General AFL Thread

hahaha I couldn't care less I'm going to saints vs swans in a few weeks and booing the crap out of him.

Goodes need to suck it up and be a team player, because if I'm booing Goodes then someone like buddy doesn't get any fan hate at games or any thee swans player.

I for one hope you are the only one mate, and I hope you feel like a clown.

I don't at all think that all people boo him because they are racist (although quite a few would be) just like I don't believe people really boo him because he is dirty.

People seem to be booing him because it's having an effect on him. To be honest I don't care why people boo him, but of it continues it will be shameful. It's gone on too far as it is and becoming an embarrassment to the game.

In looking forward to the Geelong game as their supporters are usually respectful and I think he will be respected.

I hope Saints fans show a little respect too. Standing behind a fence booing doesn't make you a man, and if I'm standing next to you when you boo I'll make sure I tell you how I feel. Grow up.

The more I think about it the more I think about the next wave of fans too.

Whatever your personal reasons for booing Goodes, I can't help but think kids are doing it too. Why? Because their Dad is.
A 5 year old isn't going to understand the reasons (valid or otherwise), they just see a black guy on the footy field getting booed, and that's the cool thing to do.

I don't have the time to properly respond to Strahany , Simple Jack , StFly . But I will say that I disagree with everything you have said and you have all shown a significant lack of knowledge around the issue of social structure and how it relates to racism (amongst other things). Your points are mostly weak, sometimes illogical and often without substance. I suggest you educate yourselves on these topics and do some deep critical thinking about how and why you hold these positions.

All you are doing is adding to the smokescreen of bullshit that racists and idiots hide behind.

Is it not hypocritical to make such a claim despite contributing no such knowledge to the discussion, yourself, beyond stating your opinion?

If you would like to discuss social behaviour theory surrounding this topic, then by all means do so and I will respond in kind. As it stands, no amount of appealing to Social Identity Theory, False Attribution Theory, or whatever you wish that pertains to racism in society circumvents the issue of Goodes being unnecessarily offensive in the propagation of his cause.

I for one hope you are the only one mate, and I hope you feel like a clown.

I don't at all think that all people boo him because they are racist (although quite a few would be) just like I don't believe people really boo him because he is dirty.

People seem to be booing him because it's having an effect on him. To be honest I don't care why people boo him, but of it continues it will be shameful. It's gone on too far as it is and becoming an embarrassment to the game.

In looking forward to the Geelong game as their supporters are usually respectful and I think he will be respected.

I hope Saints fans show a little respect too. Standing behind a fence booing doesn't make you a man, and if I'm standing next to you when you boo I'll make sure I tell you how I feel. Grow up.
I boo all flogs in all sports, no on gets excluded.

Also if it throws him off his game even .001% then I'll do it. It's a road game for him we shouldn't be making him feel welcome.

Also if u say anything to me for booing, then I apologise for what I say to you in adanvece in my response

So you're saying you can't be decent because the bloke standing next to you isn't being decent?
Not at all, I welcome everyone to not boo any player, in fact I think our game would be better for it. I certainly don't. But just as it is reasonable for Goodes to ask to not be booed and Milne to ask not to be called a rapist it's also unrealistic to think that a sporting crowd in a hostile environment isn't going to behave like a mob.

I'd bet none of them would boo Goodes to his face or call Milney a rapist or even call Jack Watts a soft girl in a one on one situation, but people don't behave the same in large groups. It's documented through history.

if its real...
Yeah, if it's real, but wouldn't assuming it's not because it expresses a viewpoint that is at odds with the activist orthodoxy in-and-of-itself be racist?

Let's really go down the rabbit hole... :p

I just came home to find my wife had put on a highlights package from YouTube of the 2010 Drawn GF for my kids. I arrived as Beeg took THAT Mark. I got to Milne's bounce, and explained it to my 5yo daughter, frame by frame.

Then I burst into tears. In the loo now, getting myself together.

Wife has switched the computer to show something else.

I just came home to find my wife had put on a highlights package from YouTube of the 2010 Drawn GF for my kids. I arrived as Beeg took THAT Mark. I got to Milne's bounce, and explained it to my 5yo daughter, frame by frame.

Then I burst into tears. In the loo now, getting myself together.

Wife has switched the computer to show something else.
It may have only lasted a few minutes but that mark at least gave me the feeling of what it's like to win a flag, only 6 in 1966 so didn't really mean much

Hawthorn fans have gone home! Fairweather much!
Said it before , say it again.
7 Grand Finals in a row.
Then after a couple of lean yrs nearly merged with the Dee's.
Their supporters have the resilience of a piece of wet tissue paper.

Still jealous of their success though.

Just had a look at the ladder. Will be very interesting if Adelaide manages to beat Sydney tomorrow, as it will mean that Sydney (currently 5th) haven't beaten anyone in the top 7 this year....

Edit: Just remembered they beat Hawthorn early in the season... But still