General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

Gerard: "Stevie Motlop doesn't look anywhere near sharp. Has he had an interrupted pre-season at all?"

197121_5034be4b14c6234cb8946ff4e711161e.jpg

Never met the man but I've heard similar stories. One of my favourites I heard first hand from an umpire who had given Deano out LBW. Jones saw the umpire a little while later and asked why he had been given out when it was clearly missing the stumps and received the reply 'because you're an ^#&$hole Deano'.

Yeah it's well reported that Deano would sniff his own farts whilst simultaneously abusing the nearest person, it was more the point that I only met him once, when I was 11 and from that less than a minute with him and the fact that some 20 odd other then retired English and Aus cricketers were more than happy to entertain enthusiastic kids, he was and is rubbish.

It is essentially why he was left out of the Australian team depsite having such a good average and should have probably played more.

In saying all that his old man, who from memory was a great district cricketer, apparently was even more of a FIGJAM kind of person than old Deano. So the guy never had a chance....he was a damn fine cricketer though and was one of my faves back in the day

Always a chance, whilst we do emulate our fathers, if I were raised in todays world my old man would be jailed I have zero intention of following in his footsteps, as evidenced by him being a backman and me being a forward, or him being a batter and me being a sometimes opening sometimes first drop rfm bowler with a batting average of like 10. Deano also chose to be like his old man for mine.

Anyone can post what they like however another person has a right to disagree with it and giving a reason they disagree. I don't like people posting things that make a player sounds like a tosser after meeting them once or twice. Kill me.

No one's arguing you disagreeing with gringo, the issue is that your first words to indicate such is "gringo you need to stop" as if you are personally offended by gringo stating and intimating that it was a poor look for Bruce and came off as standoffish and elitist. You can disagree all you like just as gringo can hold the opinion all he likes, only thing that needs to stop is the inferred offense and instead take it as an observational assessment.

If that article is 100%, the Saints set themselves up for this as no player was going to be released as soon as any lead up to the NAB challenge was in any sort of infancy. None. Zero chance.

I'd agree with the comments as the "communication mix up" is code for "we couldn't give a damn to inform them" handballed to the lowest pleb at the joint to give a token effort. That's the most disappointing thing for mine, it could have been salvaged these things are planned to the nth degree, but it wasn't, seemingly because we didn't bother.

Yeah it's well reported that Deano would sniff his own farts whilst simultaneously abusing the nearest person, it was more the point that I only met him once, when I was 11 and from that less than a minute with him and the fact that some 20 odd other then retired English and Aus cricketers were more than happy to entertain enthusiastic kids, he was and is rubbish.

Always a chance, whilst we do emulate our fathers, if I were raised in todays world my old man would be jailed I have zero intention of following in his footsteps, as evidenced by him being a backman and me being a forward, or him being a batter and me being a sometimes opening sometimes first drop rfm bowler with a batting average of like 10. Deano also chose to be like his old man for mine.

No one's arguing you disagreeing with gringo, the issue is that your first words to indicate such is "gringo you need to stop" as if you are personally offended by gringo stating and intimating that it was a poor look for Bruce and came off as standoffish and elitist. You can disagree all you like just as gringo can hold the opinion all he likes, only thing that needs to stop is the inferred offense and instead take it as an observational assessment.

If that article is 100%, the Saints set themselves up for this as no player was going to be released as soon as any lead up to the NAB challenge was in any sort of infancy. None. Zero chance.

I'd agree with the comments as the "communication mix up" is code for "we couldn't give a damn to inform them" handballed to the lowest pleb at the joint to give a token effort. That's the most disappointing thing for mine, it could have been salvaged these things are planned to the nth degree, but it wasn't, seemingly because we didn't bother.

i'm not sure the higher ups will be too happy. they're already concerned enough with the seaford relationship and maintaining a presence there. plus all the good work in the community can be eroded just like that

So apparently Garry Lyon hasn't been seen in public for over a week because he's had surgery to fix a broken jaw, courtesy of Barry Stoneham. Barry is Billy's best friend & godfather to Billy's eldest daughter.....

Reading between the lines, I reckon the ex wife has taken the fall but it's really the daughter, not the ex-wife

So apparently Garry Lyon hasn't been seen in public for over a week because he's had surgery to fix a broken jaw, courtesy of Barry Stoneham. Barry is Billy's best friend & godfather to Billy's eldest daughter.....

Reading between the lines, I reckon the ex wife has taken the fall but it's really the daughter, not the ex-wife

Heard the same although not the broken jaw bit.

I feel like Hogan is also holding out on signing to see if Melbourne can emerge from their basket case phase. Angus Brayshaw going down at the first bounce does not help that at all.

WTF has Stoneham got to do with anything? Does he think he owns the woman or something.
Don't get me wrong, I am not in favour of what Lyon has supposedly done, but the young woman is an adult and is no man's property.

If it is true the thug Stoneham should be charged with assault. Disgraceful

So much this.

I met Dean Jones when I was 11 and he told me in no uncertain words to "go and #$%^ off" so in my eyes, the man is always just below fecal matter, whereas other people may have glowing recommendations of the man.

I played against Deano in a district cricket match, the bloke was an arrogant tool and acted above it all for most of the match and then whinged when he was dismissed for 2 runs early on the second saturday. He was on the outer of the Aussie team at the time.

After the game, my club captain (the then head for cricket victoria Shaun 'Graffy' Graf) told me this story about some of Jones and his dads antics, the story concluded with a description of how on a night out with Jones he only referred to to one member of the then Australian Cricket Team by his nick name, that being Steve 'tug' Waugh. Ive got to admit if you spent all of your time with a bunch of blokes in a team environment, you usually form a pretty tight bond with them, not Jones.

I played against Deano in a district cricket match, the bloke was an arrogant tool and acted above it all for most of the match and then whinged when he was dismissed for 2 runs early on the second saturday. He was on the outer of the Aussie team at the time.

After the game, my club captain (the then head for cricket victoria Shaun 'Graffy' Graf) told me this story about some of Jones and his dads antics, the story concluded with a description of how on a night out with Jones he only referred to to one member of the then Australian Cricket Team by his nick name, that being Steve 'tug' Waugh. Ive got to admit if you spent all of your time with a bunch of blokes in a team environment, you usually form a pretty tight bond with them, not Jones.
Graffy!

Gun bloke.

It's NAB Challenge but the Dees just did a number on almost a full strength Port team.
They actually looked half decent.
Their second half was very impressive.
I kept an eye on Grundy last night and Gawn today and both are quite clearly the standout young ruckman in the league. Here's to hoping Billy continues his improvement and closes the gap.

Our match up against the Dees in a few weeks time with both sides expected to be close to full strength should be quite interesting. A new rivalry could be in it's infancy

Their second half was very impressive.
I kept an eye on Grundy last night and Gawn today and both are quite clearly the standout young ruckman in the league. Here's to hoping Billy continues his improvement and closes the gap.

Our match up against the Dees in a few weeks time with both sides expected to be close to full strength should be quite interesting. A new rivalry could be in it's infancy

Missed last night but Gawn has definitely taken his game to a new level, he dominated.

If you ever want to hear what an ex Aussie teammate has to say about Jones, go to a function where Merv Hughes is speaking.

Suffice to say Merv and Jones are not best friends.

Missed last night but Gawn has definitely taken his game to a new level, he dominated.
Grundy's work not only at stoppages and around the ground, but also up forward is seriously impressive. Their American ruckman Cox showed enough to suggest he may get a crack sooner rather than later which should allow Grundy to spend more time on field rotating from the centre bounce to the forward line with Cox. A frightening thought considering he's only 21 and they've got Moore to slot into the mix somewhere as well.

WTF has Stoneham got to do with anything? Does he think he owns the woman or something.
Don't get me wrong, I am not in favour of what Lyon has supposedly done, but the young woman is an adult and is no man's property.

Even if she was seduced by Garry's powers & access to certain white powder..... I think that's probably why Stoneham smashed him, if it's true of course

We have a family friend, he was pallbearer at my mums funeral along with family he's such a good friend of ours. All throughout, anything we needed from him, he gave, and when he went through the same thing with his mum, we dropped everything for him because it was the right thing to do and he's a mate.

He also drinks copious amounts of booze, enjoys the company of strippers and has tattoos of an eye on each one of his buttcheeks.

If he was not a family friend, I would not associate with him personally, but he, at his core, is one of the most caring people that I know, and if he wanted his mates to throwdown, I would know he had a damned good reason to ask it and was in the right to do so.

My sisters boyfriend? I would laugh at him and lock the door in the same situation, he's still a mate but, there's limits.

Stoneham, if true, is a mate of Billys noticing that he is gutted, going to the source and for whatever reason it escalated into "sit down son and note the disappointment" with a proper beating. This happens with mates because in the end, you're still mates or on talking terms and eventually you're both man enough to respect each other again and rekindle the mateship. Or you split and never speak to them again. Period.

Billy did not strike me as a man who was quick to resort to violence, he struck me as a man who was masking emotion with a larrikin persona.

If you ever want to hear what an ex Aussie teammate has to say about Jones, go to a function where Merv Hughes is speaking.

Suffice to say Merv and Jones are not best friends.
i was a mad cricket fan back when i played local myself. Jones was a fav of mine untill 2 things happend.
1...... i read his book. Yeah sure he was shafted by the Aussie selectors but boy o boy he doesnt let you forget about it in that book. Came across as a bit of a sook IMO.
2.... i was at the Saints V Carl game when Winmar totally lost the plot. Jones was about 4 rows infront of me. He gave Nicky some massive sprays.
He must be a Carl supporter and a Winmar hater.
How could i like somebody who hates Nicky.

Even if she was seduced by Garry's powers & access to certain white powder..... I think that's probably why Stoneham smashed him, if it's true of course

You've just confirmed the other part of the story I heard (outside of the broken jaw).
Gary certainly has been making some interesting lifestyle choices it would seem.

Stoneham if true is a violent thug if he assaulted Lyon.

Nothing to do with friendship. Brownlee doesn't own his daughter either.

Women as chattels and property are reasons why they are treated appallingly worldwide.

Hear you on the whole "women as chattel" - massive issue.
If what Rors and I have heard is correct and he's been messing with his best mate's daughter and then some, he had to expect a response.
Strictly not kosher, I know, but when it relates to these types of matters a father and possibly his other mates are naturally going to be very protective.