General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Bit unrelated to the saints, but do you reckon Melbourne would be spewing with their Tyson-Jelly trade?
Every game I've seen Tyson play has been fairly average and you feel like Jelly is what they're missing...
Think it was part of a bigger move that got them Salem, Tyson, Vince and Cross so think they did pretty well and with the 2012 trade that got them Hogan and made Viney a 2nd rounder and 2014 draft are the new Melbourne though the Frawley compo was a gift

It was 2, 20 & 72 for Tyson, 9 & 53.

Disregard the late picks they're not overly relevant. Melb essentially got Tyson & Salem for Billings (Roos publicly said that's who he rated #2) & Taylor/Merret/Crouch type who went after 20.

edit: Viney stuff deleted

The Melb-GWS trade effected StK cos we probably would've taken Kelly at 3 with Billings going to Melb at 2.

It was 2, 20 & 72 for Tyson, 9 & 53.

Disregard the late picks they're not overly relevant. Melb essentially got Tyson & Salem for Billings (Roos publicly said that's who he rated #2) & Taylor/Merret/Crouch type who went after 20.

There are rumours that GWS agreed not to bid on Viney meaning Melb didn't have to use 9 on him but there's no substance to that rumour.

The Melb-GWS trade effected StK cos we probably would've taken Kelly at 3 with Billings going to Melb at 2.
Viney was 2012 draft and that said trade 2013.

Billings vs Kelly? Who would you take if you could only have one?

Yeah alright, not a bad call then...
I just remember the swap of pick 2 for Tyson - my mistake!
Still, Josh Kelly :fearscream:

I want to pull out my "We want Jelly Kelly" meme... but that'd just be for the lols. JB every time.

Bit unrelated to the saints, but do you reckon Melbourne would be spewing with their Tyson-Jelly trade?
Every game I've seen Tyson play has been fairly average and you feel like Jelly is exactly what they're missing...

Nah, I'm very comfortable with that trade. Tyson was brilliant in 2014, had a knee injury that he played with last year, and is slowly coming back into form this year (Was excellent against Richmond). Salem could be better than both Kelly and Tyson, has been up and down this year but is still a kid. He has a rare combination of skill and hardness you don't see in a lot of young players.

Billings, and it isn't close IMO.

I literally wouldn't swap anyone for Billings. I love him

Hmmm. I'm torn. Both look to be very, very good players.

Kelly will further enhance his career with the interchange cap. He'll excel, reminds me of Shane Crawford with a better leg. Future Brownlow winner for mine.

Billings the more damaging player & will impact big games. But he won't shake a tag as well as Kelly nor get as much footy once their development has peaked. Future Norm Smith medalist...haha.

Honestly I struggle to split them. Heart says Billings, head I'm slightly swaying to Kelly. Bloody happy with Jack tho.

For anyone that knows Richmond, what happened to Liam McBean? He was tearing up the VFL not too long ago

Nah, I'm very comfortable with that trade. Tyson was brilliant in 2014, had a knee injury that he played with last year, and is slowly coming back into form this year (Was excellent against Richmond). Salem could be better than both Kelly and Tyson, has been up and down this year but is still a kid. He has a rare combination of skill and hardness you don't see in a lot of young players.

Billings, and it isn't close IMO.

I wouldn't say they aren't close. Billings skill wise every day of the week. Kelly for output and productivity.

Will our Shane Ellen be Tom Lee, Hugh Goddard or Sam Gilbert?

How about a 5 goal haul from surprise pocket maestro Jarryn Geary for a GF people will talk about for decades?

Hey, even Steven Baker kicked a bag one game, so anything is possible.
Don't steal Cam Shenton's moment of glory.

I'm over the whole idea of "rebuild", its purely and simply list management.
The term "rebuild" is simply and excuse for poor performance. StKilda's drastic rebuild was unnecessary, it was NOT necessary to NOT recruit any decent young talent and top up with aging hacks, all the while mismanaging the salary cap.
When we start talking 8 year rebuilds it becomes a total crazy. It means there is no point trading in players like Weller and Savage, because they will be near to retirement by the time your team is getting close.
That's not to say that it may not take 8 years, but you need to plan to be competitive as soon as possible.

Hawks bottomed out in 2004 ffs.

While it's true the Hawks bottomed out in 04, their rebuild started right after the 2001 prelim when they traded 2 of their best young KPP away for the #1 draft pick.

They knew they needed to take a 'half step back' at the very least in order to compete with a seemingly unstoppable Essendon and a Lions team that were as talented as they were tough. Not to mention Port who could have won a couple of flags if not for their mental demons.

If the Hawks had tried to stay up post 2001 then they wouldnt have bottomed out in 04, would have missed the Roughead/Buddy combo, may have missed Clarkson as coach and not have an extra 4 cups in the cabinet.

It was 4 years from the bottom to the top, but they started earlier than that.

I literally wouldn't swap anyone for Billings. I love him

So does matt finnis. Listened to the SEN audio where he was asked about free agency, and he stated also long as its not billings.....

While it's true the Hawks bottomed out in 04, their rebuild started right after the 2001 prelim when they traded 2 of their best young KPP away for the #1 draft pick.

They knew they needed to take a 'half step back' at the very least in order to compete with a seemingly unstoppable Essendon and a Lions team that were as talented as they were tough. Not to mention Port who could have won a couple of flags if not for their mental demons.

If the Hawks had tried to stay up post 2001 then they wouldnt have bottomed out in 04, would have missed the Roughead/Buddy combo, may have missed Clarkson as coach and not have an extra 4 cups in the cabinet.

It was 4 years from the bottom to the top, but they started earlier than that.
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/cp-alastair-clarkson--8

Clarko was actually lucky that they'd bottomed out before he got there, otherwise it would have taken them far longer to build back up. Any coach would love to walk into a club that has the likes of a young Hodge, Mitchell, Brown, Franklin, Roughead, Lewis at their disposal

My little sister told me she gets to meet josh bruce through her primary school at Noble Park football club. I know where ill be tomorrow haha
Just wanna say Josh Bruce surprised me, hes a very down to earth guy! I spoke to him for a little and our convo went a little like this:
"Hey Brucey"
*sees my sis and I and straight away walks over says gday*
I notice hes looking a bit cold tired etc so I say "you must be exhausted"
"Nah I actually aint mate, had the day off from training so im pretty fresh, just went to the coast for a surf"
Convo continues on but is irrelevant; point is he actually wanted to talk to (regardless of saint fan or not) and take photos with everyone. Massive respect for our Future coleman medalist

Goddard criticism is 'stupid' says manager Kelly
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-05-05/goddard-criticism-is-stupid-says-manager-kelly

....."
The club's compensation and contract negotiations with the 12 suspended players have meant Goddard is yet to open official contract talks with Essendon, but Kelly expects those discussions will get under way in the next couple of weeks.

"BJ is super keen to get through to the other end of this. He wants to stay there and see the thing through," Kelly said.

"He did not go to Essendon for the money. He went there because he saw an opportunity with where the team was heading.

"Now he's carried more of a load since he's been there than some that are no longer there. ...."

and the saints are farther ahead then his Sh$t team.