General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

I have a soft spot for you guys. When I was in the process of picking a club to become a member it was down to Gold Coast, St Kilda, and Western. History played a part in choosing GC. They were only around for four years easy to learn that history instead of 100+.

That's soft TJ! ;) You should have jumped on the Red, White and Black and picked up the history as you went. Seriously through, it's great to have you on board as an Aussie Rules fan. It is the greatest game in the world IMHO. If I can help with any STKFC history to get you signed up as a Sainter just let me know. :)

They've been boring for way too long. And besides, the whole hating them for the paperbag rorting arrogance is getting stale. Essendon can take their irrelevance mantle now

**** 'em both.

I've been thinking about the benefits of mid season trading. Everyone knows that Cam McCarthy will be at Freo next year. If they could trade their 2016 first rounder for him right now, they could straight away start conditioning him and maybe even play him before the season's out, totally changing their outlook for this year and beyond. They'd also lose the incentive to tank, having already lost their traded their first pick. GWS would be crazy not to take it, it's looking like being pick 1.

It'd need to have pretty rigid guidelines so it didn't get out of control. Only a couple of players from each club, and only players who hadn't played a certain number of games this season and over the last few seasons. I'd also keep draftees in their initial 2 year contract out of it, and contracts for at least the current year would have to be identical to what the player was on at their original club.

just watched the replay of the freo game i honestly didnt realize how crap chris mayne is, probably the worst player in the history of afl how hes played 150 games is baffling

I agree. Have never liked him. Whoever wanted to trade for him are insane.

I've been thinking about the benefits of mid season trading. Everyone knows that Cam McCarthy will be at Freo next year. If they could trade their 2016 first rounder for him right now, they could straight away start conditioning him and maybe even play him before the season's out, totally changing their outlook for this year and beyond. They'd also lose the incentive to tank, having already lost their traded their first pick. GWS would be crazy not to take it, it's looking like being pick 1.

It'd need to have pretty rigid guidelines so it didn't get out of control. Only a couple of players from each club, and only players who hadn't played a certain number of games this season and over the last few seasons. I'd also keep draftees in their initial 2 year contract out of it, and contracts for at least the current year would have to be identical to what the player was on at their original club.
Just restrict it to Cover LTI only, non afl contracted players. Keeps it simple gives clubs a chance to cover injury

Except there is no way McCarthy is worth pick one now. Not even freo are that daft.

The bloke doesn't look that well either. Mitch Clark hasn't been the same player since his battles. In some ways, clubs would have to look at it as potentially a recurrent long term injury

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Bulldogs v Eagles this week.

Epic duckathon.
I would hate to have to wash the jumpers on Monday, there will be that much diving

Grimes getting injured in the warm up & Chaplin frantically getting ready in the rooms as the game starts....

Drew Petrie would have to have the record of most games played for the least games impacted. Seriously only plays well in 2 games a year

Carlton can be irrelevant, they basically dropped their pants whipped it out and told the game to bend over having systemically rorted the payment systems in place over around a decade ('93 to '02). As on with a history in admin; stuff em.

Essendon can be irrelevant because they used humans as guinea pigs in a medical capacity, then bullshitted about it, then told you how much of an arse you were for daring to talk about it, then admitting that they "dun wrong", then told you that you're still an arse no wait, they were. Deregister them and then stuff em.

Freo can go jump, out of all the teams to hate (ie Pies "challenge" flags and bullshit elitism) I honestly can't recall a club who was there, as the opposition as many times as they have been to us, when someone, there, screwed the pooch and the pooches mother. Whispers of the umpiring fraternity gifting them a win by impartial individuals (ie Mr Pert & a journo I forget the name of and CBF googling who wrote shit down mid flight) "nah, she's right mate, nothing to see here", incompetent administration with sirengate, "nah, she'll be right, let's just do this thing twice since the game has been a thing and favour them...", good ol Farmer "I ran behind him, didn't see he stopped, ran into him and broke myself. IT'S ALL HIS FAULT!". Gimmie Bangladesh any day and piss Freo off to sink.

Everyone else is fine, they can exist, they can win things, they can be treated with respect, how much (ie the Pies) respect they get, depends on which side of the bed I wake up on. The people though, by and large they are brilliant people, doing something they love to do and striving to be the best they can be in their field. They're much better than me because I don't hate my job but I also don't like my job and they're much more skillfull and durable than I am so envy. But they're still people.

Anywho;

Richmond... never change. Here's to the 20mins splurge for some respectability and then remarks about how disappointing it is to finish mid road.

If the Saints stayed in Tasmania, do you think we would see the kind of crowds and ferver the Taswegians are showing, or is it a case of the Saints walking away, kindled a Tassie resolve to see AFL played their?

I see it a big loss, we walked because we couldn't win there, imagine if we had The Tasmania sponsorship that the Hawks have or the Spirit of Tasmania deal, both Government deals. the Home ground advantage of what would be 10 years playing there if we stayed.

can only shake our heads and say "what if"
kinda makes a case for how bad our Admin was during that golden period