General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

It's a new world. Some leagues have zones & dont allow tackling in the u10s anymore.

There is a 5 year study being done at the moment to work out what is going on. I blame technology. At half time u12s kids are wanting their parents phones to play games, its shocking.
Why are parents part of half time anyway? I never played juniors so im not familiar but it seems theyre old enough to be properly coached and the parents can stay on the sidelines.

Parents always like to give there child a pat on the back at the breaks, has always happend.

Sure you can play that game. Geelong saw deficiencies & went & recruited very high quality players in those positions.... Who did Freo add to their list to make them stronger? Bennell? Not worth the trouble IMHO & Perhaps that's why they've dropped off.... Actually that & their injuries are probably why they have dropped off
No you cant play that game. Maybe we just got Geelong on a bad night and we had a good night. Essendon nearly beat North does that mean Essendon are a top 4 side? Of course not. You need to look over a whole season. The reality is we have won just 12 games of our last 52. That is where we are at.
Hopefully we win 3 of the next 4.

Rob Eddy at RTB lmao

0 and 8.... Oh how karma's a bitch. I love knowing my career and future is secure, unlike some...

View attachment 246845
Robert Eddy doesnt like Lyon? Is he serious???? He must be delusional. Lyon gave him a dream run and selected him ahead of MUCH better players.
If it wasnt for Ross Lyon, Robert Eddy wouldnt have played a single AFL game, let alone 33. What an ungrateful prat.
Rob - memo - no other coach in VFL/AFL history would have given you ONE game mate. Be thankful. You should send Ross a Xmas card every year.
F*%cking delusional.

Even in Metro areas its getting harder. My club dropped our 3rds team due to 20odd people not returning from previous years. Hopefully next year will be back on track but its kind of shocking the amount of people giving up local footy. Perhaps there are just too many clubs out there?

15 odd years ago, there was about a $150k difference between the BFL and EDFL div2, it was on the increase and as you'd expect, players who had played fore 1 season or otherwise got identified went "#$%^ you" and ran to the money, Isaac Smith is an example of this, playing for Redan in the BFL, got identified and out he was, better bloke, but if given a choice there was no looking back such was the divide.

There are many reason why people don't show up or otherwise don't come back. In our case, they came back after a few years, because with that increase of payment came expectation, and they suddenly found it all too hard and they weren't having fun no more. But the stories of their self inflated egos and unceremonious leavings was the subject of much chortling at their return.

We still field 3 tiers, but it's night and day stuff before you even get into "local" politiking with regional boards and etc.

No you cant play that game. Maybe we just got Geelong on a bad night and we had a good night. Essendon nearly beat North does that mean Essendon are a top 4 side? Of course not. You need to look over a whole season. The reality is we have won just 12 games of our last 52. That is where we are at.
Hopefully we win 3 of the next 4.
Absurd post. Do have you actually followed the chain of replies or just read half the convo?

You can play this game. Do you think we'd still be this up & down if we'd been the ones to recruit Dangerfield, then also been able to have Carlisle play (Henderson) & a fit Nathan Freeman (Smith). Areas we are deficient in like Geelong (in brackets)

We'd have a completely different dynamic & we'd be sitting at least 5-3

Watching an U15s YJFL game - Camberwell and Boroondara - through sheer boredom.

Since when did 14 year olds apparently require $250 boots and $70 Skins?

Things have changed a mite since I was a lad.

You never se a kid with non flouro boots now either. When I was a kid you would want to be the best player in the league to wear anything that wasn't predominantly black.

Parents always like to give there child a pat on the back at the breaks, has always happend.
Mine didn't...

"Here's where you're stuffing up, son..."

Thanks Dad. :tearsofjoy:

You never se a kid with non flouro boots now either. When I was a kid you would want to be the best player in the league to wear anything that wasn't predominantly black.
Tbf, that's because it's hard as hell to find non-fluro boots these days!

Been to a sports store lately?

Robert Eddy doesnt like Lyon? Is he serious???? He must be delusional. Lyon gave him a dream run and selected him ahead of MUCH better players.
If it wasnt for Ross Lyon, Robert Eddy wouldnt have played a single AFL game, let alone 33. What an ungrateful prat.
Rob - memo - no other coach in VFL/AFL history would have given you ONE game mate. Be thankful. You should send Ross a Xmas card every year.
F*%cking delusional.

They would have.
He was good enough at VFL level to warrant a trial in the AFL, and he was probably as good in his first game, as Gresham was on the weekend.

But he was already 21 and didn't really progress much beyond the few good games each year.
He DID win contested ball and tackle.
He MAY have been restricted by the role that Lyon gave him, and he MAY have had the impression his career was going ok until Lyon suddenly delisted him.
If he was to be delisted why select him for finals ahead of Armitage.
I assume that is why he was pissed with Lyon.

They would have.
He was good enough at VFL level to warrant a trial in the AFL, and he was probably as good in his first game, as Gresham was on the weekend.

But he was already 21 and didn't really progress much beyond the few good games each year.
He DID win contested ball and tackle.
He MAY have been restricted by the role that Lyon gave him, and he MAY have had the impression his career was going ok until Lyon suddenly delisted him.
If he was to be delisted why select him for finals ahead of Armitage.
I assume that is why he was pissed with Lyon.

I think you will find it wasn't Lyon who delisted him. He did announce it though.

Lyon 'retired' Robert Eddy, Steven Baker, Michael Gardner and Andrew McQualter at his press conference after our final match of 2011. Rob and Baks both later denied they had retired on twitter when they heard what had happened.

I can understand why he is still dirty on Ross Lyon.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/two...er-loss-to-swans/story-e6frf3e3-1226134047666

As I said he announced it nut it wasn't his decision. Eddy owes Lyon a fair bit. He even played him in a GF with a bung arm.

I guess, like a lot of footy stories, there's more to it than gets into the public arena.

Should we be reading into this...?

"Richardson has twelve wins in his first 50 games as coach of the Saints.
Leppitsch also has twelve wins from 50 games as coach of the Lions."

Not the greatest company to be in.

Being over in WA has absolutely glossed over how bad we were. Who is worse? Us losing by 100 to WCE or Lions losing by 80 to COL?

Lepp: 7, 4, ???
Rich: 4 , 6.5 , ???
( use the vibe for the current 2016 season ).
So can you work out the difference?

At least he doesn't have a punchable face emulating a caveman.

Too much is made into w/l with coaches early, sides are at different junctures, lists are in different shapes, coaches should be judged after 3-5 years at a single club where you have clear direction, clear emphasis from the coaching panel and you can see if they're going to make it or not.

Unless you're Malcolm, then you're given a week and a tossbag.

Lyon 'retired' Robert Eddy, Steven Baker, Michael Gardner and Andrew McQualter at his press conference after our final match of 2011. Rob and Baks both later denied they had retired on twitter when they heard what had happened.

I can understand why he is still dirty on Ross Lyon.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/two...er-loss-to-swans/story-e6frf3e3-1226134047666
Eddy owes Lyon everything. No other coach would have given him a single AFL game - let alone 33 .

Was Eddy dominating in the VFL? Of course he wasnt.

He is very lucky to play a single AFL game. The guy is delusional. He should send Lyon a birthday and Xmas card every year. Without Lyon, Eddy plays no AFL games ever.

At least he doesn't have a punchable face emulating a caveman.

Too much is made into w/l with coaches early, sides are at different junctures, lists are in different shapes, coaches should be judged after 3-5 years at a single club where you have clear direction, clear emphasis from the coaching panel and you can see if they're going to make it or not.

Unless you're Malcolm, then you're given a week and a tossbag.

I cant stand Leppa either. Just looks like a flog. He'd be long gone if it wasnt for Leigh Matthews.

Matthews also got Voss the job.

Remember Voss? The guy who was never even an Assistant coach and when asked about it said 'I dont live by other people's limitations.' What an absolute flog.

I cant stand Leppa either. Just looks like a flog. He'd be long gone if it wasnt for Leigh Matthews.

Matthews also got Voss the job.

Remember Voss? The guy who was never even an Assistant coach and when asked about it said 'I dont live by other people's limitations.' What an absolute flog.

The recruit!

Voss has never been such a smug bastard than he was on that show. I am sure that Leppa is a great bloke though, it's just he always struck me as one step away from neanderthal man, even with the redeeming factor of the super powers of being a ranga.