General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

saints oldies help me with this player.

he was an aboriginal (99% sure) in the winter time so 90's? and had pretty good skill for that time playing up forward.

Russell Jeffrey ? searched him on the Saints site but he didn't come up, must have the spelling wrong

saints oldies help me with this player.

he was an aboriginal (99% sure) in the winter time so 90's? and had pretty good skill for that time playing up forward.
Gilbert McAdam probably, he was one of my favourite players growing up. Loved him.

Who was the indigenous guy that had to give it away with a crook wrist, pretty skilled goal kicker. was it someone Charles?

goddard getting pumped by a first year player lmao
According the last census there were less than 20,000 Sudanese people in Australia so there % representation in AFL is becoming quite remarkable.

Quite a few there or thereabouts right now and from all reports quite a lot more starting to push up through the junior ranks.

Gavin Mitchell ?
Gee that brings back some memories mate he was a ripper...I remember the winner he kicked against the Eagles in '98...great little player.

Gilbert Mcadam?
He had better then pretty good skills, boy he could play a little bit
Gilbert McAdam probably, he was one of my favourite players growing up. Loved him.

YESSSS thank you has been doing my head in all night. can anyone explain his career briefly for me, how was he not a gun that every saints fan my age (22) should know. what went wrong? or is he just a player who looked great on highlights but in reality was average?

I didn't realise that your race changed with the season :$
haha its a dam shame my iPhone doesn't know who nicky winmar is. someone get apple on the phone ASAP
Russell Jeffrey ? searched him on the Saints site but he didn't come up, must have the spelling wrong
cheers but never heard of him and wasnt who i was thinking of
CHARLES, SEAN (MELB., CARL., and STK.) Melbourne 1992-97, 47 games, 60 goals. Carlton 1998, 1 game, 0 goals. St Kilda 2000, 8 games, 6 goals.
cheers but again wasnt who i was thinking of. cheers mate

haha its a dam shame my iPhone doesn't know who nicky winmar is. someone get apple on the phone ASAP

cheers but never heard of him and wasnt who i was thinking of

cheers but again wasnt who i was thinking of. cheers mate
Fred Campbell

YESSSS thank you has been doing my head in all night. can anyone explain his career briefly for me, how was he not a gun that every saints fan my age (22) should know. what went wrong? or is he just a player who looked great on highlights but in reality was average?
I dont know for sure but it was hard for aboriginal players back then and the game was basically semi-professional at the time a (mate said he used to pick up his benefits from Winmar)
Players could get out of form because of life pressures but I always thought he was a champ was disappointed when we traded him
His brother was fantastic for a season as well for North kick 7 or 8 in his first game.
Frustrating we didnt try to get both and get them to be consistent.
Gilbert was the other half of the Collingwood Victoria park game where Winmar lifted his shirt.
Gilbert kicked a big bag only time i went to victoria park it felt tiny more like a tennis arena the pies were near riot when we won on the back of Winmar and Gilbert.
Someone who wasnt prepubescent would remember better then me but i got him to sign my book once and he was really nice

Gilbert Macadams hosts Marngrook footy show and always talks up his Saints on it. A real shame he was only with us for 3 years but a lot of personal shit used to get in the way of people's careers back then and indigenous players could often have a lot heaped on them to make it even harder. Class act.

According the last census there were less than 20,000 Sudanese people in Australia so there % representation in AFL is becoming quite remarkable.

Quite a few there or thereabouts right now and from all reports quite a lot more starting to push up through the junior ranks.

Ok yes their percentage representation in AFL has been impressive, but have you scene their percentages in crime stats?!?!?! (Jk we do not need to go there again, once was enough)

Gilbert Macadams hosts Marngrook footy show and always talks up his Saints on it. A real shame he was only with us for 3 years but a lot of personal shit used to get in the way of people's careers back then and indigenous players could often have a lot heaped on them to make it even harder. Class act.
thought so about his career but didn't wanna stereotype but thats a shame, everythime i see old games he always stands out