General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Interesting fact: y'know how coffee snobs often refuse to condescend to call instant coffee "coffee", but just call it "brown" out of disgust? Well, the Greek word "καφες", from where we get the word "cafe", is actually the word for - wait for it - BROWN. :O

εντυπωσιακή χρήση του ελληνικού αλφαβήτου

Is there a St Ali in Japan? Or you mean that crazy drip contraption? I still like my coffee espresso old school style. Italy had pretty bad coffee in general too though, Melbs still the best in the world I reckon.
Lol. The drip stuff I meant. St Ali do it here.
Italy was the only place in Central Europe that was acceptable for coffee. Czech republic and Hungary hideous, Germany like yank coffee

Anyone else watching the 09 GF on Fox Footy?

lol at this historical tale of us choking away the game. It's qtr time and we have played like absolute dog shit. Milne and Schneider both taking dives and being rightfully ignored by the umps and our gameplan is just "bomb it in" and hope Roo or Kosi can take a mark 2 v 1.

If it wasnt for Hayes, Dal and Dawson we would have been 3-4 goals down!

I'm surprised. They've got a pretty good cafe culture there. Especially Tel Aviv.
unfortunately i am not in Tel Aviv. I am in Safed at the moment . leaving tuesday night for hong kong then home on friday. However, there is a pilot strike, so i will not know until tuesday night if the flight will be leaving or will be cancelled.

Japan was the worst, I was like a junkie sucking down coffee cans on the subway stations and hanging outside Starbucks scratching like I had fleas.
I dislike starbucks coffee. Well i only tired it it in mebourne and it tasted like dishwater to me.

Where? I didn't mind the coffee around Lake Tiberius, for example.

If you can get to a kibbutz for a meal, do it! But if you want a coffee with your meal, they won't let you... :(

I get to israel reaonably often, as i have cousins, in Beitar, Bet Shemesh and good friends in Tzfat. So i usually stay with them. Sometimes i get to tel aviv for Jerusalem for a day here or there. At various times over the past 30 years i have been down to Eilat, and up to the Golan Heights. I really like Tzfat as it's in the mountains.

With the amount of coffee snobs on this forum, no wonder you want to get out of Seaford.

I love the smell of coffee, but hate the taste of it, the only reason I ever drink it is if I need to stay awake after a chronic lack of sleep. I have a cup, it makes me sweat and my hands start shaking.

About 2 years ago I experimented with having a couple of coffees at work after a particularly long night. By lunchtime, I was flying round the office feeling like a total champion, never been more dynamic and effective.

By 4pm I was inconsolably depressed, close to suicidal, believe it or not.

Shit is legal cocaine.

unfortunately i am not in Tel Aviv. I am in Safed at the moment . leaving tuesday night for hong kong then home on friday. However, there is a pilot strike, so i will not know until tuesday night if the flight will be leaving or will be cancelled.

Well, it's beautiful n Tzfat, despite the lack of decent coffee. ;)
A few years back my mother got stuck in Bangkok for a week coming back from Israel when the rebels shut the airport. As frustrating as it is, I'd rather be stuck in Israel :eek:

I get to israel reaonably often, as i have cousins, in Beitar, Bet Shemesh and good friends in Tzfat. So i usually stay with them. Sometimes i get to tel aviv for Jerusalem for a day here or there. At various times over the past 30 years i have been down to Eilat, and up to the Golan Heights. I really like Tzfat as it's in the mountains.
Just don't walk through the paddocks on the Golan Heights! :O

**** I really, really hate Bulldogs supporters. They fairdinkum wouldn't smell shit under their noses. Go have a read on the AFL main board about St. Kilda being a chance of the 2-17 flag. Absolute flogs.
Anyone who takes the main forum, or the people who post on there, seriously needs an internet break. Bigfooty is reputed as pretty terrible on a lot of other forums and its because of the morons posting there. Lots of big mouths and egos with barely a brain or real footy analysis attempts amongst then. How many people will happily comment on the overall quality of our team whilst barely even knowing their names letalone their contribution and having barely watched any of our games outside of the ones vs their own team? Quite a few.

Just treat it with the contempt and disdain that I do and dont let it get to you.

Anyone else watching the 09 GF on Fox Footy?

lol at this historical tale of us choking away the game. It's qtr time and we have played like absolute dog shit. Milne and Schneider both taking dives and being rightfully ignored by the umps and our gameplan is just "bomb it in" and hope Roo or Kosi can take a mark 2 v 1.

If it wasnt for Hayes, Dal and Dawson we would have been 3-4 goals down!
Lol. Never let facts get in the way though.
7.7 to 7.1 at halftime missing some absolute sitters.

Lol. The drip stuff I meant. St Ali do it here.
Italy was the only place in Central Europe that was acceptable for coffee. Czech republic and Hungary hideous, Germany like yank coffee

Yeah Germany has coffee from those old school drip through a paper sieve thing then slow broil it for three hours. Italy had about three good coffee shops that I found but generally very average outside Rome and big cities.

With the amount of coffee snobs on this forum, no wonder you want to get out of Seaford.

I love the smell of coffee, but hate the taste of it, the only reason I ever drink it is if I need to stay awake after a chronic lack of sleep. I have a cup, it makes me sweat and my hands start shaking.

About 2 years ago I experimented with having a couple of coffees at work after a particularly long night. By lunchtime, I was flying round the office feeling like a total champion, never been more dynamic and effective.

Shit is legal cocaine.

You should see what it's like when you can't get it then. I have been feeling like throwing up and headache all day if I don't get any. I'm totally unproductive with out it. France had espresso that was pretty decent, they used to have bowls of coffee flavoured hot milk.

Lol. Never let facts get in the way though.
7.7 to 7.1 at halftime missing some absolute sitters.
"St Kilda became the first team to lose a Grand Final from a three-quarter time lead since Hawthorn in 1984. Geelong became the first team to ever win a Grand Final after losing the first three quarters."

:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(

Shit is legal cocaine.

I think thats because you normally don't drink coffee.

Well, it's beautiful n Tzfat, despite the lack of decent coffee. ;)
A few years back my mother got stuck in Bangkok for a week coming back from Israel when the rebels shut the airport. As frustrating as it is, I'd rather be stuck in Israel :eek:

In 2010 i got stick in israel for an extra week due to the iclandic volcano eruption.

This time EL AL are having strikes. I am supposed to leave tomorrow night to Hong Kong. Not sure that will happen.

Just finished watching the 2010 Draw v Hawthorn on AFL history month, and I took away three things from that game.

1. I really really really miss Lenny :(

2. Gardiner was such a key player in our Grand Final sides. Mumford before Mumford.

3. The absolute horseshit decision around Buddies natural arc turned him from a very good player who played for someone else to an arse and protected species in my mind.

You go talkin' anymore fancy book words like that and we're gonna have a problem ya hear?