General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Not strictly St Kilda player, but I think it's interesting:

While on reality TV show I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here, the 35-year-old said his preferred destination was the Magpies but Carlton stood in the way.

"They (Carlton) wouldn't let me go to Collingwood. Because I was going to go to Collingwood,” Fevola said.

"Then I was going to go to St Kilda…but I had to take a pay cut and I said if Kosi's (Justin Koschitzke) is on more money than me there is no chance I'm going there."

"Sticks (then Carlton president Stephen Kernahan) rang me on the Wednesday night and said mate, ’It’s all a bluff we're not trading you, come back, once you kick the first goal, (against) Richmond, Thursday night, it will all be over, don't worry about it, come back’.”

"I said mate, there's no way I'm going back now after putting me up for trade.”

I remember Fev and the Saints were linked back then, but I thought the Saints passed on him rather than it being about pay. Always wished Fev ended up at the Saints.

Not strictly St Kilda player, but I think it's interesting:

I remember Fev and the Saints were linked back then, but I thought the Saints passed on him rather than it being about pay. Always wished Fev ended up at the Saints.
lions.jpg

yeah no..

In 2010, his only season at the Brisbane Lions, Fevola played 17 games for 48 goals. He was dogged by further off-field controversy over the 2010/11 offseason, and was officially sacked by the club on 20 February 2011.

Yeah, I can't help thinking though that taking him away from any of his support networks (family, etc) all the way up to Brisbane may have been a contributing factor. Vossy's tenure there was just a complete shemozzle, and doesn't suggest that he could have turned Fev around. Mind you, he would have got Watters if he'd come to us, and frankly, that would have been far worse.

Having a look down their list, the Cats could realistically field a team including;

FB: Lonergan (197cm)
CHB: Henderson (196cm)
HBF: Taylor (195cm)
RK: Smith (206cm)
RR: Blicavs (198cm)
CHF: Stanley (200cm)
FF: Hawkins (198cm)
FP: Vardy (199cm)

And still have to find a place for Mitch Clark (200cm) if he comes good, and they have Tom Read (201cm) Wylie Buzza (198cm) and Ryan Gardner (196cm) hanging around too. Also Padraig Lucey on the rookie list (203cm).

Has there ever been a taller list in AFL history?!

Yeah, I can't help thinking though that taking him away from any of his support networks (family, etc) all the way up to Brisbane may have been a contributing factor. Vossy's tenure there was just a complete shemozzle, and doesn't suggest that he could have turned Fev around. Mind you, he would have got Watters if he'd come to us, and frankly, that would have been far worse.
He went to the lions for the 2010 season though. Had he come to us he would have played in the 2010 grandfinal.

Bugger me...

HF: Schneider - Riewoldt - Montagna
HB: Shaw --------- Reid --------- O'Brien

FF: Koschitzke - Fevola - Milne
FB: Maxwell --- Brown --- Toovey

Yep. That'd have worked... :(

Looks like Ross the Boss is going to be at Freo until 2020.

Now we get to see how he goes building an actual list.

Unless he gets to 2018, reconsiders and then joins the Tigers.

In the 5 games immediately after Roo did his Hamstring, we lost 3 times, and arguably should have lost to the Dogs in Round 6 as well. I think the forward line would have been much easier to restructure had we had Fev, and we may have finished higher on the ladder.

Ultimately though, I don't think that putting Fev in our forward line wins the Grand Final.

I think i know how he thinks.
He will take Jarrad Grant after the Gold Coast de-list him.
He will trade a first rounder for Jack Watt's ( he was a first round pick so he must be good right? )
He will put Anthony Morabito on a five year contract the day before Anthony's leg fall's off, therefore tying up a sport on the rookie list for the next four years.

Purely hypothetical so we'll never know.

If Fev has said he refused to come to us if he was earning less than Kosi I think that kind of questions that his priority was winning games of footy and therefore his commitment.

He was (is?) a troubled bloke and it would have been a massive gamble on the clubs part who ended up dealing with a whole lot of other crap shortly after he would have joined.

Purely hypothetical so we'll never know.

If Fev has said he refused to come to us if he was earning less than Kosi I think that kind of questions that his priority was winning games of footy and therefore his commitment.

He was (is?) a troubled bloke and it would have been a massive gamble on the clubs part who ended up dealing with a whole lot of other crap shortly after he would have joined.
Yeah, it also shows a lack of awareness of his bargaining power at the time. He was in no position, at all, to go in making any big demands about cost, especially against a well-loved clubman. He'd been ditched by his club in disgrace.

We should have got fev for the same reason why we should have got Cousins.

We get Cousins we win 2 flags, its that simple.

Yep footy is that simple. Has anyone heard of the SC? We got rid of BJ because of the cap. We got crap players from other clubs because of the SC. We have no idea how Cousins or the other players would have gone with Cousins around.

Good to know freo won't win a flag until after 2020 now ;).
In all seriousness though I like it because as others have said it'll show how he handles a rebuild, wether it be a small or big one.
Pav and Sandi are essentially done, a few others aren't far off. One thing he has going for him this time rather than with us is that they have drafted pretty well in the last few years.

Good to know freo won't win a flag until after 2020 now ;).
In all seriousness though I like it because as others have said it'll show how he handles a rebuild, wether it be a small or big one.
Pav and Sandi are essentially done, a few others aren't far off. One thing he has going for him this time rather than with us is that they have drafted pretty well in the last few years.

Also a better SC. Our club stuffed ours up. I reckon that cost us a flag or 2.

Freo will be fine got Hill, Fyfe and maybe Bennell plus a bunch of good picks from 2014-2015 Stkilda was an almost uniquely bad situation really it was a club screw up that had been building for 5 years

Yep footy is that simple. Has anyone heard of the SC? We got rid of BJ because of the cap. We got crap players from other clubs because of the SC. We have no idea how Cousins or the other players would have gone with Cousins around.
Cousins had addiction issues that can be managed pretty well for a year or two like fat people losing weight before ballooning back much harder to manage dickhead.