General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

I reckon people just long for the days where it was all a little less professional. I remember the good old days when you could literally touch the players coming off the ground and smell the mud and beer. The crunches of bodies the reverberation off the concrete etc. It was a completely different experience and there is no going back but it has lost something. Peter Everett was my garbage man in Elwood in the 1990s and you'd see him and yell out to him and he'd give you the thumbs up. It was a different world back then. Barry hall had a HR holden with a bonnet scoop higher than the windscreen and he's hoon in the Moorabbin car park, these days you just don't get that access or experience. It was more like the characters at a suburban club. The players have lost that common touch with the professional era, they are coached in what not to say and wary of stuffing up.

Its all sports.
The bigger it gets the more money that's involved , it loses something.
I remember when I liked motor racing.

I really do not get the hatred for Etihad. Its easy to get to and barely has a bad viewing spot in it.

I mean, yes Moorabbin homegames would own bones but I dont think we are that bad off (despite the stadium deal)

The steps are too narrow for anyone with any sort of disability, being arthritic I don't move anywhere during a game because my ankles hurt like all hell after walking up to T3. It also get's a little bit misty with the roof closed, but otherwise I agree is a good ground to get to and for viewing in comfortable positions.

I still prefer Waverly though, there was something about the size and the elements both natural and completely screwed up through human error that gave it its charm, that was different to say Optus Oval which was just a dreary shit hole where it rained a fair bit to make it worse.

Mcleans played 11 games and he's already the biggest ducker in the afl, 10% of his touches come from high free kicks wtf lmao about time someone gives him a swinging forearm to the jaw what a blight on the game

Yep, spot-on, can't stand watching him play, he is a blight I the game already after just 11 games, it's quite an amazing effort.

So out of 60 free kicks this season, the Bulldogs have only had 15 free kicks that weren't from high tackles. Sounds like a systematic ducking program to me.

Such a shit policy considering they were top 4 so recently. They should hang their head. They don't deserve first draft pick.

I don't think they are tanking yet and still haven't won a game. They got old quickly. Anyway apart from there first pick all there other picks are behind our pick wherever we finish.

Freo have a super easy run coming up to. Should get 2 or 3 on the trot if they play to their potential

They aren't even that old they have no talent at all, they're in for a 10 year rebuild

Yep. Got it.

I think I got old quickly too, happened after my first boy was born!

Has a team ever finished first then last the following year?
I remember reading something about this the other day, I don't think it's ever happened.

Never been the same since that goose that supported them got banned for hitting a female supporter.

They lost their mojo, he was their mascot.

I'm sure they made a GF 2 or 3 years ago. Did the 10 year rebuild start this year? Lyon must the greatest coach ever if they have no talent at all.
How's that relevant? They haven't won a single game this year, their list is in worse shape then ours was in 2011

Its relevant because Lyon mist be a great coach so rebuild will be no where near 10 years. Get it? Whats our rebuild? 50 years. When is a rebuild finished.

This is about the state of Fremantle list not Lyons coaching, do you agree that fremantles list is in terrible shape? they have no one of value that they can afford to trade, they're in for a world of pain they'll be down the bottom for 10 years

Don't you understand it is relevant also about Lyons coaching. You said the list is no good and it will be a 10 year rebuild. If the list is no good then Lyon must be a great coach and got this no good list to a GF 3 years ago and to the top of the ladder last year. I'm saying it wont take 10 years to rebuild because he got a no good list to a GF. Imagine if they get good players in a year or two. The rebuild may take only 2 or 3 years.

Anyone bother with the AFL ladder predictor yet?

I was bored, so gave it an unbiased crack, where we'd only win if we were favourites, and we still ended up making the Granny.

As a footy fan, I'd love a Cats v Hawks GF.

As a Saints fan, couldn't relax and enjoy it if Geelong were in it.

Dogs - nah, don't want 'em beating us to a flag. Huge chance to pinch a flag.
GWS - see Dogs
Swans - astrix next to it along with at least the 06' flag.
Eagles - rubbish away from home, shell of the home team just like the sides back in 06/07 (unless they were playing in Brissy). No chance.
Hawks - what's another flag for shits and gigs. Well.. that GF v Freo is one of the biggest sliding doors moments in history. Freo could have trounced them had they showed up in the first half. Should have been back-to-back GF losses, and that's mentally tough to recover from........ .. ..
North - I don't mind the story, but do we really wanna make shift team like that win a flag? Unfortunately, I suppose.