Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Id give the AFL far more credit than Neeld if you want to find an unlikely hero, if they didnt step in appoint Jackson ive got no doubt we would have screwed up the next coaching search also if left to our own devices.
Of course, the AFL ran the show, for a couple of seasons. And they set the club on an even keel. they deserve big Raps.

Neeld, only small raps, as he was here for a minuscule time. But the damage was a strong benefit to our longer run at becoming a powerful club again, at footy level anyway.

Roos is the one that settled the playing list, even the Dawes and Rodans of the AFL, had their part to play.

Roosy got the players heads back into footy, and set about us learning how to win again. This would not have happened if the old list leadership was still there.
3 years just would not have been long enough to make the changes onfield, that happened under Roosy.

James Hird was another.

was the 97 offseason this one, when Danny Corcoran came over from Essendon, we also had Peter Matera confirm he was coming only to back out at the last second, funny part of it all was i think we got in shit for rorting the cap at the end of the season, **** knows how we were going to pay Hird and Matera also. hahaha.

I do remember Lockett rumours tbf.
Yep, it was both of them. bookends. I didn't want to tear the heart out of the Saints.. you can imagine.
But we didn't know how bad Templetons knees/hips were.

And in another hindsight, Cloke would have been better value than Moore.

But there ya go. We must have got no more than 3 seasons from each of Templeton and from Moore.

Well, if you are who Proper Gander says you are , you are Dr Whoooooooo, last time seen on big footy was an ex MFC now GWS fan, but you would already know that so I dont know why im explaining it to you. :tearsofjoy:
Look up Glek if you want to see what Dr Whooooooooooo is up to these days.

I cant remember when it was, I just remember hearing we offered him a shit tone of money.
Who didn't? That's not inside knowledge. He had a foot in the door at Richmond and the AFL vetoed it. That's like me saying I had inside knowledge we went for Judd

I thought you were saying we never tried to get him? Anyway, I agree its not inside knowledge, coz I knew about it.

Cant find any reports on Hird, maybe that one was more a far fetched idea that never got off the ground, but I do remember a report on Sports Tonight back in the day with Corcoran saying he was working on Hird, as for Matera, shattering. We could have won the flag in 98 with him...

The most controversial moment of Peter Matera's career came in late 1997 when he shocked the football world by declaring his intentions to leave the West Coast Eagles and join the Melbourne Football Club via the pre-season draft for the 1998 season. Citing a desire to play more at the MCG, Matera's announcement triggered major public outcry in Western Australia and saw many of his longtime Eagles teammates, including captain John Worsfold visit Matera's home (which was staked out by the media). Days after news of Matera's defection broke, he did a back flip, agreeing to stay on at the West Coast Eagles. While he remained in the blue and gold for the rest of his career, many believed his form slump in 1998 was a result of the extreme pressure he was placed under as a result of his decision to originally leave the club.

I thought you were saying we never tried to get him? Anyway, I agree its not inside knowledge, coz I knew about it.
I'm sure even in just a meeting we tried to get every great player in the 80s. Just not sure it's this huge smoking gun old mate thinks it is. Like when Buddy left hawthorn you reckon we didn't even ring his manager.

He hasn't given a year or any context just we could have had Moore and Templeton or Lockett and Frawley like come on.

I'm sure even in just a meeting we tried to get every great player in the 80s. Just not sure it's this huge smoking gun old mate thinks it is. Like when Buddy left hawthorn you reckon we didn't even ring his manager.

He hasn't given a year or any context just we could have had Moore and Templeton or Lockett and Frawley like come on.

I don't think we'd have had the gall to contact Buddy's management to ask for an interview , would have got something like...

spiderman GIF

It is, isn't it. And didn't fritz have something to prove in that finals series, last season.

Every time he kicked another goal in the Granny, all players came up to celebrate, and they all did more than that, that had sentences of encouragement in his ear, which brought smiles from fritta's face.

More than the plain celebrating, with other goal kickers.

IMV, fritta could have gone either way come finals time; as his confidence was shallow. So I decided to give him some needle, to which he would have heard of along the grapevine.

This I hoped woukld give him some weeks before Finals, to consider the worst scenario and to steel himself against that worst scenario. rather than just finding himself there, and wham.
Maybe against Geelong, or maybe against the Lions. One of them would have tried to sort him out. But he had a great finals series, hitting top form prior to finals. Kicking 7 goals in Rnd 22 against the Crows. Only weeks after the needle.

Against the Cats he fared a bit worse, but managed 1 goal, and a 2 goal haul in the finals.

So glad you gave Fritz some needle to get him over his shallow confidence pre-finals. Where would we have been without your incredible online barbs to inspire the troops!?

Too true dr.

A little pep pill, one prick, and it's done. there ya go. You'll feel better by morning son.

I don't think we'd have had the gall to contact Buddy's management to ask for an interview , would have got something like...

spiderman GIF
I reckon we atleast would have called and said we have 1.2 million a year if he's interested. You'd have too. Not like we were paying anyone else.

Knackerbag, well i haven't heard that one in a while.

Wattsy. You've forgotten when Roosy didn't want to drop him, the season prior, until late in the season, and the next season he was chopped, after not being in fit shape.

Roosy had him stamped in 2016. Goody gave him another chance. just one.

Well inside knowledge, hmmn. lets see. we could have had Templeton, and Moore, or David Cloke, Or Lockett and Frawley.
Did you know about that one?
Didn't Roos come out publicly and say if he was still coach that Watts wouldn't be traded?