I reckon play Hawkins.

Give hime 8-10 rounds to prove himself.

He's the future of the current list.

ahem..

43621.jpg

That really pisses me off when J Corey plays half back! Leave him in the midfield Bomber. Miss lots of drive when he is not there and you watch next time he is there we will have a poor patch. Trust me

Just because the team is set up like that on paper, doesn't mean it will be like that on the night.

I realise that mate but you watch when he goes to half back he's half the player as in the guts. Although named there he will spend some time there during the game. Joel wouldn't know how to pick up an opponent unfortunately and be ultra defensive. He relies on winning the footy

I reckon play Hawkins.

Give hime 8-10 rounds to prove himself.

He's the future of the current list.

Because Ablett, Bartel etc are just on the wrong side of the early 20's right now. Time to play the kids!

I would not be surprised to see Hawkins come in for Lonergan, but I suppose I won't count on it, either.

Interesting to see the Dawks giving three blokes a baptism of fire. Don't know anything at all about those kids.

Anyway, pretty good-looking team in general. Glad to see no Tenace or Byrnes turnover merchants in there.

Im happy with the side.. great to see that we have kept pretty much the same settled side for a couple years now.

Good to see the hawks putting up their best, and why wouldn't they.
All their bravado talk about Geelong will explode in their faces, like a big cream bun, what a let down.

hawkins needs to play seniors...he learns nothing not playing with the senior team and will never get used to the pace of the next grade.

Totally agree...and i think now is the time to do it at the start of the season especially considering Lonergan could have a dual role down back.

Lonergan deserves his spot, i am still confident he will be a good contributor to the GFC and his preseason form was good (great game against the pies), but we need to get Hawkins involved, hopefully next week against an insipid Richmond will be the time.

I just have a feeling that this year it is going to be important to play a few kids in Defensive posts. Its a long season and we have got an ageing backline - hopefully we can do something similar to last year and experiment a little early on giving guys like Mckenna, Laidler, West and Lonergan (down back) a little bit extra game time to find out what its all about!

Lonergan deserves his spot, i am still confident he will be a good contributor to the GFC and his preseason form was good (great game against the pies), but we need to get Hawkins involved, hopefully next week against an insipid Richmond will be the time.

Yep, have a feeling next week will be the time.
The pressure on him if he plays tonight would be huge. After his relatively poor showing (kicking-wise) in the NAB cup, the last thing he would need for confidence is to shank a couple in front of 75,000 at the G against the premiers.

Judging by the effort of Richmond last night, he may well come into a side that does something similar to Rd6 2007, and kick 6 or 7 goals himself!

I reckon Hawkins will be a late inclusion for Mooney.

Not sure he will, but it might be smart.
A half fit slightly frustrated and bitter Mooney probably shouldn't be playing the hawks first. He might take someones head off!

Mooney recently had a groin surgery and won't play tonight.

It will be sad not to see him out their tonight for such a big game

Unless he is injured he has to play. The best way to get match fitness is to play matches!

I just don't think they'll risk him in such an important, high-intensity blockbuster. Reckon he'll play VFL this weekend instead, and we'll see him in the seniors in round 2. Collingwood are doing the same thing with Rocca - he didn't play a pre-season match so instead of rushing him into the seniors in round 1 he's playing VFL tomorrow.

Of course, feel free to laugh at me at 7.30pm if Mooney runs out with the team.

Mooney recently had a groin surgery and won't play tonight.

It will be sad not to see him out their tonight for such a big game

Either way, i don't think it will be a huge loss for us. It used to be the Mooney was our structure, but not so anymore, especially with the inclusion of Gamble providing a geniune third option up front. Would almost be nice to see Hawkins in to give him some real game time. Can't wait until we see an outfit boasting Lonergan, Hawkins and Mooney (with Lonergan as utility down back as well as pinch hit up forward).

Just on the Hawks though...Why don't they go with that Mitch Thorp guy? He has been talked about for some time and is a high draft pick, don't understand why he hasn't been selected considering the loss of Croad?

Reckon he'll play VFL this weekend instead, and we'll see him in the seniors in round 2. Collingwood are doing the same thing with Rocca

I'd play Rocca in the VFL even if he was fit, been a long time since he was anything but a lumbering dud.

The VFL is still in pre season right? I guess knowing how precious we are with our big men injuries putting a half of VFL into Mooney wouldn't be overly surprising. Of course a nervous Hawkins could be more of a risk than an underdone Mooney tonight. Oh well, waiting game.