General AFL Thread

Loved how he didn't name Sinclair and Acres in our best 22 for 2018. Just shows how much he knows about our list. #flog
What an insult.

#notalistmanager

The worst experiences ive ever had at the footy have been due to Richmond, Bulldogs and Crows fans in that order.

Crows fans very one eyed and very vocal, even over here.

Dogs fans cant let go of 2009. Shits me to no end that they still whinge about that.

Tigers fans gave me the worst day in football though. I went to the infamous Joel Bowden "rushed" game at the G. Things were very, very tense on both sides.

The siren went and the Tigers fan behind me kicked his beer over in celebration. Spilled all over me and my (then) girlfriend.

I turned around and said "****ing hell. Watch it mate." half waiting for an apology. His mate then proceeded to dump a full cup of beer on my head.

A fight broke out between those 2, myself and my Essendon supporting uncle and we were all ejected.

My GF and I were planning on going to the Saints v Hawks game that night but I was in a shit mood, smelled like beer and figured we would get done anyway.

Took the train home and watched Jason Blake have a career best game in the ruck as we thumped the Hawks.

****ing Richmond bastards...

Essendon fans are the most deluded though. Having gone to a fair few of their games due to family connections it just stuns me how they defend everything Hird and Co have done. Just makes my skin crawl.

Peraonally Ive found Collingwood fans to be great though. They give as good as they get but when the final siren goes they turn and shake hands and are up for a chat.

Alot of the Pies fans Ive run into understand they were a bottom feeding, blue collar club and that they are fortunate to have had a president like Eddie come along and help build this Black and White monster.

My last Essendon game was spent with me watching the footy whilst the blokes around me, primarily Essendon supporters considering I like sitting in the mixed sections of the ground sicne people can be quite creative in their views on footy, but I digress, decided instead of pierce thecrowd and start commenting on how many women they found that they would otherwise be around without pants on. They were fine otherwise, though the drunk at the end I wouldn't have minded if I gave him a shove off the 3rd tier fence. Right fool, and blight on humanity that one was.

Freo I love going to games with, because you will find half the supporters have NFI what thy're actually watching and will be attempting to teach their companions they dragged to the game to highlight why they like tight short shorts, the rest of us will be split between facepalming at the horrible explanations of our game and laughing hysterically about how they actually found the ground and the game at the same time a game was occurring. That's like the bullshittiest luck that's ever existed.

Me, I've always hated going to games with Carlton, because it's like I watcht he footy and then feel like, sittign in opp sections, there's a giant blanket that envelopes everyone in blandness, it's a light grey colour, there are some patches on it but it's ok, and then everyone gets up and realises holy shit where'd all those paper bags coem from?

The chips werren't that good?!?

I went to Carlton v GWS earlier in the season. The only noise the crowd made was when a few of them screamed abuse at their own players. It's like being rubbish for most of the past dozen years has led to the most recent generation of Carlton fans being slightly less arrogant.

Can't stand the fan base of any team when they're up (and i'm sure the same is said about Saints fans when we're going well), but Richmond have to be up there in terms of the arrogance to success ratio. They will celebrate whatever minimal success they've had in recent times with the most smarmy and conceited attitude i've seen. After one of the recent Tigers/Saints game I went to, their fans were absolutely giving it to Saints fans as they were leaving after the siren.

Yeah, good job, assholes.. you beat one of the bottom teams..

That said, Essendon fans are still the most frustrating as a good portion of them are still drinking the Hird kool aid

Richmond, Carlton & Essendon supporters are far and away the worst.....end of. Probably in that order too...

And yes I haven't mentioned Collingwood - unbelievably they've improved over the years, probably come fourth....

I think most teams have similar supporters. I have seen Saints supporters abusing the hell out of our players.

Oh yeah all clubs do - but some have a higher percentage than others.

Let me give you an example, a couple of years ago a Saints and Tigers supporters were squaring off on level 2 where we sit, (they actually went away and "sorted it out". The Saints supporter came back and sat down. 20 minutes later the Cops came and the Saints supporter left to have a chat), they were right near my cousins' 7 year old kid and so I stood up and said hey guys there are kids here knock it off and let's watch the game, eh?

A neanderthal Tigers supporter 3 or 4 rows up asked me if I wanted to come and sit next to him and well you can guess the rest. Here I am trying to stop something before it starts as a young kid is right there? And that is but one example I've seen at Richmond games. I actually don't go to St Kilda Richmond matches due to the tigers supporters.

Carlton are just arrogant as are Essendon who are a combination of arrogant and in denial!!!

I love Richmond supporters.

To date, they remain the only mob to actually go into a game, 3 games into a season with the machinations and preliminary organisation to picket the club into deposing then coach Terry "the list manager" Wallace.

The very moment you go to a football game and look at these supporters and have the thought that they understand the game of footy and their viewpoint of anything happening in front of them at that point in time is even close to the mark of a valid viewpoint, you should get up, gather your belongings, and leave that stadium because you have no place being there without first washing your head out with soap. Funnily enough, I think that was against Melbourne who would then go on to almost also bring the game into disrepute by openly tanking for draft picks and go onto record one of the worst losing streaks in the game to date.

I went to Carlton v GWS earlier in the season. The only noise the crowd made was when a few of them screamed abuse at their own players. It's like being rubbish for most of the past dozen years has led to the most recent generation of Carlton fans being slightly less arrogant.

Yeah I've kinda noticed that Carlton fans seem to be of a hive mind, it's like watching sport with ants in a way and there's just a lot of blandness that occurs for the majority of the match. GWS is great, it's like 12 people, a dude named Cletus and a dog, you can have an entire bay to yourself and no one cracks the shits if you stand up for a quarter because plastic seats are bloody uncomfortable sometimes. XD

Can't stand the fan base of any team when they're up (and i'm sure the same is said about Saints fans when we're going well), but Richmond have to be up there in terms of the arrogance to success ratio. They will celebrate whatever minimal success they've had in recent times with the most smarmy and conceited attitude i've seen. After one of the recent Tigers/Saints game I went to, their fans were absolutely giving it to Saints fans as they were leaving after the siren.

Yeah, good job, assholes.. you beat one of the bottom teams..

I can attest to this, younger sister supports the Tigers, myself and one of her friends support the Saints, she is the sort that as soon as Richmond upset anything related to the Saints, it's like a switch is flicked and for that week you will not hear the end of it, but as soon as roles are reversed, or an equal sense is felt, it is as if the universe has imploded and it no longer exists for comment.

They are praying mantis', rarely you will see them and they will badarse enough to have a martial art form named after them, then you'll go away and note it down and suddenly there'll be a leg sticking out of the mouth of one of them, and it'll look at you like it's totally normal for it to have just looked longingly at the club filled with love and adoration and then brutally murdered it by cannibalism.

I am convinced that in the previous AFL world, in a parallel universe, there is the Brisbane Tigers running around, because Fitzroy was saved and instead the Tigers fans went "good, let it die, that'll show them!".

Nothing beats the mob of rabid Hawks supporters from a game at Etihad in 2008 or 2009. They were telling me "look at the scoreboard ****-wit, & just shut up, you're getting smashed".... 14 minutes into the 1st quarter....

Needless to say, when the final siren went & we'd won, I told them in no uncertain terms that they should "look at the ****ing scoreboard you dopey bunch of see-you-next-tuesdays"

Yeah I agree tigers supporters are terrible from my experience. I go to a few games because a mate of mine follows them, and it's really astonishing viewing from a neutral perspective. I've seen:

A fan with his back to the play all match (talking to his friends beforehand) screaming and ranting about how bad the umpires were in the second quarter and how it had cost them the points. This was the start of the fourth quarter and they were down by 10 points

fans abusing other tiger fans for leaving with a few minutes left (this was last weekend). They turn on their own like no other side I've seen

And worst of all racism. Group of dickheads were getting stuck into goodes one day. Talk of bananas and monkey noises and all that rubbish. We told security and had a go at them to no avail. Immediately the match about 8 of them tried to start a fight with my swans supporting mate at which point security finally intervened, but even then they simply surrounded them and got us to leave whilst forcing them to wait. Effectively splitting and defusing the situation but I was annoyed they didn't cop anything worse in terms of punishment for their form all night.

Oh last year round one a Melbourne supporter wasn't happy with my vocal ways. I get vocal but draw the line at swearing etc. Anyway he told me twice during the game he hoped I got hit by a truck on the way home and kept flipping me the bird. I was drunk so I didn't care. He tried to fight me when I asked where he was going as he started to leave with a few minutes left. Laughed at him and said if you're gonna say what you have all match then struggle to cop what I've just said then you've got issues before walking off.

I was also at the Essendon and hawthorn game when buddy kicked those two ridiculous goals. One bloke broke a seat as the second went through and wanted to fight everyone.

But it's every team really. Saw a saints supporter trying to fight a cats supporter after the 09 grand final outside the ground. Cats bloke wasn't having any of it though and walked off.

Though now that I think about it something strange has happened just about every Carlton game I've been to as well. Just really things that would rarely happen nothing that leaves a poor taste in your mouth. For example randomly sat next to Impey's mother as he made his debut last year. At least I think it was him. It was someone's mum anyway.

Best experience with opposition fans though recently would be the freo game last year. I was sorta in their cheer squad and didn't relent for a lot of the day. They all had a laugh and even had a bit of back and forth with a few of the younger kids there (called me an idiot!)

Reading that it seems like I'm a magnet for this sort of stuff but I'm really not I swear!