’re a destination club because of their good culture, but the third party payments audit puts the spanner in the works for me. Audits aren’t evidence of guilt of course, but third party payments are a solid theory on why they’re able to keep/attract talent while sticking to a certain payment structure. Intrigued how it all unfolds, and I want to know how long it’s been going on + how deep this runs should they find anything.

Doesn't mean Geelong are 'rorting' anything. Means a lot of clowns on the internet don't like Geelong FC and are sick of them being good. Nothing will come of this and ignorant clowns like you will still pretend we're 'favoured'.
You are favoured and the Hocking thing was another example.

I just checked the QF teams from last year. Players who changed clubs:

Geelong - 8
Port Adelaide - 10

When are the AFL going to act on the blatant rort at Port?
Including Esava Ratugolea who is on 3 or 4 times more than what he was on at Geelong

This has been going on forever, I always wondered why Brian Peake opted for Geelong. I was always suspicious about it when it happened and now I am convinced as to why.
And Polly Farmer & Denis Marshall?

Your post has to be one if not the dumbest I have read in 19 years on BF.

You do know that in the era that Peake joined Geelong, a team like North Melbourne secured the Krakour brothers, Kym Hodgeman, Ross Glendinning, Malcolm Blight, not to mention stars from other Victorian clubs. Yet little old Geelong managed to get one interstate player of note, and you were suspicious? FMD!!

It's actually true, a portion of clubs in a jealous fit have thrown a tantrum about little old Geelong. :$

View attachment 2246632
Yeah they might be jealous, but putting jealousy aside, I still think they have a point. It’s something to look into.

The aim of a salary cap is to give all clubs an equal playing field, and unregulated third party payments would disrupt this. If there wasn’t a cap, then no one would give a crap about this whole story.

Yeah they might be jealous, but putting jealousy aside, I still think they have a point. It’s something to look into.

The aim of a salary cap is to give all clubs an equal playing field, and unregulated third party payments would disrupt this. If there wasn’t a cap, then no one would give a crap about this whole story.
And what will you do or say if and when the AFL announces it found nothing? I bet you’ll say the AFL is in on the rort. Posters who are salivating over Geelong in this thread really don’t care about the truth; they just want the tall poppy cut down. I hope it spurs the Cats on to replicate 2022.

They're not that good mate. Make finals and fail consistently. The fact that a pile of media commentators are Geelong supporters or sycophants, helps them no end with the good publicity

Well might you ask!! An aging WA former champion Geelong recruited in 1980 at the age of 30 or 31. The first supposedly high profile interstate recruit by Geelong since Denis Marshall in the 1960's and WeaponX was "suspicious" of rorting back then even though a salary cap was unheard of!

Its said suspicion always haunts the guilty mind!

And what will you do or say if and when the AFL announces it found nothing? I bet you’ll say the AFL is in on the rort. Posters who are salivating over Geelong in this thread really don’t care about the truth; they just want the tall poppy cut down. I hope it spurs the Cats on to replicate 2023.
If Geelong is doing nothing different to other clubs regarding third party payments, then I’ll stop worrying about it. I don’t have proof the AFL is doing anything shady when it comes to this.

I’m not saying that nothing’s shady about the AFL’s relationship with Geelong. For example, I think Hocking constantly changing the rule to seemingly counter Richmond’s gamestyle, and Essendon copping the brunt of the drug saga when Geelong people implemented the program was shady. You’re welcome to disagree, but that’s my opinion on it.

Having said that, I don’t think the AFL would look past circumventing the salary cap. If they say there’s nothing in it after the audit, then I’ll believe it.

Geelong rorting the system

Write your reply...