gocatsgo

Apr 30, 2000
Reading
I've tried to be a good supporter, I've tried to be fair and reasonable, I've tried to stick up for them when others have bagged them. BUT:

Congratulations Geelong, you've done it again.

That was officially the most pathetic, soft, useless, inept performance ever.

Mark Thompson, you were out-coached by someone who has won 4 of 28 games and announced he was quitting. Hang your head in shame.

Why was Riccardi at full forward when we were getting thumped in the middle all night?

Why did you drop Ling and bring in Mooney for 5 minutes playing time?

Why did you drop Spriggs and Wocjinski when we were clearly slower than them?

If reports are right, that you dropped them to rest them for the finals, then that is the most disgusting thing I have ever heard.

NEWSFLASH: Geelong now probably won't make the finals, and if they do, they don't deserve to be there.

We were playing the worst team in the competition, we were fighting for 4th and a win would have secured a top 4 finish. Yet they chucked it in. Shameful.

Geelong supporters are sick to death of this occurring year in, year out.

Mark Thompson, you want respect for our club, start perfroming regularly and we might get some, but at this stage, Geelong deserve no respect from others.

The last time I was this disappointed was when we lost the 1995 Grand Final. At least then we lost to a half decent team.

Geelong are "gone", in my opinion. They have been a poor side for the last two months and should miss the finals.

As ever, the resignation of a coach has been celebrated by a win. And I still fail to tip it. If anything, St. Kilda's win highlights the failings of the coach. Obviously the St. Kilda team *can* play, they simply haven't been performing. Either the players have failed Watson or he has been unable to extract their best.

Another team which should miss the eight is Richmond. They have had a fragile appearance for a while now and the injury count should eventually doom them. The path is definitely clear for Hawthorn, Brisbane and Adelaide to make something of their seasons.

I can't see both Geelong and Richmond missing the 8.

They are both not good enough, but there isn't 2 teams who can take them.

I don't think the Crows are good enough.

Nothing like showing a bit of dignity in defeat is there gocatsgo.

Gee, they say the St Kilda and Richmond boards devour their coaches but how about Geelong supporters. I have never seen a group of supporters ever criticise their coaches so much. The last few years it was Gary Ayres and now it is Bomber Thompson. The players have to take some responsibility for their performances, as our players should.

I think you have nailed it Daniel. Geelong as a whole have been very disappointing over the past few months, with the exception of a good win over the bulldogs and creditable loss against the blues.

Richmond have been sensational this year. They have fought gamely despite their injuries but I fear that they are finally going to take their toll on the team.

Having said that, who will replace them? West Coast don't look like challenging at this stage, Hawthorn have been plagued by inconsistency, Adelaide took a large step backwards last week while Brisbane's season is on the line tomorrow.

All I can say is that I am disappointed that we are so far out of it this year because with the exception of the top two teams, the battle for a finals position is wide open.

And good on ya Bakes! If St Kilda had a team full of Nathan Burkes and Steven Bakers, we would never have to question the teams effort.

Sainter, maybe it isn't the players or the coach. It's probably that dreaded word beginning with "C" that you know all about.

ITS THE DAMN CULTURE.

As I said, I don't mind losing, I just don't like losing when they don't try.

And let's be honest, if Geelong had have tried they would have won by 10 goals.

They wimped out and that's pathetic.

[This message has been edited by gocatsgo (edited 01 July 2000).]

Hmmmm, I suppose this is the time that Geelong suporters whip out the old handbag and start getting personal.
smile.gif

You were comprehenisvely beaten by a team that was without their two best players and was playing with no confidence at all.

I think you should face facts my friend. Your team is very overrated and were playing well above themselves at the beginning of the year.

I was not even going to make any reference to the match but judging by the fact that you are such a sore loser and can not give ANY credit to the opposing team, might I suggest you grow up.

I have been regularly attending this site and people here are all passionate about their team which is a good thing. The reason I enjoy these message boards is because we don't have to read much of the team specific crap that you get in your own teams website (if they have a forum).

Just be aware gocatsgo that if you put down my team, expect a prompt response.

It has been a pleasure!
wink.gif

sainter,
Your team doesn't deserve ANY credit. Your team are gutless. They can only win 1 game for 16 rounds then when the coach finally quits they go and win. All season they haven't being playing for the coach. They played for themselves.
St Kilda's win wasn't creditable. They played badly but Geelong played even worse!
gocatsgo blames Thompson because he put midfielders in the forward line, forwards in the backline, left Mooney on the bench for far too long and left Hocking, Sholl and McGrath on when they were either being beaten by their opponent or making stupid mistakes that experienced players shouldn't make.
Of course we Geelong supporters are going to get stuck into the coach and players when they are sitting 4th on the ladder and lose to a team that is last!

BTW we weren't playing above ourselves at the start of the season we were just playing teams that were easier to beat. The only decent teams we beat at that time were Melbourne, Adelaide at Adelaide and Sydney in Sydney. Don't get me wrong we were playing good footy just not great teams.

Well, I went to the Geelong vs St. Kilda match, and you have to give credit to the Saints for winning it. There were one or two times in the first half when it looked like the Cats were about to take control of the game, but to St. Kilda's credit, they held Geelong and went on to get a deserved win. As my Geelong supporting mate commented on the way out, "It all seemed so inevitable that we'd lose....."

Geelong do have a good bunch of players though. It's up to Thompson to develop them. Geelong played well in the early part of the season because their youngsters were fit and ready. Now that we're going to the business end of the season, the physical efforts of the year have started to take their toll. When the likes of Clarke, Bizzell, Harley, Houlihan, Rahilly, and Scarlett get to the 50 to 100 game mark, and become that little bit more hardened, Geelong will have a good side on the field that will go for the full 22 weeks plus finals, not just the first 8 or 10 rounds. By the way, it was great to see young Cameron Mooney out on the field....the kid has had bad luck with injuries. And it's always great to see another North reject ( and I mean that affectionately by the way) in Geelong colours!

North Melbourne vs Melbourne. As I said to a despondent Melbourne fan at half time, "don't worry....we're only 40 points ahead which means we might have a slight chance of winning it". Lo and behold, Melbourne get back into it. Frankly, we were lucky to win with the number of shots at goal that the Dees had in the last ten minutes, but hey, we'll take the 4 points. It's the 4th time that we've thrown away a 40 points plus lead, but we've won 3 of them. Is it luck or skill? Who knows.....

By the way, thanks to the Melbourne cheer squad for their tribute to our Ron on their banner and to their fans for observing the minutes silence. To that homeboy ****wit in aisle 41, level 4, I hope you are ashamed for talking and giggling during that minute's silence.

Well said Catters2000

Sainter,

1. I never bagged StKilda only to say that they are the worst team this year which even you have to agree is statistically true. I bagged my own players and coaching staff on their lack-lustre performance.

2. Playing without confidence - I hardly think so. When the coach quits, that's the day you play with the most confidence, if you don't you will get the sack very quickly, and maybe lose your career.

3. Agreed, you were without your two best players, which just makes Geelong's performance even worse.

I never for one moment bagged StKilda's performance.

After Round 17, it appears that Adelaide and Brisbane will be the teams to find a place in the final 8 with several others above them candidates to miss out. I should have written off Hawthorn earlier, but I didn't see their draw. Hawthorn are a good "upset" team but the draw is far too difficult for them to make it.

GoCatsGo is right, Geelong and Richmond probably both can't miss out, although I would like to see it happen. Geelong may just fall over the line with a win over Sydney in the last round.

Aside from the two dominating teams, the rest of the contenders are quite even, which makes the finals race interesting.

One thing I noticed, is that with both Carlton and Essendon diminating, the ladder is looking ver unbalanced.

Now a lot of people are saying it will take 12 wins to make the eight.

It won't take that many. Carlton and Essendon are "taking wins away" from the other teams, maning that it will probably take 10-12 to fall into eighth spot.

If there are 176 home and away matches, and Carlton and Essendon win 40 between them after Rounfd 22, it leaves less and less wins to go around, so I would say Brisbane are certainties. Their four home matches are against Hawthorn, Freo, Port and St.Kilda. Four wins there, with a loss to the Crows away from home.

Even the Swans, who are 7-10 can make it. Four of their last 5 are away from home, but they aren't that difficult. Away matches against Collingwood, Melbourne, Richmond and Geelong are all winnable, especially with Kelly back. They could casue some headaches.

Adealide will probaly fall in, but the Crows (like Geelong) are notorious fro diging their own grave. it's a bit hard to see them missing out, but none of their matches are certainties. Perhaps only the Crows hom ematch against the Eagles is a certainty. They could easily drop all the others and finish 9-13, or maye tey will beat Port and finish 10-12.

But even 10-12 could be behind the Swans, who I believe are a much better team than people give them credit for. They have lost about 5 matches by 9 points or less so whilst I don't expect the to make, it, I belive they think in their own mind that they're "back'

Let's wait and see how the season unfolds.

Frankly, I'm more excited about seeing a team going unbeaten. That sort of thing only happen in local club footy. Not the professional leagus. It just doesn't happen. To me, that would be the talking point.

Believe it or not, I do not want this to end up as a protracted slanging match.

gocatsgo, you might have been bagging your own team. I just don't think making a statement such as "let's be honest, if Geelong had have tried they would have won by 10 goals" was very gratuitous.

And besides, you have just agreed with someone who has labelled St Kilda as not deserving ANY credit and being gutless. So I do not think I am off the mark in being a little disappointed that you would give no credit at all to the saints.

I stick to my original thought. We were going to cop it regardless of what happened on Friday night. We were damned if we do and damned if we don't. If we had lost, we would have been criticised for another loss and probably for not lifting for Tim. And if we were to win, we would be copping it for not performing earlier.

Catters, I was very impressed with how the saints played. We did all of the hard things such as tackling and chasing that have been missing for so long. Guys like Steven Baker, Jason Blake played more like seasoned veterans than players who have less than 8 games to their account. Many of our other youngsters contributed well either in the seniors or in the VFL as you should be aware of.

And frankly, I don't care what you think anymore. Gocatsgo, if you cannot see why I was a little disappointed in the first place then it is not even worth discussing.

Just to add to your comments Dan24 about how many games will be needed to get to the finals this year.

Brisbane made 8th place in 1995 with 10 wins, this was the year that Carlton won 20 of 22 H&A games, so your theory is correct, if a top team (or teams) start winning 'more than their fair share' of H&A games then naturally there are fewer wins for the lower teams.

This is happening this year, also the situation down the ladder is highly volatile with several clubs who played well early in the year now wobbling (Richmond, Geelong, maybe Melbourne and Dogs too) and several clubs who had bad starts now playing being able to easily beat clubs above them (Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney, Freo)

Put all this together and you could see a club, maybe two clubs sneaking into the 8 with 10 and / or 11 wins apiece.

Essendon and Carlton maybe going along their merry way but the season is far from dead for those below - a great finale to the H&A season coming up I reckon...

I reckon we will make the 8.....but probably get bundled out firs week by the Hawks in the first ever final at Colonial.

Get on a Dons-Dees GF!