General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

hailants.jpg

What is scary about GWS is the way they hunted Sydney all game. Obviously the 22 they played today are all supremely talented, but they choked Sydney big time, allowing no space, harassing the Swans every time they touched the ball. And then when they got the ball, they were too quick on the spread and just broke down a Sydney team known for their structures.

Scary, scary team.

Was of the opinion that of the two expansion teams GWS was always going to be superior as they in effect built a team as opposed to GCS who built a collection of individuals. With all the concessions they both got, GWS had the higher chance that when they got going, good luck to anyone opposing them if even half of the lot reached individual potential.

That's not to say they will be infallible, but anyone not concerned, in awe or shitty about this should really brush up on what constitutes an AFL list when you're talking teams competing for a premiership.

They can't possibly fit them all their cap. If a lot of their players are happy to play for below market value, then good on them. Should win 3-5 premierships over the next 6-8 years if the players choose to stay together.

They can as the cap is increasing somewhat significantly and history shows that when there is a chance for penultimate success, people will take concession to achieve that as often as possible, as success breads success.

The minute that comes into question is when you then have people pried loose, and of course if ego's are involved and etc you have issues as well. But it can happen that they all stick together at the one club.

I'm scared that when we're up, GWS will be in their prime and we'll have to rely on our luck, which in my experience is entirely shit in that scenario.

I mean, Essendon can piss right off as far as I'm concerned, fully in the de-register them group based on what they pulled as a club, Carlton below that because their BS was monetary to buy things for a decade, everyone else gets an equal chance to win the thing, though I may hate them (ie Freo) as a club. The scope for GWS is in effect the same discussion we're having with the Hawks, as we did with the Lions only instead of 3 or 4 we may be talking 5 or 6 based purely on draft concessions and what they do as a club.

There was nothing like the Brissie Bears who were a joke, or the Fitzroy Lions who were great, then poor and thrown out of home, or even the Hawks who were at one stage like us and struggling but have vastly left us in their wake making the right calls to get success and grow.

There was a discussion, expansion, concession and cultivated success. I'm thankful GCS hasn't sorted their shit out yet, but GWS makes me scared what they're capable of.

I'm a bit torn.

I just watched the second half of the game and i can't help but be impressed by GWS. They play a really watchable brand.

But then I consider all the legs up they've been given, and will continue to get and I get pissed off that we as a foundation club have never been given anything akin to this. And we never will.

If it wasn't for the original clubs, GWS would not even have a league to join. Yet we get nothing and they effectively get to draw level with us for premierships without even trying.

But then I watch them again and think "gee I like these guys...."

Like I said: I'm torn

Alright let's just pack it up now. I don't think anyone will be able to compete with gws in the years to come.

What makes it even more of a bitter pill to swallow is that we are all responsible for this. All our CEOs signed off on the benefits and huge leg up that GC and GWS were given and will still be given in the future.
My usually optimistic self has taken a battering...today we got a good look at the future and I don't like what I see.

Look I know that GWS have a great list and it looks grim but in life we don't know what the future brings. There is no point worrying about GWS, we can't change it and it will just make us depressed. They could get a spate of injuries, players not coming on and/or getting ahead of themselves, salary cap stuff, the list goes on. We just have to keep on doing what we are doing and i believe we can beat anyone if our development and team spirit comes together.

You need more than talent to win flags. These guys have a huge advantage but it's not sewn up yet either.

On the positive side it's good to see Sydney losing a final after some of their players were badly hurt by opponents, I do hope the Giants players in question get to play in the grand final this year, just like Barry Hall did back in 2005.

Not sure why we'd be worried about GWS 3 years out from our window. I'd put money on several of those players wanting home after success in NSW. They are a manufactured club and IF they achieve AFL success do you really think they would want to build a life in the western suburbs of Sydney.

Yeah agree. The thing was, you go back 2 years on Big Footy and every man and his dog was panicking about Gold Coast dominating the competition for years and years as well. What happened to that? Well there were huge culture problems at the club that came to light that no one from outside knew about and they have turned into a rabble.

There are no guarantees in footy and life. I'm not stupid enough to say that GWS don't look ominous but there are plenty of histrionics going on tonight about the next 10 flags being theirs etc. etc. There is no way in hell they'll dominate like that. We just have to concentrate on what we can control as a club and for god's sake not give up hope because of how scary GWS look.

We are all going to die one day so what's the point of living?

If you read my posts youll see I'm generally an optimist...so let me have the occasional sook :)

Yeah agree. The thing was, you go back 2 years on Big Footy and every man and his dog was panicking about Gold Coast dominating the competition for years and years as well. What happened to that? Well there were huge culture problems at the club that came to light that no one from outside knew about and they have turned into a rabble.

There are no guarantees in footy and life. I'm not stupid enough to say that GWS don't look ominous but there are plenty of histrionics going on tonight about the next 10 flags being theirs etc. etc. There is no way in hell they'll dominate like that. We just have to concentrate on what we can control as a club and for god's sake not give up hope because of how scary GWS look.

Nah, GCS were and are a bits and pieces club, said so at their inception that they were drafting individuals and GWS was more of a "team" and as such more of a premiership threat. Given what's now apparent in AFL in QLD, that's not going to change any time soon. I mean, I'm not trying to too any horn, but it was easy to see GCS would run into issues and GWS' main concern was ceilings and how long it'd take to reach them if they did. This wasn't even drafting wise initially, it was just the people in the back end, the club, the admin and GWS just had a much better set up from the get go, in part because the AFL learned from GCS entering.

Now the AFL (Commission) fails in several areas for mine, but GWS was not one of them when you're talking from a GWS perpective.

Of course there's no guarantee anything goes to plan, but we are aiming in 2018-2020, when the expansion kids, who were bottom aged when drafted would be say 24-26. All dem first round, mini draft picks, trades in between. You always have one eye on what everyone else is doing so that you can surpass it, combat it, makes yours better than theirs.

Question is, how do you do this against a primed GWS if this is the "start" and we have 2 years before our stated tilt?

Shits hard man, because I dunno how I'd do it without getting a few replacement sphincters from clutching and stressing.

And 16 Bigfooty team forums go into melt down.

The AFL has to take the Riverina mow its just a joke
Amen

And COLA too once they're at standard list size in 2-3 years.

Will be a miracle if one of our clubs win a flag in the next couple of years. I'm quite happy to see you lot win one at this mobs expense for example.

How the shmuck does Menegola not get a game at Freo? Ross Lyon should be dragged before the board and asked that question.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

great story that one!!!

apparently they said the only way he would make it in the AFL would be as a tagger and he didnt have the skill necessary to be a full time mid, this was when teams were phasing out taggers. then they gave up on him and delisted him.

subiaco told him he would be a full time mid, within half a season he almost won the sandover in the most blistering pace ive ever seen and then was drafted again

Amen

And COLA too once they're at standard list size in 2-3 years.

Will be a miracle if one of our clubs win a flag in the next couple of years. I'm quite happy to see you lot win one at this mobs expense for example.