General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

I think us finishing 13th is about as much chance as us finishing 8th. As there is no difference in the 2017 draw between 7th and 12th, we bloody well keep going and finish the season as strongly as possible! Hoping we finish poorly is not a good idea.
All I'm saying is that IF we drop our bundle I'd hope we finish 13th. I'd be annoyed if we lose the plot and finish 12th. That'd be a real kick in the teeth

Yes losing the bundle and finishing 12th would be frustrating, but be confident, we should win 2/3 out of the next 4.
I'm not going to argue about and I can't be bothered quoting anything, but in your initial post you made it seem like now that we're not going to make finals we might as well hope to finish 13th. Which I disagree with and think is very very unlikely anyways.

If we drop our bundle enough to finish 13th, that equates to less confidence for our own players, likely less memberships, less attractive destination for opposition players, etc.

I think finishing 9th to 10th is ideal for where the club is. Is finishing 8th and getting smashed by an interstate team in 5th a good experience?

The draw will be harder next year, but we should be further advanced. It will no doubt make finals far from an automatic. I think 7th-10th will probably be reasonable next year and then a push into the top 6 in 2018, top 4 2019.

Yes losing the bundle and finishing 12th would be frustrating, but be confident, we should win 2/3 out of the next 4.
I'm not going to argue about and I can't be bothered quoting anything, but in your initial post you made it seem like now that we're not going to make finals we might as well hope to finish 13th. Which I disagree with and think is very very unlikely anyways.

If we drop our bundle enough to finish 13th, that equates to less confidence for our own players, likely less memberships, less attractive destination for opposition players, etc.

I think finishing 9th to 10th is ideal for where the club is. Is finishing 8th and getting smashed by an interstate team in 5th a good experience?

The draw will be harder next year, but we should be further advanced. It will no doubt make finals far from an automatic. I think 7th-10th will probably be reasonable next year and then a push into the top 6 in 2018, top 4 2019.
I just think personally we've done enough over 20 rounds to warrant optimism regardless of how the next month goes - I don't think our last four games will not change the majority of people's perceptions about the club. To me there's really nothing to gain finishing 9th-12th. I think the club does a good enough job of generating optimism and excitement that a 13th placed finish (lets say with 11 wins) is still a major improvement in a more even and stronger competition this year. Heck we could even win 13 games and still miss the finals.

I just think we've done enough, obviously I want us to play well and keep playing strong footy I'm just worried about the middle of the road position we're in at the moment and how that looks next year when teams like Fremantle and Essendon will improve and overall I think the competition will be stronger. Are we up for the challenge? I'd hope so but still a bit uncertain.

Tom mcdonald would have to be the most overrated defender in the league

3 turnovers against Hawks rubbish by foot

Melbourne game plan ...win the ball out of the centre handball backwards & backwards & backwards.

Turn the ball over goal Hawthorn did it 3 times.

Must say though "umpiring again "gifting the Hawks ...

3 turnovers against Hawks rubbish by foot

Melbourne game plan ...win the ball out of the centre handball backwards & backwards & backwards.

Turn the ball over goal Hawthorn did it 3 times.

Must say though "umpiring again "gifting the Hawks ...
That 50m penalty that O'Brien got for Vandenberg being within the protected zone was a joke. The umpires have to realise players can't just disappear into thin air. O'Brien hadn't even stepped back off the mark to take his kick on the wing & ended up kicking a goal from it

Suck a ******* dick hawthorn you piss ant poo and wee club, that overrated this year falling over the line against most teams with help from the fluro flogs get a dog up ya campaigners

Hahaha , thats the way , get it all out , you will feel much better shortly , your a good egg :thumbsu:

Talking to a Hawthorn mate at lunch time and I said how lucky Hawthorn was this year because of the evenness of the comp has given them a chance to sneak a very lucky 4 in a row.

He said not luck and he suggested a five in a row was a distinct possibility.

Heading out to dinner with him in an hour or so - can't wait!!!!

Suck a ******* dick hawthorn you piss ant poo and wee club, that overrated this year falling over the line against most teams with help from the fluro flogs get a dog up ya campaigners
What do you mean?

Yep - I think we should tank the last few games and get the bottom 1/3 draw next year and a better draft pick. We've already proven we can match it with the best so why not just guarantee ourselves a final 8 finish, use pick 5 to get Hurley, trade a couple out and pick up Steel and then just blitz next year.