General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

All footballers are equal, but some are more equal than others. The fact the Joel Selwood is still able to have a different interpretation of the high contact rule applied to him and him alone is rubbish.

Jesus, to think Port supporters thought they were going to get an early 2nd rounder off us for O'Shea. Wouldn't even take him back then as a DFA and still wouldn't go near him now.

It's a little scary what's happened to Port since 2014. They've been completely dismantled. What worries me a little (a little), is that I can see some parallels in their uber-risky, corridor-driven gameplan that falls apart because of defensive turnovers and the style of play we're going for. Obviously, after their amazing 2014, teams have been structuring up a little differently against them and making sure that these turnovers are plentiful and hurtful.

Hopefully, Richo observes how Port have struggled and implements some contingencies in our own style. Luckily, I've seen enough to believe he's an astute enough tactician to overcome any problems. Still, Port are a good case study of how far we should go with this type of play.

As an aside, I'm tempted to go back to some 2014 quotes from that flog Kochie. Smug little prick he was back then - pretty sure he took a few shots at us.

EDIT: "Yes, they're a club in turmoil, but they shouldn’t put other clubs in turmoil and look for a replacement. Get your act together." --> That's what he said. Lmfao

David Koch is great. We wish he was our President. You'd be pretty pissed off too if your club lost your coaching director, a week before pre-season began.

Really loathe the attitude of kicking people while they're down.
Fair enough. Richo was appointed St Kilda coach on the 14th of November 2013 which is pretty late and yes he was their director of coaching.

EXCEPT, exactly a year later Luke Beveridge was appointed Bulldogs coach and he was OUR director of coaching. I don't recall Peter Summers running around acting like a big sook.

You loathe my attitude, I loathe his.

If only we were a little bit further along in our development as a team. This is the first year in a while when a good team, that's not a great team can win the GF. They're all beatable on the day.

David Koch is great. We wish he was our President. You'd be pretty pissed off too if your club lost your coaching director, a week before pre-season began.

Really loathe the attitude of kicking people while they're down.
'Kochie' is a tosser. That sort of thing happens all the time in footy as pointed out.

breaking news jetta from west coast got boood bloody racists.

Hate this sort of post - if you are trying to drag up the 'I'm not racist but line'.... of the anti Goodes brigade take it somewhere else. This is a Saints forum and I would like to think we are better than that. To me we should be proud of Goodes like we should be proud of Winmar

Fair enough. Richo was appointed St Kilda coach on the 14th of November 2013 which is pretty late and yes he was their director of coaching.

EXCEPT, exactly a year later Luke Beveridge was appointed Bulldogs coach and he was OUR director of coaching. I don't recall Peter Summers running around acting like a big sook.

You loathe my attitude, I loathe his.

Please don't compare Richo to Beveridge. Beveridge hadn't even set foot in Seaford. He had none of our IP. We had built no reliance on him.

Summers has no media profile. I haven't heard him make a public comment in 3 years.

You call it sooking, I call it standing up for his club.

Their club has been a pushover for half a decade, it needed some strong public posturing, that's what he gave them.

As to the exact quote, were we not a club in turmoil? Stop being precious.

Please don't compare Richo to Beveridge. Beveridge hadn't even set foot in Seaford. He had none of our IP. We had built no reliance on him.

Summers has no media profile. I haven't heard him make a public comment in 3 years.

You call it sooking, I call it standing up for his club.

Their club has been a pushover for half a decade, it needed some strong public posturing, that's what he gave them.

As to the exact quote, were we not a club in turmoil? Stop being precious.

"none of our IP"? If stealing IP was such a big problem, no clubs would let their assistant coaches get hired. Every time an assistant coach leaves to take up a role in another club, the threat of club secrets being shared exists. Heck, every time a player switches clubs this could happen.

I'm not saying we weren't in turmoil, the issue was that it was not like his club was going great guns either. Glass houses and all that.

I don't want to go on anymore. Obviously, we each have our opinions and that's fine. There are arguments going both ways and I can see your point. I just don't think that should be used as an excuse for Kochie's actions.

The thing to take out of Bevo going to the Dogs is that we made a brilliant choice getting him in that he didn't even make it here and the Dogs wanted him, needed him to fix up their coaching. That's it. We identified the talent and got him in, Dogs identified him and actually landed him.

Kochie, Eddie, and other outspoken presidents (Kennett anyone?) are great for that club, if they want that sort of presence. As Eddie is one who sniffs his own farts whilst eating caviar, it can also rub people the wrong way and otherwise be detrimental to the club as well. So we're opening up and all this credit is going to Finnis & Ameet but how great is it to have the back end and admin being solid as hell as well? No Buttress, no worries.

13084297_1322815194401657_972860674_n.png