Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

Since 1921 in afl tables the only grounds other than MCG Waverley and Docklands to host finals in victoria are kardinia 1 Princes 13 junction 4 windy hill 1 and lake oval 4

It was regularly just the mcg till waverley was built. OK its national now but theres no historical claim elswhere

If Geelong were really serious, they'd be complaining about playing Collingwood or Us at the G during the regular season. But they won't as the financial incentive of a 65-70k crowd v 35 at Kardinia park is too good to give up.

Play all your games there and have no argument from me, but don't cry poor now after you've reaped the rewards.

God Paul Roos is a sooky lala. Watching OTC they are going on about how hawks actively man the mark and point to the place where the mark was taken. Roos was itching to jump in and say and they are pointing 1 metre past the mark every single time. I watched the same footage roosy they are pointing directly at the spot the mark was taken to clearly not go over and give a 50. You w***er.

On the eve of its finals campaign, Essendon has sensationally begun making plans to replace its current senior coach John Worsfold next season.

Worsfold has been under immense pressure throughout the season with the Bombers battling to make the top eight, but according to veteran AFL reporter Caroline Wilson, a finals berth doesn't necessarily mean the 2006 premiership winner is safe.

Speaking on Footy Classified, Wilson revealed that current assistant coach Ben Rutten is likely to be Worsfold's successor with the club likely to recruit a "senior figure" externally to support the first-timer.

God Paul Roos is a sooky lala. Watching OTC they are going on about how hawks actively man the mark and point to the place where the mark was taken. Roos was itching to jump in and say and they are pointing 1 metre past the mark every single time. I watched the same footage roosy they are pointing directly at the spot the mark was taken to clearly not go over and give a 50. You w***er.
Oppo fans have been calling this for some thine, think Roos has been shaking it for too long to have not picked up on it earlier.

By the way we do man the mark very well and at times we do crib a little but the whole pointing thing just gives trigger happy umps a chance to engage with the player manning the mark rather than just call 50m almost without warning.

In the interests of fairness and right of both sides of the argument to be heard, Richard Hinds does not empathise with the position taken by Geelong.

That’s an exceptionally good article Mog- great find! Now, to flick links to every Cats supporter I know....

So is the author of this article perhaps a Cats supporter? Cry me a freakin’ river. It’s simply that Geelong realise they’re not that damn good so they’re trying everything for a home game. Didn’t hear any whining about playing at the G around 2007-2011 when they were actually good. Suck it up princesses.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/c...d/news-story/40d0c4481262e5a40e62261801d74cae
Many media (ok sen and Macquarie sport types) seem to be backing Geelong to get cattery finals, maybe just for outrage responses which then come thick and fast from talkback.

On the eve of its finals campaign, Essendon has sensationally begun making plans to replace its current senior coach John Worsfold next season.

Worsfold has been under immense pressure throughout the season with the Bombers battling to make the top eight, but according to veteran AFL reporter Caroline Wilson, a finals berth doesn't necessarily mean the 2006 premiership winner is safe.

Speaking on Footy Classified, Wilson revealed that current assistant coach Ben Rutten is likely to be Worsfold's successor with the club likely to recruit a "senior figure" externally to support the first-timer.

Reminds me of us in 1993. Joyce would have the best ever 5 years record of any sacked coach

In my opinion, I think the Cats have a fair argument.

Geelong over the last few years have clearly spent more games and a large amount of money to build Kardinia Park into a home fortress. They're not part of central or suburban Melbourne, so having a regional home makes sense. They are specialists of that ground and rightly hold an advantage.

If you finish first or second, you deserve to have a hold a home field advantage. Collingwood have played more at the 'G this year than Geelong by double. Rewarding 4th place with 1st place's advantage seems pretty silly.

If it were Hawthorn, and we had a regional home field, then I believe we'd all be crying out for similar treatment. Whilst we have our fortress in Tassie, it's a home away from home and we will likely lose it within the next 5 years due to AFL intervention.

I'm no Cats supporter, but I do feel like the AFL is prioritising match day ticket sales over what is fair.

Spent money? You mean given a government funded boost to bribe marginal seat voters in Geelong right?
They spent nothing and pocket the gains.

Oppo fans have been calling this for some thine, think Roos has been shaking it for too long to have not picked up on it earlier.

By the way we do man the mark very well and at times we do crib a little but the whole pointing thing just gives trigger happy umps a chance to engage with the player manning the mark rather than just call 50m almost without warning.
This. Getting pinged for dubious 50's is a lot harder when the player is making a genuine effort to man the mark.

Ricciuto is part of the problem at the Crows I reckon. How can you say this to your supporters? They are the ones that turn up week in week out, they buy memberships and Merchandise etc. The supporters will always be there, Ricciuto and his mates won't. You don't burn the membership base.

Ricciuto has become Adelaides very own Gary Lyon

I thought their plan was one more year into Caracalla?