General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

He is playing a decent match, but his disposal is rushed and his contribution to the team performance has been minimal.

Essendon's squad seems to be mainly mature aged players while Carlton seems to have more kids and this may explain the scoreline

Reckon Parish has the goods but he is no Gresham ;)

Signs arent great for Bombers .
That team team today wont change much by round 1 . Carlton missing entire midfield .

Tommy Lynch is turning into a really handy footballer, no surprise considering he was a Pick 13 after all.

Unfortunately Daniel Hannebery pick 30 has him covered .

Could have been worse we could have got Ace Cordy then we would not have got Jack Newnes

Very very very happy with Jack Newnes

Pretty impressed with Carltons tanking hit out today, by the end of the season IMO they'll have nailed it perfectly. :cool:

Stoneham if true is a violent thug if he assaulted Lyon.

Nothing to do with friendship. Brownlee doesn't own his daughter either.

Women as chattels and property are reasons why they are treated appallingly worldwide.
I dont think thats the issue. It would be lyon watching brownless daughter grow from a baby to an adult to then start a sexual relationship with her. Its just weird.

Yes very weird. No argument. But as you say she is an adult and therefore property of no man.

Like the little girl from "the Nanny" punching Fox Mulder in the face.

A natural choice if they ever schedule a good Friday match
Dude, I have been saying that for years. Give part proceeds to the Salvos. I'm Goddy, and I'd have absolutely no problem with that.

I can't say I'm godly these days perse, I once was, but respect everyone's rights.

I just reckon we are a multi-faceted nation these days, so holding it back on the "it's a Christian holy day" doesn't quite cut the mustard anymore as a reason to give it the kaibosh.

Plus- the funds that would be raised could be huge. Imagine say $2 per ticket gets donated, along with some cream from the food outlets etc.

And of course, in the interest of good always winning over evil- the mighty sainters would have to win every time!

I can't say I'm godly these days perse, I once was, but respect everyone's rights.

I just reckon we are a multi-faceted nation these days, so holding it back on the "it's a Christian holy day" doesn't quite cut the mustard anymore as a reason to give it the kaibosh.

Plus- the funds that would be raised could be huge. Imagine say $2 per ticket gets donated, along with some cream from the food outlets etc.

And of course, in the interest of good always winning over evil- the mighty sainters would have to win every time!
Agree with you totally...although the cheeky part of will ask (as I have whenever this question has popped up over the years): since we're not a Christian country any more, and thus should play footy on Good Friday... Doesn't that also mean we should abandon it as a public holiday, too? ;)[emoji14]

But yeah, I agree. Forget about the religious stuff for a second. I think we as a club are seeking to support people doing good stuff in our community. We'll, something like 18 of the largest 20 community service agencies in the country are in some way faith-based; the Salvos being a fine example. Why not, on a day that's important to them, say thanks, and help them a bit in helping others?

Agree with you totally...although the cheeky part of will ask (as I have whenever this question has popped up over the years): since we're not a Christian country any more, and thus should play footy on Good Friday... Doesn't that also mean we should abandon it as a public holiday, too? ;)[emoji14]

But yeah, I agree. Forget about the religious stuff for a second. I think we as a club are seeking to support people doing good stuff in our community. We'll, something like 18 of the largest 20 community service agencies in the country are in some way faith-based; the Salvos being a fine example. Why not, on a day that's important to them, say thanks, and help them a bit in helping others?

Love it mate.

And, as for the public holiday- I don't get public holidays so yeah, cancel it!! :D

Grundy's work not only at stoppages and around the ground, but also up forward is seriously impressive. Their American ruckman Cox showed enough to suggest he may get a crack sooner rather than later which should allow Grundy to spend more time on field rotating from the centre bounce to the forward line with Cox. A frightening thought considering he's only 21 and they've got Moore to slot into the mix somewhere as well.

Collingwood paid a lot of money to Cox to get himto sign with them.there were 4 clubs chasing hiim to sign up.

I'm pretty sure Easter is spring fertility rite from Europe that was kept to appease the pagans who were converting. Eggs and rabbits aren't Jesus totem animal/ symbol last time I looked. I think if it was good enough for the christians to keep it I think workers can have the day off too.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm pretty sure Easter is spring fertility rite from Europe that was kept to appease the pagans who were converting. Eggs and rabbits aren't Jesus totem animal/ symbol last time I looked. I think if it was good enough for the christians to keep it I think workers can have the day off too.

Hallmark holiday similar to Christmas in the west saying "that skinny nordic fella would look great if he was fat, balding and jolly" in the same vein as "that judgmental German rabbit would look better if he shat chocolate and hid it from kids". Easter as a religious thing, hasn't been a widespread thing for, oh I dunno, centuries. The devout still celebrate it no doubt, but it holds little sway otherwise and has been on a steady decline in favour of the rabbit.

The pagan holiday you're thinking of is the attempt to have Australia celebrate Halloween, because nothing says celebration than a native american winter fruit decorated in autumn; in spring.

Last edited by a moderator:
The almighty dollar dominates the seasons of Easter and Christmas these days. While this demeans the theological meaning of the seasons, it also perpetuates them, thereby doing Christians a disfavour and a service at the same time.

Re: public holidays - most countries give their workers 10 or so public holidays a year. We have two of those at Christmas and two at easter making them both a real break and adding meaning to the holiday for all. USA is the most religious country of the G-20 and it does not give two holidays at Easter, but spreads them more evenly through the year. Which is better?

The almighty dollar dominates the seasons of Easter and Christmas these days. While this demeans the theological meaning of the seasons, it also perpetuates them, thereby doing Christians a disfavour and a service at the same time.

Re: public holidays - most countries give their workers 10 or so public holidays a year. We have two of those at Christmas and two at easter making them both a real break and adding meaning to the holiday for all. USA is the most religious country of the G-20 and it does not give two holidays at Easter, but spreads them more evenly through the year. Which is better?

In Australia we celebrate the almighty long weekend by making a sacrifice on the altar, oops not altar.... barbecue.

I'm probably not the only one to say this , but I really appreciate the extra long breaks, but i also struggle through the long periods where there are no public holidays. I am therefore thankful for years of accrued leave and RDO's.

In Australia we celebrate the almighty long weekend by making a sacrifice on the altar, oops not altar.... barbecue.

I'm probably not the only one to say this , but I really appreciate the extra long breaks, but i also struggle through the long periods where there are no public holidays. I am therefore thankful for years of accrued leave and RDO's.

Takes the gloss off when you work full time and only get national holidays instead of state holidays. So whilst business was moaning about grand final eve, I was at work, working, for 8 hours helping the other states and our territorial friends. So I appreciate Saturdays, and only hate Mondays following or preceeding a holiday, since even if you have to be there, 90% of people will chuck a sickie on that day.

Jokes on them though since I bugger off during the busier times. :D