General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

IF they win a flag this year... is it not job done?
Tell me, if you were Shiel and you had just won this years flag. Next year you are out of contract and there are Melbourne clubs offering you nearly double your salary to come back home. You will be closer to family, you will be able to set yourself up and you have already won a flag with GWS. Why wouldn't you then consider your personal circumstances?
I've been largely meh on a few higher levels being raised. But Shiel or Kelly would be fabulous.

The state of the trade thread makes me sick. Finally seems to be sorting itself out but good god, been wanting to talk footy with saints supporters for the past three days and each morning i wake up and open it and close it again immediately.

Any saints supporter should be cheering gws on. Quicker they win one. The quicker we can get some of those top lone kids home - especially if the players get their way and free agency goes from 8 to 6 years next year.

Without being rude it is the complete opposite. When sides win they mostly stick together and choose to play for less. Its when they cant quite win that players want true market value to stay together. Our sides in 09 and 10 are a great example of that. Hawthorn is a great example of sticking together for less.

Geelong are soft as custard, the Swans will absolutely destroy them this week.

Giants v Dogs will be neck & neck for a half then the Giants will put them away.

I've got a multi with the Giants into the Storm remaining for $2k so I know who I'll be barracking for.

And as Stavro said, the sooner they win one the better.

Geelong are soft as custard, the Swans will absolutely destroy them this week.

Giants v Dogs will be neck & neck for a half then the Giants will put them away.

I've got a multi with the Giants into the Storm remaining for $2k so I know who I'll be barracking for.

And as Stavro said, the sooner they win one the better.

I just want the Giants to win one more than the other because I haven't had time to develop a hatred of them yet. The sooner they win the sooner I can resent them.

Without being rude it is the complete opposite. When sides win they mostly stick together and choose to play for less. Its when they cant quite win that players want true market value to stay together. Our sides in 09 and 10 are a great example of that. Hawthorn is a great example of sticking together for less.
The Giants have the second worst retention rate in the entire comp. I'm comfortable in thinking it will be job done for some of those boys if they win one.

The difference being the Hawks ( and Saints) players have no reason to leave, with the majority of them from Melbourne. You can't tell me those Giants boys love being out in the back of beyond. I agree with stavro#4 , once they've got a flag I can see a few wanting to pack their bags and leave for home and the real footy heartland.

Back of beyond?
You might want to do a bit of online stalking and find out exactly where some of those players live.

Someone at work today was saying how terrible will it be if Sydney play GWS in a grand final.
I replied it will be what they ( the AFL ) made.
A full MCG with hardly anyone's heart in it.

Its a pity we may never know who is better out of the Cats and the Dogs.

Back of beyond?
You might want to do a bit of online stalking and find out exactly where some of those players live.

Someone at work today was saying how terrible will it be if Sydney play GWS in a grand final.
I replied it will be what they ( the AFL ) made.
A full MCG with hardly anyone's heart in it.

Its a pity we may never know who is better out of the Cats and the Dogs.

Yes, I do get your point ( not an online stalker so I'll take your word for it) ;)
But it's still not the heartland of footy.

I agree the atmosphere of a Swans GWS gf is not going to be one to write home about!

I'm sure channel 7 will bring in Gai Waterhouse, Dami Im, a few Rafters and the cast of Home & Away to fire up the emotions :thumbsu:

Yes, I do get your point ( not an online stalker so I'll take your word for it) ;)
But it's still not the heartland of footy.

Without being a stalker, they originally set up with this arrangement.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...kfast-point-home/story-fnctrk3q-1226308632189

GWS have done a lot of things right, and this was one of them IMO.
I don't know how many of them still live there.

But the stadium is also only half an hour from Drummoyne for example.

The Bulldogs players are based at Footscray. I'd bet more live in the Melbourne CBD than live out the Sunshine side.

Not when you can earn double the $$$$ & play in front of crowds of more than 8000 people & already know you have a flag on your resume

Spotless stadium is a ghost-town. Blokes handing out wands of tickets for free entry at the gates of their game v Gold Coast was unbelievable. I can swear on my life, I was handed 5 tickets & told to ring some mates & this was 40 minutes before the game

Any saints supporter should be cheering gws on. Quicker they win one. The quicker we can get some of those top lone kids home - especially if the players get their way and free agency goes from 8 to 6 years next year.
Giants all the way.

Sydney/Geelong are same old & I don't want the Dogs to go ahead of us on premierships.

Not when you can earn double the $$$$ & play in front of crowds of more than 8000 people & already know you have a flag on your resume

Spotless stadium is a ghost-town. Blokes handing out wands of tickets for free entry at the gates of their game v Gold Coast was unbelievable. I can swear on my life, I was handed 5 tickets & told to ring some mates & this was 40 minutes before the game

I still say facts suggest winning GF's keeps a side together for less than losing GF's. Brisbane stayed together in a non football state for less money because they won. I cant think of many examples where clubs have lost many players when winning GF's but I can when losing GF's because those players want their true value if they aren't going to win one. We can hope and prey players will leave GWS and they will but winning this year wont mean they will leave earlier. More likely later based on evidence we have. I certainly wont be hoping they win this week or next week that's for sure.

My mate who lived in Sydney told me he only had to pay $5 to go to games there a year or two ago, but it sounds like he got ripped off! I pay more than that to get in to my tiny local country leagues games FFS, pretty embarrassing situation for the AFL really. Does anyone who goes have to pay?! Tassie may only have a quarter of the amount of people that Western Sydney do but I guarantee that we'd have more members and bigger crowds than either GWS or Gold Coast.

Merge Brisbane/Gold Coast and give us a team AFL campaigners!

My mate who lived in Sydney told me he only had to pay $5 to go to games there a year or two ago, but it sounds like he got ripped off! I pay more than that to get in to my tiny local country leagues games FFS, pretty embarrassing situation for the AFL really. Does anyone who goes have to pay?! Tassie may only have a quarter of the amount of people that Western Sydney do but I guarantee that we'd have more members and bigger crowds than either GWS or Gold Coast.

Merge Brisbane/Gold Coast and give us a team AFL campaigners!

Yep they may have bigger crowds, maybe for years but eventually they wont and more importantly the money was TV rights would be bigger because of GC and GWS. Tassie are lucky. They have 2 sides.

Rant Warning:

This is not a knee jerk reaction or based solely on one game. I have thought about this long and hard all season.

"Tex" Walker is the MOST over-rated player in the comp. Channel 7 spend much of their time talking him up and wanking about him. As do Ch 9.
Yes he has a catchy 'nickname' and looks imposing the way he jogs around puffing his chest out like a big peacock - but this guy is an absolute shit truck of a player. Josh Jenkins is just as bad.

I had a close watch of the replay from Saturday and Walker's efforts are pathetic. If he doesnt take the mark - an easy mark - then he totally gives up on the contest. His efforts at chasing or spoiling or doing a single team thing are simply pathetic. He is the direct opposite to Franklin. Yes Franklin is paid big money but he deserves it. Franklin chases, pressures, does the 1%ers and competes hard and smart when the ball hits the ground. He doubles up and makes repeat efforts. Walker makes zero repeat efforts. I am actually shocked with how bad he is. Genuinely surprised. I had assumed the media hype was justified.

The Crows had 7 more I50s on Saturday and got absolutely thrashed. A large chunk of blame needs to be left at the feet of "The Texan". He is actually just a shit truck show pony from Broken Hill.

Lots of people have been fooled by this bloke and it is time the fraud was exposed.

Rant Warning:

This is not a knee jerk reaction or based solely on one game. I have thought about this long and hard all season.

"Tex" Walker is the MOST over-rated player in the comp. Channel 7 spend much of their time talking him up and wanking about him. As do Ch 9.
Yes he has a catchy 'nickname' and looks imposing the way he jobs around puffing his chest out like a big peacock - but this guy is an absolute shit truck of a player. Josh Jenkins is just as bad.

I had a close watch of the replay from Saturday and Walker's efforts are pathetic. If he doesnt take the mark - an easy mark - then he totally gives up on the contest. His efforts at chasing or spoiling or do a single team thing are simply pathetic. He is the direct opposite to Franklin. Yes Franklin is paid big money but he deserves it. Franklin chases, pressures, does the 1%ers and compete when the ball hits the ground. He doubles up and makes repeat efforts. Walker makes zero repeat efforts. I am actually shocked with how bad he is. Genuinely surprised. I had assumed the media hype was justified.

The Crows had 7 more I50s on Saturday and got absolutely thrashed. A large chunk of blame needs to be left at the feet of "The Texan". He is actually just a shit truck from Broken Hill.

I reckon he's a good player usually, the Crows midfield killed them more than anything, Eddie and Lynch had mares too because when it finally made it in there they turned the ball over. Sydney just mauled them through the middle of the ground.

I challenge you watch the replay and watch his efforts. Just embarrassing and pathetic. Crows had 7 more I50s so their mids werent beaten too badly.

8 of his H & A games this year were 4s or below on AFL player ratings. Bar one game (v GWS), all of his good games were against the bottom sides. This supports my hypothesis. A very over-rated player. Genuine downhill skiier. Played his best games this year v GC, (GWS), Brisbane, Melbourne & Richmond.

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/113855/Taylor-WALKER

Dont believe the hype on this guy. Puffs his chest out. Looks like Tarzan. Kicks a long bomb. But plays like a slow Jane with no agility. Only good when his midfield his running riot and kicking it to him lace out.

Yep they may have bigger crowds, maybe for years but eventually they wont and more importantly the money was TV rights would be bigger because of GC and GWS. Tassie are lucky. They have 2 sides.
Until we have a side with 'Tasmania' in the name then it isn't our side, but agree that the current set up of Hawks playing 4 games per year in the North and NM playing 3 games per year in the South works well. Hoping that we get another game against the Hawks in Launceston next year because attending this year's was fantastic, I think the club has said that they will be requesting 2 games in Tassie next year due to the clubs links with the state.

Surely you don't care as you will still be a Saints supporter. Well I would hope so.

Rant Warning:

Yes he has a catchy 'nickname' and looks imposing the way he jogs around puffing his chest out like a big peacock - but this guy is an absolute shit truck of a player. Josh Jenkins is just as bad.

I had a close watch of the replay from Saturday and Walker's efforts are pathetic. If he doesnt take the mark - an easy mark - then he totally gives up on the contest. His efforts at chasing or spoiling or doing a single team thing are simply pathetic. He is the direct opposite to Franklin. Yes Franklin is paid big money but he deserves it. Franklin chases, pressures, does the 1%ers and competes hard and smart when the ball hits the ground. He doubles up and makes repeat efforts. Walker makes zero repeat efforts. I am actually shocked with how bad he is. Genuinely surprised. I had assumed the media hype was justified.

The Crows had 7 more I50s on Saturday and got absolutely thrashed. A large chunk of blame needs to be left at the feet of "The Texan". He is actually just a shit truck show pony from Broken Hill.

Lots of people have been fooled by this bloke and it is time the fraud was exposed.
Buddy is one of the most team orientated players in the game, bar a few 'Hollywood' moments from time to time, which is quite amazing considering the broad views that he's 'an arrogant & selfish player' & his status in the game.

By far my favourite non-Saints player to watch.

Tex Walker - flog. Agree with everything you wrote about Tex. if Tex played the game with the same passion as Buddy, they'd win a Grand Final. Tex is a poor choice for captain IMHO