General AFL thread 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Joffaboy

toxic is ok mate. He's that incredibly rare beast: a pies supporter with intelligence, balanced views and, apparently, all his own teeth.
I don't care
I don't go to the pies board and comment on stuff I don't agree on
Free country can say what they like etc etc....but I'll call anyone out on it coming to our area and pretty much rolling their eyes at something a saints poster has said....in the saints area.
Yes....the luke ball thing again
:)

I don't care
Free country can say what they like etc etc....but I'll call anyone out on it coming to our area and pretty much rolling their eyes at something a saints poster has said....in the saints area.

200_d-1.gif

;)

I don't care

Feel free to visit the pies board, most posters with a sensible non-abusive opinion are more than welcome .

And yes I'll roll my eyes and post accordingly on any and every board if i have an alternate opinion.
I guess you could put me on ignore, you could report me to your mods or you could enjoy the discussion as a discussion and not revert to generalisations regarding pies posters or revert to personal attacks.

Anyway back to Nathan Freeman for me

I will rail against any opposition supporter coming on here trolling.
Toxic had the runs on the board to be able to disagree or have his own opinion on a subject here as he is a proven non troll.
Conversely Popped Corn can defend the faith against an outsider.
Both views are welcomed in my opinion and keeps the board buzzing.

Feel free to visit the pies board, most posters with a sensible non-abusive opinion are more than welcome .

And yes I'll roll my eyes and post accordingly on any and every board if i have an alternate opinion.
I guess you could put me on ignore, you could report me to your mods or you could enjoy the discussion as a discussion and not revert to generalisations regarding pies posters or revert to personal attacks.

Anyway back to Nathan Freeman for me

Pies and Saints fans can generally discuss most footy related topics with even, cool heads.

The exception is Luke Ball.

It's pretty much the only topic that I can't speak to my Pies' mates about without it degenerating into a bitter argument.

Pies and Saints fans can generally discuss most footy related topics with even, cool heads.

The exception is Luke Ball.

It's pretty much the only topic that I can't speak to my Pies' mates about without it degenerating into a bitter argument.

Which aspect of the Luke Ball scenario if i may ask?

I don't care
Buckley just drafted Mayne surely thats suffering enough

In hindsight we should have bent the knee and taken Goldsack or pick 30.
Though the way our drafting was going back then, i doubt we'd have found Max Gawn with the trade.

Ned Stark could have bent the knee too, but it still wouldn't have ended well.

Did it stop the floodgates from opening? Hard to say, Cripps was the only other one who bent us over.

duh - I wonder

Great response, way to engage. :rolleyes:

And yes i did wonder,

My amazing wife, father in law and bloody great mate Sir Skid are saints supporters and all have different opinions / levels of hatred/ levels of acceptance over the Luke Ball trade, so yes i wondered and asked?

Great response, way to engage. :rolleyes:

And yes i did wonder,

My amazing wife, father in law and bloody great mate Sir Skid are saints supporters and all have different opinions / levels of hatred/ levels of acceptance over the Luke Ball trade, so yes i wondered and asked?
Ball was shafted by us. Left sitting on the pine in a Granny while lesser players were on the field.

If I was him I would have left at that time too fwiw. I value toxic's open minded contribution.

not-welcoming-toxic.jpg

Ball was shafted by us. Left sitting on the pine in a Granny while lesser players were on the field.

If I was him I would have left at that time too fwiw. I value toxic's open minded contribution.

I don't know how WHY it happens and how the Saints were managing their bench.
But while some of our other players used to get close to 90% TOG , Ball rarely did.
Yes 46% was low even for him in the GF. Interesting to note he only had 50% in Collingwoods preliminary final against Geelong.

In his previous finals he'd been unremarkable for contested possessions and clearances. Jones was easily out performing him. Hell Dal Santo was playing better in those areas.
In the prelim McQualter won as much contested ball and matched his clearances ( 1 ).

I don't know how he went from being a < 300 disposal player for us to a 500 disposal player for the scum. If i was a sceptic i'd suggest they gave him the good gear.

I don't know how WHY it happens and how the Saints were managing their bench.
But while some of our other players used to get close to 90% TOG , Ball rarely did.
Yes 46% was low even for him in the GF. Interesting to note he only had 50% in Collingwoods preliminary final against Geelong.

In his previous finals he'd been unremarkable for contested possessions and clearances. Jones was easily out performing him. Hell Dal Santo was playing better in those areas.
In the prelim McQualter won as much contested ball and matched his clearances ( 1 ).

I don't know how he went from being a < 300 disposal player for us to a 500 disposal player for the scum. If i was a sceptic i'd suggest they gave him the good gear.

Probably to do with him getting 65% average game time compared to 71% and 77% in his two 500+ disposal seasons at Collingwood in '10 and '11.

He also averaged about 21.5 disposals a game in those two 500 touch seasons for the Pies which isn't really out of the ordinary when he was with us, his season totals from 2004-2009 were; 19.96, 22, 21.8, 19.2, 21.7 and 19.6. While most of those seasons were season totals in the 300s and 400s (with one 500 in 2004) making his Collingwood seasons look like statistical outliers, they weren't really, he played 24 games in his 500+ years at Collingwood, the two seasons he played 24+ with us he got 499 and 528, and was hovering between 18-21 games the rest of the time which makes up the difference between more 450-500+ seasons if he continued to average what he had prior in those seasons.

22 disposal (12 contested), 7 tackles, 7 clearances and 5 inside 50s is pretty damn good stat wise before you even factor in 46% TOG. Regardless of his previous finals (where he was similarly only given 48% and 58%) I reckon on the day if he was playing that well you don't plonk him on the bench, I'd be pissed too.

i like you toxic

but cmon man...

My wife who's played sport at the highest level and is apparently quite intelligent (ffs dont ever tell her i said that) believes he was treated terribly and if she was in his shoes, she'd have told the coaching team where to go.
My father in law is the polar opposite and believes he should have stayed but questions what occurred behind closed doors for his departure to eventuate.
I don't have any inside knowledge at all.

I won't say anymore on the LBall issue, its in the past

Lets return this to a Nathan "nice steal by your recruiters" Freeman thread.

My wife who's played sport at the highest level and is apparently quite intelligent (ffs dont ever tell her i said that) believes he was treated terribly and if she was in his shoes, she'd have told the coaching team where to go.
My father in law is the polar opposite and believes he should have stayed but questions what occurred behind closed doors for his departure to eventuate.

neither of those two points are the bone of contention for saints fans

more the blatant draft tampering which thankfully the AFL no longer tolerate

Great to hear what your wife thinks. Keep us in the loop.

Came here to read about Nathan Freeman.
Get posts about Luke Ball and people arguing about where they should and should not post.

1st world problems I suppose.
Pfft. You think you have problems. I'm in China and cant get a decent coffee