General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Brisbane need some help - a change of coach wont do it. They are paying the price of so many kids leaving them in the last 3-4 years. No club can cover that.

Maybe they just order GWS to give them 6 (1st or 2nd round picks) players from their reserves or something like that? (kidding/joking but something needs to be done for the good of the game)

Star kids like Billy Longer, Patrick Karnezis and Jack Redden?

Big thanks to that downhill skier Mark LeCras. Your goal square ball hogging got me over the line in my Ultimate Footy final this week. 3 more like that and the flag is mine!!

Good question - they need some leadership to help with the team culture, they need quality clubmen who will drive standards - character!!

A key forward who can take the reins whilst Schache and Hipwood adjust to football life. 2 quality mids to help the engine room and a couple of running half backs.

But I'm hopeless at this kind of thing...others will have a better plan than I

Brisbane need to fix their backend, they are hemorrhaging money and in dire need of actual facilities not made in the 90's before they can actually propel as a club, as this is a club that needed AFL assistance to reach a minimum spend in administration, it is a damning instance for them.

On field they can try and fix their front half but their first focus should be in the back half, drafting/trading for the D50 and midfield to create a defensively minded push to slow the bleeding, slow the game and allow for clear and clean use of the ball with correct decisions, as once this is addressed and once you stop the blowouts, stop the hits to morale that constant competitiveness can bring, you can then refine and trade/draft in more elite users of the ball, forwards and excel the use of structures, ball use, zones of play, angles, line work and etc.

In the immediate future assuming that Brisbane won't fix the backend in one foul swoop, it's simple for them; get footballers in. Not athletes, not looking for something specific, just men who understand the game, who can play it at the level, who have some upside but at their core they just live and breathe football and gear themselves to be as good as they can be at football.

The gameplans and what have you evolve every season, there is no reason to target specific people or specific plans, from the outside looking in, Brisbane need people with a strong core and belief, because you can tell they are not happy.

The afl should be having a real good look at Brisbane because that's GWS in seven years time.
At least there's some interest in Aussie rules in Brisbane.

Brisbane need to fix their backend, they are hemorrhaging money and in dire need of actual facilities not made in the 90's before they can actually propel as a club, as this is a club that needed AFL assistance to reach a minimum spend in administration, it is a damning instance for them.

On field they can try and fix their front half but their first focus should be in the back half, drafting/trading for the D50 and midfield to create a defensively minded push to slow the bleeding, slow the game and allow for clear and clean use of the ball with correct decisions, as once this is addressed and once you stop the blowouts, stop the hits to morale that constant competitiveness can bring, you can then refine and trade/draft in more elite users of the ball, forwards and excel the use of structures, ball use, zones of play, angles, line work and etc.

In the immediate future assuming that Brisbane won't fix the backend in one foul swoop, it's simple for them; get footballers in. Not athletes, not looking for something specific, just men who understand the game, who can play it at the level, who have some upside but at their core they just live and breathe football and gear themselves to be as good as they can be at football.

The gameplans and what have you evolve every season, there is no reason to target specific people or specific plans, from the outside looking in, Brisbane need people with a strong core and belief, because you can tell they are not happy.
They can take a leaf out of the injectors book and recruit some seasoned top ups whilst their kids develop.

At the moment they are like Melbourne a few years back.

They could do worse than a Gilbert, Wright or even Shenton.

Yep the AFL should have a crew up there building them a gym and training facility. Apparently the club rooms looks like the Quambatook 3rds share them with the netball club. It's apparently a shock for a lot of kids who get there and they aren't even close to what they are used to from junior level. It's hard to keep players when they feel like it's amateur hour.

Whilst I agree with that many of the problems are Brisbanes doing. They had heaps of money in the bank and decided to play the stock market when the GFC happened. They are a footy club, not a stockbroker. They also just re signed Leppitch and that is now going to cost them more when he is sacked. Having said that they do require help. That is one reason Swann was put up there. They obviously need more. The next coaching appointment is vital.

Bris should go after bomber, have a clean out and get the right people in.

Bomber might be a bit strange but he knows how to coach.

Players make coaches actually think Brisbane have good young spine of the future.

Hipwood , Andrews , Schache...really good.
They just lack senior player leadership at this stage and recruited guys like Bastinac, Walker , West

Players that have let them down like Zorko, Hanley have been poor leaders this year.
However when they click at home lookout , very very good chance of beating Carlton who have no forwards
this week.

Whilst I agree with that many of the problems are Brisbanes doing. They had heaps of money in the bank and decided to play the stock market when the GFC happened. They are a footy club, not a stockbroker. They also just re signed Leppitch and that is now going to cost them more when he is sacked. Having said that they do require help. That is one reason Swann was put up there. They obviously need more. The next coaching appointment is vital.

The crazy thing is the AFL have spent multiple millions sleazing up to western Sydney while letting Queensland teams rot on the vine. We have put a lot of money into them and now just lost interest. I personally think Brisbane and GC have more chance of attracting fans in the short and long term and getting basic facilities training grounds and stadia up to standard is a no brainer. I remember friends who got into the Storm were impressed by the professionalism and quality of the club to attract them .

Its nothing about fans, its TV deals and I'm guessing they know that Sydney is worth a hell of a lot more than QLD for TV if they increase people looking at the game. Look at the membership of Sydney now? And I don't think they have given GWS more of a handout than GC, its just the GWS have been a hell of a lot smarter in recruiting. As I said Brisbanes issue was created by them by wasting money on the stock market.

GWS had access to trade mini draft players. They essentially traded Hogan, Martin, JOM & Crouch for more very early picks giving them further access to elite talent. Not too mention players they had access to that they traded on (Saad, Milera etc). GCS's were not afforded the same opportunity. Why?

What do you mean about the stock market P66?

Presumably you've heard that they intended to make hay while the sun shined and they stuffed it up?

Can't find anything on google about it

I don't really have a problem with Brisbane assistance. We have been poorly managed at times throughout our existence and have needed AFL assistance previously.

What do you mean about the stock market P66?

Presumably you've heard that they intended to make hay while the sun shined and they stuffed it up?

Can't find anything on google about it

I don't really have a problem with Brisbane assistance. We have been poorly managed at times throughout our existence and have needed AFL assistance previously.

So they took unviable Fitzroy and merged them with unviable Bears out of Gold Coast, to form an unviable Brisbane side and started a new unviable Gold Coast side.

Sounds very strategic.

We have a family friend who was high up in the AFL when they put GCS in, he said the GWS had ridiculous amounts of money, concessions and resources thrown at it and the AFL were of the impression that the GC was a good place to get ex Victorian fans on board. They did what they had to to get them up and stepped away, they continue now to work heavily with GWS. Even after the vic clubs cracked it about the concessions they still found ways to give them freebies. They get huge recruiting zones and a set up that will give them first round picks for the next 10 years. There will be no excuse if they can't win most premierships for the next 12 years. Of course they want the TV saturation in NSW because they have a estimation of growth corridor concentration that will be like Queenslands population in sydney's outer west. GWS were compensated by for Milera and Saad...that's some kind of concessions on top of access to the younger kids in the draft then selling off the mini draft kids for picks. Guys like Jeremy Cameron were free kids they got from the under age draft. They had 13 picks in the top 15 (first 5)in the 2011 draft, another 5 picks for guys like Stephen Morris, Jamie Elliott and Milera even though they never owned them, top three picks in the draft 2012 and 2013 and another 3 in the top 10 in 2014. They have had a dream run of compo.Its now set up that taking out their excess gives them a huge spread of high picks for a long time on top of heaps of access to kids from places like the Riverena.

Nothing of which has to do with Brisbane and how they stuffed up. I don't mind the AFL helping Brisbane but most of the fault lies with them. Brisbane won 3 flags and had plenty of money and now they have nothing. Why haven't Sydney stuffed up like Brisbane if as you say there is more hope of people watching footy in Queensland. You know why? Because they were run so much better. As for concessions with GWS and GC well I would be looking at the recruiting more than the concessions. The 2 clubs went down completely different paths. One has worked out and as yet the other hasn't.

You still haven't addressed Brisbane wasting money on Leppitch or the stockmarket or capitalizing on 3 flags but are off on another tangent about GWS and GC.

Nothing of which has to do with Brisbane and how they stuffed up. I don't mind the AFL helping Brisbane but most of the fault lies with them. Brisbane won 3 flags and had plenty of money and now they have nothing. Why haven't Sydney stuffed up like Brisbane if as you say there is more hope of people watching footy in Queensland. You know why? Because they were run so much better. As for concessions with GWS and GC well I would be looking at the recruiting more than the concessions. The 2 clubs went down completely different paths. One has worked out and as yet the other hasn't.

You still haven't addressed Brisbane wasting money on Leppitch or the stockmarket or capitalizing on 3 flags but are off on another tangent about GWS and GC.

Sydney has been propped up since the 1980s. The difference is they stopped excessively funding Brisbane after their success

So that is the only difference you see? Ok then. Not worth discussing Brisbane if that is the case. Just one question. Why did they sign Leppitch up for another year? Another excellent decision. With Cola gone I suppose you think Sydney will end up like Brisbane in a year or two. I doubt that because it is run so much better.

Well of course Sydney have better people in place because it's properly set up and managed so it attracts better people and has more spending power. If you went and toured the Lions facility then went and looked at Sydneys there would be a pretty easy choice made even before wages and city preference were made.

Yep and why has that happened? Wasting money on the stockmarket and another year for a coach that is going to be sacking in the same year and winning 3 flags but not increasing support even though you claim more people are likely to follow footy up there. You do well to not answer simple questions.

Be interesting if Brisbane get a priority pick this year. Last year the AFL said it was basically impossible. I reckon the impossible may have already happened. Be interesting though.

I don't think there is a problem with Brisbane's playing list. They're already putting together a nice list of young players.

The problem with them is that they made a big mistake in hiring favourite son Voss. Then when he showed he couldn't coach, instead of doing what 95% of football clubs would have done (brought in a highly-rated outsider) they inexplicably hired another favourite son from the past in Leppitsch. For some unknown reason he is still in a job even though, like Voss, he is showing he may have been a fantastic player but he isn't a great coach.

Brisbane as a club are a classic example of living in the past. They just haven't moved with the times. Once they make the right coaching appointment (a modern coach in the mould of Bolton) they will be fine as their list is ok. No way do they deserve a priority pick.

Be interesting if Brisbane get a priority pick this year. Last year the AFL said it was basically impossible. I reckon the impossible may have already happened. Be interesting though.
Outcry if it happens.
They have a good group of prime aged players.
Coach seems hapless and key position stocks are kids.

The only team in the comp i actually feel for.
(Cause of the homesickness)