General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

North Melbourne are a bizarre footy club these days.

It's not that surprising, they were gunning for a flag and it hasn't worked. They actually had a very good draft last year for the position they started in. They would be better off trying to play guys like Ryan Clarke and Trent Dumont than keep on hoping that one more grandpa will push them over the line. Unless they are clearing cash for a big play at someone.

My boy burrito been given the emu treatment #valeburrito #putoutyourburritos

Had burritoes for dinner last night.......I kid you not.
I must have had a premonition :rolleyes:

It's not that surprising, they were gunning for a flag and it hasn't worked. They actually had a very good draft last year for the position they started in. They would be better off trying to play guys like Ryan Clarke and Trent Dumont than keep on hoping that one more grandpa will push them over the line. Unless they are clearing cash for a big play at someone.

I meant the way they've done it. There's not just four players angry and upset with the coach and club heading into an important final round game and then a final.
Brad Scott is one bizarre dude.

Nah I feel for Dal and Boom, I think they both had one more go on them. Would love to see Dal finish with a flag in his last game but don't reckon he'll get the chance (this year or next).

The Boomer decision is baffling, not so much the other three. I can see it backfiring massively. It is a pretty big risk and could be one of those turning points for a club. There was no footy justification to de-list him, was more about his age and you let a bloke playing footy like him and a legend of the club go out on his own terms. I'd be livid if Rooey was playing good footy and treated in a similar way.

I actually think it's the correct call on all 4, it's just unfortunate to have them all happen at once. They snuck in to the 8 on sheer weight of experience but that won't fly in the coming years, it's not the worst thing ripping off the bandaid. I was notably filthy when we got rid of Goddard and Dal Santo when they clearly still had plenty of footy in them but that is proving to be the correct decision. North are heading for the bottom 4 either way they may as well cut their losses and get games into the younger blokes starting next year.

Probably the most baffling part is not having Waite go too and not starting earlier. Ideally it probably should have gone 2015: delist Firrito and one of Waite or Petrie, 2016: Waite/Petrie, Dal and Boomer 2017: Thompson and maybe Wells and Gibson

How long is Norfs coach contracted for??
After winning first 9 games if they lose this week and then go out 1st week of finals hes gonna be under a shit load of pressure.

You know, everyone, including the "experts," keep going on about the 9 -0 start and how fantastic they were.
Do people realise they played almost every bottom 8 team in that time. They barely beat a top 8 side this season. They beat the Crows in round 1 and Bulldogs in round 6... and that's it!
It was a completely false dawn. That's why seasons need to be judged at the end.
Weren't we something like 2 - 7 at one stage? And look now.

I actually think it's the correct call on all 4, it's just unfortunate to have them all happen at once. They snuck in to the 8 on sheer weight of experience but that won't fly in the coming years, it's not the worst thing ripping off the bandaid. I was notably filthy when we got rid of Goddard and Dal Santo when they clearly still had plenty of footy in them but that is proving to be the correct decision. North are heading for the bottom 4 either way they may as well cut their losses and get games into the younger blokes starting next year.

Probably the most baffling part is not having Waite go too and not starting earlier. Ideally it probably should have gone 2015: delist Firrito and one of Waite or Petrie, 2016: Waite/Petrie, Dal and Boomer 2017: Thompson and maybe Wells and Gibson

With Petrie going, having Waite (even if only for 12 games) cuts Brown some slack, and whoever their 3rd tall will be, wouldn't expect him to be there come 2018.

Understandable the delistings, so many old blokes, they have to cut hard sometime, just unfortunate that they players weren't allowed to "retire" rather than being thrown out the door, esp Boomer, really poorly handled

On SEN they were talking about other teams would want any of the 4. Why would any club want any of the 4 next year.

To assist in the area of tanking?

Bloody hell Eddie Betts has handle himself like a champion with this banana bullshit that happened .

Has asked everyone to leave the girl alone, as no one should be bullied. What a SUPERSTAR

Bloody hell Eddie Betts has handle himself like a champion with this banana bullshit that happened .

Has asked everyone to leave the girl alone, as no one should be bullied. What a SUPERSTAR

I've always had a lot of love for Betts. Love the way he goes about footy. Just looks like he enjoys himself out there & is always smiling. Top bloke off the field too. Little champion.

I'd be filthy if I was Boomer. 430 games, captained the club, played in a premiership team, the absolute heart and soul of the club, and he wasn't even given the honour of going out on his own terms.

Geeze, that's a poor way to treat even Drew Petrie, let alone probably one of North's most recognisable players in their history.

If we did that to Roo when he retires, i'd be filthy.

Basil Zemplis is a flog, I think that's just ******* mean spirited from a guy who can't even announce footy. Burrito might not be a star but he had a better career than Basil.

Think it's a fake Zemplis account to be fair.

Awwwww I don't even like Fajitas I just wanted to complain about Basil for shitting me with his annoying WA commentary.

Yeah i agree Mowman:thumbsu:

Im just looking at this from a silly perspective at the moment and im in no way trying to trivialize what happend.
But what amazed me was that woman just stood up and quickly tossed the banana at Eddie. But if you watch it carefully you can see that if Jenkins didnt get in the way it wouldve hit Betts fair n square on the back of the head.
She might be a horses arse but geez what an arm:eek:
Sign her up for the Aussie womens cricket team:D