General AFL Thread

Big Bust billionairre Boyd is an inflexible poor mans Hawlkins.

Bulldogs have shown how not to trade 1.e when the club is in full on panic mode.

Club was imploding, captain walks, coachs resigns, Brownlow medallist walks.

Panic stricken pays a million a year for an untried unco running on rails 19 year old and also pays 400k of their ex captains salary.

This will stuff them for sasons to come.

Haven't seen any flog Bulldog supporters over here lately - wonder why?
Totally agree, let's judge a kid who's barely played 20 games.
Can't believe how much their club is imploding, all the way to the finals

Darcy, the former Bulldog and now a caller on Triple M and Channel Seven, said during his call that the clash was a "PR and television disaster".

"It's quite an eerie feeling here tonight," he said. The Blues have now lost all six of their matches in the marquee timeslot this season, and may yet have another in round 23 against the Hawks.

And they beat us!
And they've had six Friday night games.
And we play Sunday games, we own the time slot.
140 years of Blues hell.
The silly thing is they might get another. R23.

Boyd spudding it up in the 2's apparently.

That's a shame:D

Hopefully the Doggies bag that big sook Carlisle on a huge contract as well ensuring their list management strategy is destroyed for the next 7 years.
Spencer White has a better goals to game ratio than Boyd. :p:p:p
Giving Body that massive contract was just bloody stupid. The guy only dominated simply because he was bigger than everyone else in the U/18 champs/TAC cup. And he was lucky to get that Rising Star nom against the Lions as well, 3 of his goals came from soft free kicks. There is really nothing much special about the guy. He's just a big unit.

Spencer White has a better goals to game ratio than Boyd. :p:p:p
Giving Body that massive contract was just bloody stupid. The guy only dominated simply because he was bigger than everyone else in the U/18 champs/TAC cup. And he was lucky to get that Rising Star nom against the Lions as well, 3 of his goals came from soft free kicks. There is really nothing much special about the guy. He's just a big unit.
Probably not the right thread but how many times did you watch him prior to the draft? Boyd was arguably the most dominant U18 player in the last 10 years, he was quick, agile, awesome kick and awesome hands which is everything you ask of a KPF. Sure he hasn't performed very well yet at AFL level but give the guy a break.

Bang on. Was incredible as a junior and will be a very good player.

He's a kid for gods sake.

Bang on. Was incredible as a junior and will be a very good player.

He's a kid for gods sake.

I've been saying since he was drafted he projects to be a Brad Ottens type that needs to play minutes in the ruck. This post from a dogs supporter backs that up.

Boyd has no idea how to patrol a forward line, is a much better player in the ruck currently, there are warning signs the innate footy brain all top forwards have may be missing, but will keep faith for now. No explosiveness in him at all, something for the fitness staff to get a handle on over pre-season.

No. Stuff him. Couldn't care less what he did at underage level.

He took the massive cash, he can take the bad as well as the good.

Plenty of players look good against kids, but sook it up when playing men, Boyd is not impressive and hs shown he has poor character.

I hope he fails dismally. Showing promise so far

I've been saying since he was drafted he projects to be a Brad Ottens type that needs to play minutes in the ruck. This post from a dogs supporter backs that up.

Some worried Bulldog supporters on their forum about Big Bust Boyd.

Some playing the usual victim mentality. AFL picking on Boyd with the ommitted headline. Like a bloke on a million a year getting dropped isn't newss.

He's not the forward a lot of people think he is and think he will be. He's too robotic and lacks agility. Will still be a good player but not the dominant key forward the dogs recruited him for.

For an egotistical bloke (kid, whatever) to demand that type of contract to move clubs he deserves all the criticism he gets.

Looks a Jack Watts to me. Doesn't like contact.

I'm enjoying the schadenfraude too but we were happy to pay big money too but he chose them. He was outstanding as junior and looked the package. Even Joe Daniher is starting to improve and he looked like a super spud and still does at times. I remember watching Tippet and Tex playing early on and they looked like the biggest pair of spuds ever. Big guys take time and enjoying watching others squirm can come back to bite you.

really tough period coming for the blues. i dont think they can cut too deep this year

if i was them i'd be looking for a mix of trading out for picks and player swaps

yarran to the highest bidder
simpson do the right thing by him and deliver him to a finals side
warnock player swap/highest bidder

their biggest issue though is their list age is very even but its full of barely VFL quality talent. what a cluster **** of epic proportions. finals like list demographic in age but absolutely shizen in quality
I said something similar to this last year on here and a saints supporter on here slammed me for it. I'll have to find it. How do I find old posts?

He's not the forward a lot of people think he is and think he will be. He's too robotic and lacks agility. Will still be a good player but not the dominant key forward the dogs recruited him for.

For an egotistical bloke (kid, whatever) to demand that type of contract to move clubs he deserves all the criticism he gets.

Looks a Jack Watts to me. Doesn't like contact.
He laid 6 tackles today during the vfl today and threw hes weight around in the ruck
got into a fight as well against coburg

He laid 6 tackles today during the vfl today and threw hes weight around in the ruck
got into a fight as well against coburg
Wow, way to go against the team that is 13th in a 15 team competition. Here's hoping he shows that same blistering prowess when up against the Dolphins... oh wait, you don't get to play them or North Ballarat for the rest of the year.

Oh well, there's always next season...