General AFL Thread

yeah we definitely dodged a bullet. I was one of those guys crying when we didnt take him. But i wonder. If the club ever genuinely were gona take him over Paddy.

My understanding is this -

Most of 2014 we were taking McCartin. This was public and Finey ranted and raved about it like it was gospel.

As we got close to the end of the year trade rumors started heating up and the Giants were super keen on Petracca.

When ORourke and Jaksch become openly available around August the message changes from "McCartin" to "Best Available". This is seen to be Petracca.

The club feeds out info that we will indeed take Petracca at #1 unless offered a massive deal. GWS look set to land a second top 10 pick to go with #3.

Melbourne is given a compo pick at #3 for Frawley leaving. We believe they will take McCartin and Brayshaw should Petracca go #1. GWS is pushed to pick #4.

GWS make their move and get #7 for Jaksch, Whiley and #19.

The offer of #4 and #7 for #1 comes in but we can no longer be sure that McCartin (our intended target) will slide and the deal falls through.

We then put out media ackowledging the hype for Petracca but reminding fans that we are building for the future and that gun mids come through more often than gun forwards. The fan base and footy public are being conditioned to expect McCartin.

Draft night comes and we select Patty McCartin #1, as intended the entire time.

TL;DR - We always planned on getting McCartin. The Petracca talk was just hype to try and get the best possible deal for #1.

My understanding is this -

Most of 2014 we were taking McCartin. This was public and Finey ranted and raved about it like it was gospel.

As we got close to the end of the year trade rumors started heating up and the Giants were super keen on Petracca.

When ORourke and Jaksch become openly available around August the message changes from "McCartin" to "Best Available". This is seen to be Petracca.

The club feeds out info that we will indeed take Petracca at #1 unless offered a massive deal. GWS look set to land a second top 10 pick to go with #3.

Melbourne is given a compo pick at #3 for Frawley leaving. We believe they will take McCartin and Brayshaw should Petracca go #1. GWS is pushed to pick #4.

GWS make their move and get #7 for Jaksch, Whiley and #19.

The offer of #4 and #7 for #1 comes in but we can no longer be sure that McCartin (our intended target) will slide and the deal falls through.

We then put out media ackowledging the hype for Petracca but reminding fans that we are building for the future and that gun mids come through more often than gun forwards. The fan base and footy public are being conditioned to expect McCartin.

Draft night comes and we select Patty McCartin #1, as intended the entire time.

TL;DR - We always planned on getting McCartin. The Petracca talk was just hype to try and get the best possible deal for #1.

Paddy McCartin

Number of letters in Paddy: 5
Numbr of letters in McCartin: 8

8 - 5 = 3

There are 3 points on a triangle.

How many lower letters in Paddy McCartin? 1

There is 1 eye of the Illuminati.

Illuminati Confirmed!!!11!1!

That whole offseason will go down in history for Carlton.

They will always wonder "what if?"

What if we held onto pick 3 and Kennedy?

What if we took Cotchin at #1 and held onto Jacobs?

What if we traded Fev then instead?

So, what do we think of Carlton's chances this year? Anyone thing they're in the race for the spoon?

I'd be staggered if they win the spoon unless the wheels just completely fall off. I find it ridiculous that they have gotten clearly the 2nd most votes in the wooden spoon poll here: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2015-wooden-spoon-predictions.1085973/ when their list is so much stronger for this year than those of the likes of us, WB and Melbourne.

Malthouse has a history of getting the best out of not much and he has more than enough to work with at Carlton this year to not get close to the spoon unless they have a diabolical injury run. Losing Kreuzer for a decent period is not a good start though.

It's BigFooty group-think I reckon. Last year at this time 9 out of every 10 on BF were tipping Brisbane to come last and I was just as sure then that they wouldn't come last in 2014 as I am about Carlton this year.

If Carlton didn't come last last year, when they had something like 22 offseason surgeries and not enough on the training track to even have proper training sessions, I think it's a lot less likely this year. Mick will also have more of the sort of team and characters that he wants.

Their list is in no-man's land though and going no-where, unless they land a very, very big fish or two in the next couple of years (as in a Jeremy Cameron or Dangerfield or two). They are trying to rebuild without bottoming out like we were a couple of years ago.

It's BigFooty group-think. Last year at this time 9 out of every 10 on BF were tipping Brisbane to come last and I was just as sure then that they wouldn't come last in 2014 as I am about Carlton this year.

If Carlton didn't come last last year, when they had something like 22 offseason surgeries and not enough on the training track to even have proper training sessions, I think it's a lot less likely this year. Mick will also have more of the sort of team and characters that he wants.

Their list is in no-man's land though and going no-where, unless they land a very, very big fish or two in the next couple of years (as in a Jeremy Cameron or Dangerfield or two). They are trying to rebuild without bottoming out like we were a couple of years ago.

Maybe I am a little biased because it is Carlton, but I genuinely do rate them a chance for the spoon. More so, because other teams around them have the potential to be much better. We should still be strong favourite for the spoon, but if we had a decent run with injuries with some of our older players we will be so much better than last year. Melbourne should improve significantly in their 2nd year under Roos, and the Dogs have a very favourable draw and can expect natural improvement from a lot their emerging kids. Carlton have not bought anybody in that is going to make a real difference to their list this year.

Let's also not forget that Carlton's does genuinely suck. Their better players are not going to get much better, and they have limited kids coming through to be excited about (Menzel aside). Their forward line is the worst in the comp and swapping Waite for Liam Jones ain't going to change that. Their backline is just average. Some nice rebound options with Yarran, Simpson & Touhy, but they are real easy to score against. The whole team is full of one way runners. Their midfield is still superior to the teams around them, I will give them that. That is all I will give them, as it is their only strength. Another bad run with injuries (particularly to the midfield) and they are right in contention to finish dead last.

Sure, if they got a heap of significant injuries then they could come last, but I think the big difference for them this year is that Henderson is going to play forward (where he is pretty good- he would walk straight into our forward line, WB's and Melbourne's as well) and I wouldn't be surprised if Walker did as well, after he kicked 50 goals there a few years ago. Menzel in his 3rd year could explode in a Wingard type way and Casboult can seriously clunk a footy. If those 4 play there and play well, that is a serviceable forward line. Jaksch another option. Clem Smith may be ready to come straight in and be a wrecking ball up there if he's gotten fit.

Down back Rowe has done well at FB and/or CHB and with Jamison they are a pretty decent double-act, with Jaksch (who is already back in full training) another potentially decent option. I hear that Daisy Thomas has had a full preseason, so he could add to their run off HB, potentially freeing Yarran up to either play wing or even forward, otherwise, a closer to full fitness Daisy could join the likes of Judd (who sounds like he's got his mojo back, not to mention his first full preseason in years under his belt), Murphy and Gibbs in their midfield. They do look to be lacking depth in their midfield, but if Judd, Murphy, Gibbs and Thomas/Yarran stay fit for most of the year, they ought to go OK, especially if Cripps and/or Whiley are able to add the size and grunt in there that they are hoping they will, to free up the likes of Murphy.

Their list is ordinary overall, but they should be able to avoid the spoon this year, if their form in the 2nd half of last year is any indication.

Carlton aren't far away from a spoon. They are a big chance to finish bottom 3 especially if GWS and Melb improve as they should. The Dogs will go backwards losing experience last off season IMO.

Oh, and I realised this about Petracca. Generally with an ACL, you have the whole first year out, but rarely do players fire very much in their next year out. That'll mean he'll be two years in before he's back to his best...

... and he's got a two year contract, and it was strongly rumoured that he wanted to leave as soon as his contract expired.

Melbourne could well have just spent their pick 2 on a guy they barely even see play.

Honestly, they are the most unlucky team of this century.

Oh, and I realised this about Petracca. Generally with an ACL, you have the whole first year out, but rarely do players fire very much in their next year out. That'll mean he'll be two years in before he's back to his best...

... and he's got a two year contract, and it was strongly rumoured that he wanted to leave as soon as his contract expired.

Melbourne could well have just spent their pick 2 on a guy they barely even see play.

Honestly, they are the most unlucky team of this century.

From a family friend Petracca is absolutely loving the dees especially with his close mate Angus Brayshaw.

no issues there. Justa very unlucky footballer atm.

I rate Carlton's last season like our 2012. Some good games beating tough competition but then failing against poor teams. This year will be bottom 4 followed by a bottoming out for the spoon. Unlike us though they are doubtfully going to accept they are and continue to top up rather then hit the bottom simply due to inexperience.

Fair assessment. Boekhurst is our tom lee