General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

That was an amazing last quarter, and some kick from Lloyd after the siren - 50m out and on a fairly tight angle.

The reaction at the end was priceless.
For those who missed the game, it's definitely worth watching the highlights and the last 2 minutes.

http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2016/8/rich-v-syd

Everybody will talk about the Lloyd goal (as they should), but a lot of credit has to go to the Tigers defence - Swans had tons of opportunities to milk it or ice it at the end, and the Richmond defenders stayed strong.

Amazing game.

Thats a bit harsh about the used car salesman

Pretty sure he's a used car buyer if that makes any difference haha.

Had a mate in the biz work with him briefly/get mentored (said he was actually a ripper bloke and still spoke fondly of his time at the saints - possibly lives with armo even, did a while back anyway) and the company was all about buying used cars on the cheap and on-selling.

My mate then moved on to Audi and the rob eddy goss died there :(

Watching an U15s YJFL game - Camberwell and Boroondara - through sheer boredom.

Since when did 14 year olds apparently require $250 boots and $70 Skins?

Things have changed a mite since I was a lad.

Watching an U15s YJFL game - Camberwell and Boroondara - through sheer boredom.

Since when did 14 year olds apparently require $250 boots and $70 Skins?

Things have changed a mite since I was a lad.

U14s? The bloody under 10s are doing it now.

Some u16 players even get payed in the way of boots, free rego, canteen vouches ect to play for certain clubs.

U14s? The bloody under 10s are doing it now.

Some u16 players even get payed in the way of boots, free rego, canteen vouches ect to play for certain clubs.
They get paid?! That's sickening.

with 2:34 on the clock Carlton have hit the lead - come on Port

You are joking

Neck and neck with people at work in the tipping comp
Blues supporter and tigers supporter - reckon they'd both have tipped their respective teams and will now have suddenly shoot up above me on the back of these results.

Damn

Cripps is a Bloody GUN
Can't disagree with that, the issue I have is that I just cannot tolerate Carlton fans being happy or Carlton winning anything - not even the toss

Glad Carlton beat Port...Blues won't be going anywhere this year whilst Port were a smokey for an 8th spot...makes things easier for us with our relatively light schedule for the rest of the year :thumbsu:

Sure is, lots of clubs (country) are finding it hard to field teams. So many kids are just giving up or playing basketball or soccer so some clubs are paying their rego ect to keep them at the club.
That's amazing to me; I used to play school footy Saturday then club footy Sunday every week, but for a couple of years playing rugby.

Never thought of not doing it.

Sure is, lots of clubs (country) are finding it hard to field teams. So many kids are just giving up or playing basketball or soccer so some clubs are paying their rego ect to keep them at the club.
Even in Metro areas its getting harder. My club dropped our 3rds team due to 20odd people not returning from previous years. Hopefully next year will be back on track but its kind of shocking the amount of people giving up local footy. Perhaps there are just too many clubs out there?

That's amazing to me; I used to play school footy Saturday then club footy Sunday every week, but for a couple of years playing rugby.

Never thought of not doing it.

It's a new world. Some leagues have zones & dont allow tackling in the u10s anymore.

There is a 5 year study being done at the moment to work out what is going on. I blame technology. At half time u12s kids are wanting their parents phones to play games, its shocking.

Even in Metro areas its getting harder. My club dropped our 3rds team due to 20odd people not returning from previous years. Hopefully next year will be back on track but its kind of shocking the amount of people giving up local footy. Perhaps there are just too many clubs out there?

That definitely could be a reason.