General MFC Discussion 2.0

We went from having a coach who no one ever really doubted ( even when we did it was too change his methods not change him ) back to the unknown.

Can you imagine if St Kilda pump us by 10 goals lol

We went from having a coach who no one ever really doubted ( even when we did it was too change his methods not change him ) back to the unknown.

Can you imagine if St Kilda pump us by 10 goals lol
Up until 2016 i think half of this board doubted Roosy at times

Never mind i found it, although minor there are plenty of non believers that hung around. The worst was on social media more so than here. Although gotta hand it to you Topkent in every melt thread i searched you always seemed to have faith

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/coaching-discussion-thread.1100860/

It's actually quite funny to read now

Right I must have blocked out that thread, does seem silly in hindsight lIke posting directly after a loss

I reckon after we got pumped by the Eagles at the MCG in roos second game I might have posted something but I always thought it was evident what roos was trying to achieve
Remember having a great discussion with RandB about Roos coaching, it was never really that we should get rid of him but more so whether his defensive tactics in 15 were necessary and whether we could release the shackles like we did in 16 a bit more

I can't remember the thread name, but it was something along the lines of "Get Goody in now", i think tempy tiger started it. That got a lot of replies

Here is some of the list of doubt

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/melbourne-embarrassment.1103687/

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/this-club.1108749/

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/will-there-ever-be-a-rainbow.1109666/

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/mfc-victims.1109053/
Guilty your honour.

I'm just streaming some SEN while I work from home today and everyone's mate Jon Ralph has just come on and started raving about Melbourne ... has hell frozen over this morning?
Don't mind Jon Ralph, generally has good sources and doesn't throw opinions around. Unlike Slobbo (who does both) or Barrett (Who loves his opinions)

The way I figure it, there are so many Footy Journo's if you want to make a bit of a name for yourself, you've gotta do a few things a bit unconventional, be that controversial etc ... don't mind most, except for Barrett.

Meanwhile, is Ralph a Dees man? was just gushing about Joel Smith as well ... didn't think anyone had heard of him other than the tragic's

The way I figure it, there are so many Footy Journo's if you want to make a bit of a name for yourself, you've gotta do a few things a bit unconventional, be that controversial etc ... don't mind most, except for Barrett.

Meanwhile, is Ralph a Dees man? was just gushing about Joel Smith as well ... didn't think anyone had heard of him other than the tragic's
Not sure he does follow us, i mean it sorta sounds like it but i wouldn't take the Joel Smith thing as a sign, this was the same man that suggested omac was ahead of Dunn round 1 last year, so he follows us closely and knows the team and club.

But he's reported on us for quite sometime, maybe he's gotten a little attached seeing where we've come from?

Does sound like he's a dees fan though, either that or a damn good reporter

Jon Ralph so far this year has said that Carlton will have the most hyped young forward line in the AFL by seasons end and then the next day said the Saints have the most dynamic forward line in the AFL
Now they could both be true but he hasn't been shy being nice this year on radio

Nah he is a super keen Richmond fan.

What did he say about Melbourne?

Jon Ralph so far this year has said that Carlton will have the most hyped young forward line in the AFL by seasons end

Eh?

JONES%20%20Liam.png

Nah he is a super keen Richmond fan.

What did he say about Melbourne?
He'd just come from a Richmond intraclub, and KB asked him how the next AFL Premiers were looking. Went into a bit of detail about them actually looking pretty good (Riewoldt chained to the goal square, attacking from half back rather than chipping it around etc) but then said something to the effect of while they looked good, they couldn't be the actual Premiers, because he'd seen them earlier in Melbourne. Singled out Lewis, Oliver and Gawn.

All jokes aside, I have wondered why they have never tried him a backman.

He is a shit AFL footballer. But he hits a contest hard and is ok in there air. He just can't read the play. So why not have him as a KPD where he can follow a man?

I'm just streaming some SEN while I work from home today and everyone's mate Jon Ralph has just come on and started raving about Melbourne ... has hell frozen over this morning?
Yeah raved about us.
Did say that Brashaw seems to have pulled his head in and addressed his work rate issue.
Surely Gus's issues were injury and concussion, I didn't realise he was lazy...
One of those laconic looking footballers IMO but doesn't mean he's not working.

Yeah raved about us.
Did say that Brashaw seems to have pulled his head in and addressed his work rate issue.
Surely Gus's issues were injury and concussion, I didn't realise he was lazy...
One of those laconic looking footballers IMO but doesn't mean he's not working.
Yeah, going off what I'd heard from Gus' training habits, those particular comments were well off base. Surely just forgot he'd spent all year last year with one injury or another.

Jon Ralph so far this year has said that Carlton will have the most hyped young forward line in the AFL by seasons end and then the next day said the Saints have the most dynamic forward line in the AFL
Now they could both be true but he hasn't been shy being nice this year on radio
Quite unlikely I would have thought that Carlton could have the most hyped young forward line by seasons end. They had the worst forward line last year IMO and I think he's putting too much expectation on players who are only coming into their second years such as C Curnow, McKay, Silvagni and possibly Weitering who may spend more time up forward. It could be the most hyped young forward line in the next 2-3 years but saying it will be this year is really jumping the gun I reckon.

His call on the Saints though isn't far off the mark I think. Off the top of my head, Adelaide and Hawthorn would be the only other teams I'd have ahead of the Saints in terms of how dynamic their respective forward lines are.