General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

I come in peace.

According to dees fans on the main board Im a ******* for thinking Acres and Billings (two examples that came to my head) are pretty much on a par with Clayton Oliver right now and show just as much promise as footballers overall.

Is there some sort of rivalry I don't know about because the pitchforks are seriously out for me over there. Am I overrating Acres? I dont understand...

Its quite amusing how upset they all got.

Anyhoo cheerio.

Hamill and Frawley. Don't give Richo all the credit.

I think all the assistant coaches at the Saints are doing their job well. Good to see that side of our team so settled. Same with the President and committe , for years there was always infighting from power groups but they seem very settled in the direction the club are going. There is so much to like about the future of the club. The move back to Moorabbin is a great idea as Seaford has no soul about it. Everybody behind the scenes seems to be working to the same idea. Plus the recruiting team have done an awesome job after the disaster that we had before which was just trying to get stop gap recruits a bit like the Tigers have . I think that's why we started way behind the doggies on our rebuild. But since then it's been awesome . I hope next years draft is strong or maybe we can get a good player through free agency. I thought it was interesting that Bains said there were a number of players who wanted to come to the Saints this year but we couldn't help them . It's great that other players from other clubs see the Saints as a place to go to. It's such a change from previous years when they always chose Blues, Pies or Bombers.
I really hope the bombers suck next year.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I come in peace.

According to dees fans on the main board Im a ******* for thinking Acres and Billings (two examples that came to my head) are pretty much on a par with Clayton Oliver right now and show just as much promise as footballers overall.

Is there some sort of rivalry I don't know about because the pitchforks are seriously out for me over there. Am I overrating Acres? I dont understand...

Anyhoo cheerio.

I would have Acres and Billings long before Oliver. I have only seen Oliver do a few things that show promise like asking for more soup, lol. But Billings is way out of his league , and Acres is improving quicker.

It is tricky. I've known severely depressed people that have had aspects of delusion, narcissism, buck passing, pathological lying, various personality disorders, and straight up contradictory brat tantrums. You're dancing around a severe, sensitive issue, at the same time as trying to piece together the extent you are being used, possibly abused, and how to protect yourself.

Not saying that the kid is definitely behaving in a certain way. It can be just a really tricky situation.

Some things are black and white, and some things are impossible to get to the bottom of - especially when there is an obvious wrong to campaign lies around and paint whatever picture you want (which is extremely common in life, sadly). What the f@# do you do? It's easy to think that we can understand somebody, but a lot of people barely understand themselves, and are complex and troubled beyond belief.

I'm stressed out just thinking of it.

I suffer from major depression and anxiety and can't imagine what the kid was going through. When I finally stopped work due to a back injury I was so glad my depression didn't hit me until a few years later.

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.
I dunno what their problem is. thinking maybe cos even though they have superstars like Oliver and we have duds like Acres, they still can't beat us. I mean they came close... all they had to do was not let us kick a goal with 40ish seconds remaining. but ah well

I'd take both Billings and Acres a million times out of a million over Oliver

Would absolutely take McKenzie if I thought his mental health would stand it.

Dispassionately, he's a 197cm 104kg key forward with hands like a vice, a sub-3 second 20mtr sprint, and both an axe to grind and a point to prove.

Passionately, I don't think he should ever be anywhere near an AFL club again.

As someone who's been there with depression, it's something that never goes away. I, myself have just been through another bad patch again. But it does sound like he needs serious help and I would guess that he did rpt get the help he was crying out for. In all fairness to Richmond , a lot of people don't really get it unless they have been through it themselves. To use my example there are many times that things seemed to make sense to me but once I felt better I could see how they looked to others . There is no cure for depression , all they can do is treat the symptoms and hope for the best . He should forget about footy and try to get some sense of control back in his life before he becomes just another number. It's a sad situation but a lot of men and women go through it every year.

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.
Oliver is very exciting for a dees fan cause he did so well in his first year and will be a goal kicking clearance beast.
Acres found his game by the end of the year and Billing was getting confidence back after hurting his ankle against the Bombers.
Round 1 will be a big 8 point game as despite what Bombers fans would say Dees and Saints are looking most likely to push into the 8 in 2017

I think all the assistant coaches at the Saints are doing their job well. Good to see that side of our team so settled. Same with the President and committe , for years there was always infighting from power groups but they seem very settled in the direction the club are going. There is so much to like about the future of the club. The move back to Moorabbin is a great idea as Seaford has no soul about it. Everybody behind the scenes seems to be working to the same idea. Plus the recruiting team have done an awesome job after the disaster that we had before which was just trying to get stop gap recruits a bit like the Tigers have . I think that's why we started way behind the doggies on our rebuild. But since then it's been awesome . I hope next years draft is strong or maybe we can get a good player through free agency. I thought it was interesting that Bains said there were a number of players who wanted to come to the Saints this year but we couldn't help them . It's great that other players from other clubs see the Saints as a place to go to. It's such a change from previous years when they always chose Blues, Pies or Bombers.
I really hope the bombers suck next year.

Not the right thread I suppose, but I agree and I also think it's interesting how Peter Summers has allowed Matt Finnis to be the public face of the club while he dropped deep into the background. The only time I heard about him for the last couple of years was when Richo announced that his dad died. I have no idea if he's doing a good job but he got the right people in and the results speak for themselves.

It's amusing how people criticised his predecessor Greg Westaway for being the invisible man but no one talks about Summers, who must have one of the lowestprofiles of the 18 club presidents. Not that I'm complaining. Perhaps someone who knows a bit more about the club infrastructure can fill us in on Mr Summers' involvement/performance/effect?

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.
I dont think there is a rivalry..
But there may be some bitterness on their side considering they haven't beaten us in over a decade now.

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.

Thats not even a bad call. Acres will end up the best of the 3 imo.

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.
They are all very good young players. Perhaps we overrate Acres a little, the next couple of years will be telling

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/news/blog/2016/11/hamish-mclachlan-trampled-by-a-horse/
Hamish McLachlan is recovering in hospital after falling off a horse.

It’s being reported on Macquarie Radio that he was riding a horse when he fell off, and was trampled by another horse.

The Herald Sun report that McLachlan suffered broken ribs and broken bones.

McLachlan is recovering in hospital and is expected to make a full recovery.
giphy.gif

I come in peace.

Anyhoo cheerio.

It's too early to make final calls with comparisons.

I believe that Acres, Billings, Gresham & McCartin could possibly storm the competition, and have significant more x-factor than the Dees crop, a chump team that we've dominated without them. But just an opinion at this stage.

I tell you what will be hilarious... when/if McCartin goes passed Hogan. You can use early day stats to suggest that Jeremy Cameron was going to be better than Carey, and some did, but how is that tracking now? People would have been fairly brave and ridiculed to say Tom Lynch from GC will be a more significant player one day, but not so far fetched now...

Won't engage in the bitch fight just yet, but McCartin's day is coming, and fmd it is gonna be a pissa when he overtakes the saviour Hogan (who does look insanely good kicking bags against medium sized defenders, I'll admit - shieet, Jake Carlisle looked like more of a freak show dominating an undermanned Doggies defence with no appropriate match-up).

I believe that Acres, Billings, Gresham & McCartin could possibly storm the competition, and have significant more x-factor than the Dees crop, a chump team that we've dominated without them. But just an opinion at this stage.

I tell you what will be hilarious... when/if McCartin goes passed Hogan. You can use early day stats to suggest that Jeremy Cameron was going to be better than Carey, and some did, but how is that tracking now? People would have been fairly brave and ridiculed to say Tom Lynch from GC will be a more significant player one day, but not so far fetched now...

Won't engage in the bitch fight just yet, but McCartin's day is coming, and fmd it is gonna be a pissa when he overtakes the saviour Hogan (who does look insanely good kicking bags against medium sized defenders, I'll admit - shieet, Jake Carlisle looked like more of a freak show dominating an undermanned Doggies defence with no appropriate match-up).
Hogan is an utter gun, but on too many occasions he's lazy and his body language stinks. Can put in zero effort when he's 'off'.

Pound for pound he probably has more talent than Paddy, but Paddy works his arse off.

Hogan is an utter gun, but on too many occasions he's lazy and his body language stinks. Can put in zero effort when he's 'off'.

Pound for pound he probably has more talent than Paddy, but Paddy works his arse off.
I know which attitude I'd prefer to have at my club..

Hogan is a gun, no doubt.

Paddy will be better and more influential in big games.

I respectfully disagree with the pound for pound talent call.

Had to have a little wind up for any onlooking Dees fans ;)

Yeah I see quite a few Dees games and he's often one of those players you think is overrated because he looks like he's half arsed in everything he does. Even games he kicks 5 goals he looks like he didn't work for them. He has some worrying attributes as far as attitude goes. He's like a Wayne Carey style flog with out the hyper competitive streak. I reckon Darcy Moore and a few others like Paddy could easily over take Hogan.

It's going to be fun watching guys like Petracca and Oliver come along at the same time as Acres and Billings. All should be getting the same kind of hype as they are all developing and all showing some signs that point to special players.

Yeah I wasn't really making any forgone conclusion calls. Just saying that they're comparable talents at this point and could be in the future.

The group melts in response to what I was saying are out of this world though...I clearly hit a nerve.

There will be a bit of spirit in round 1 I suspect.

I look forward to seeing how good Mccartin could actually be if he stays healthy. He's had rotten luck so far.

...with out the hyper competitive streak. I reckon Darcy Moore and a few others like Paddy could easily over take Hogan.

Yep. Has rare tools, but the killer glare and poised arrogance isn't there.

19 seconds in celebration fist pump has a focused cool "here I come ya campaigners.." about it.

Love it.

I think if Paddy has some luck with injuries over the next few years he might be a better team player than Hogan but remember I am totally biased, lol

We have already seen Paddy willing to go up field to then quickly turn to pass to Bruce and Skunk. The three of them might develop into something special as you can't double team all three and that's where Weller and the other small forward have big parts to play.

Who should be there with the three big forwards ? I think Weller for sure, Wright is a good defensive forward but unsure if he gives enough attacking side to be there for sure. I guess another midfield like Stevens or Steele might get in . That probably leaves Sinclair, Loanie, Wright and a few others as the final choice . Having the three big forwards does restrict us from playing another ruckman . That means we are in trouble if Hickey goes down early in the game leaving Bruce in the ruck for the rest of the day but Boyd of the Bulldogs showed it can work sometimes. I guess it depends on who you are up against.