Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

Lol, ridiculous. It's a promo vid the media team made to try and build hope amongst the supporter base. Don't take it so seriously. it's not like Goodwin edited this together on the plane ride home.
It's MFC, happy with any old feel-good BS. Why do we need to build hope all the time? Why don't we just work on winning more? That would build more hope than all these puff pieces. And yes, Goodwin knew the camera was on him, he knew it would be released as another instalment in our "hope-video series". He's managing his own image at the same time so people will be less critical of his performance. If you're happy with this kind of media, you're exactly the type of low-expectation person it's made to keep happy.

Ok. Let's tell the media team to focus on winning more games, tell the merch department too, and while we're at it let the membership guys know. I honestly don't care that these videos exist, they are two minutes of highlight reels and some change room rev ups.

****, Goody can't catch a break can he. Cops shit for being a personality vacuum. Club releases some videos of him showing some passion and suddenly he's way too focused on his own image. Give me a spell.

I would like to compliment you on some epically sharp photoshop work in your avatar there
yeah, im a bit of an expert. people pay me for these pieces of art.

Ok. Let's tell the media team to focus on winning more games, tell the merch department too, and while we're at it let the membership guys know. I honestly don't care that these videos exist, they are two minutes of highlight reels and some change room rev ups.

fu**, Goody can't catch a break can he. Cops sh*t for being a personality vacuum. Club releases some videos of him showing some passion and suddenly he's way too focused on his own image. Give me a spell.
I'm pretty sure you're overreacting more than I am. Just let people have their opinion.

LOL. This is a forum mate, I'm allowed to disagree with you.

I don’t understand why we picked ANB or why he’s still on the list. We’ve literally never played him in the midfield after he was touted as a possible top 20 pick as a junior midfielder (but for some reason always dominates there in the VFL), and his skills are below average. Likeable bloke, love his pressure, but he’s so inconsistent as a forward because he has NFI idea where to run when the ball is in dispute. If he goes to another club and somehow becomes an inside mid with a point of difference to ours I’m going to spew. God I wish we’d taken Daniel with that pick or even Lonie if we wanted someone to play forward so I didn’t have to think about ANB. Why take three inside mids in one draft when you already have Viney, Tyson and Jones in his prime? The MFC way started early.

anyway, on that, Sparrow already looks better out of position than ANB already has so that’s nice
I can't remember which season it was (2016?) but ANB played about 5 games in the midfield & actually looked decent but he's got no chance of playing there now given Brayshaw struggles for time.

It’s weird because I think he’d be our best two way runner in there immediately and he’d do a better job of holding his width, plus he’s genuinely quick. But obviously is a huge step down. I’m sure he wonders what his career would have looked like if he’d been drafted to a club where he played full inside mid minutes from the start

Reality is, he doesn't have the physical strength to be a consistent inside midfielder.

It's pretty common that good young players are found out at AFL level as they don't have the physical tools needed to succeed in the role they were best at as a junior.

Reality is, he doesn't have the physical strength to be a consistent inside midfielder.

It's pretty common that good young players are found out at AFL level as they don't have the physical tools needed to succeed in the role they were best at as a junior.
I can’t say I remember him playing in the midfield so can’t comment on that, but makes sense. Came 5th in the Liston award in his second year in the VFL which is pretty impressive, reckon it would have been his speed and endurance which set him apart at that level so he could bridge the relatively smaller strength gap.

ANB has really been stiffed this year. Short quarters means his biggest strength has been essentially nullified (his gut running). For a smaller half forward he has no real weapons outside of his endurance. Disposal is hit and miss. Not overly strong overhead and isn't explosive at all, just has a good cruising speed.

Played R1 and was pretty good, but dropped. Comes back in then gets done for 4 weeks for a tackle that wasn't that bad really. I kinda feel for him but I also hate him as a player. Is just too fumbly and weak to play a position that requires you to make the most of limited opportunities. Failed to get his arms free for a releasing handball a few times against Adelaide when we were out.

We are much better with Kozzie/Hannan/Spargo/Bennell with no calves in the team. He's a classic depth player, though. Knows what is required of him and will put on a heap of pressure. Another team will probably come sniffing at the end of the year and he'd be mad no to go if offered a decent contract.

Love when he does the mouth thing though

Sparrow is 6 years younger than Viney, definitely makes sense to continue blooding him as much as possible.

The only problem with this is that in 6 years when he is at his peak there will be someone 6 years younger that we are pushing him out for. Viney is at his peak, play him when he is fit, Sparrow can either play better than him now or wait until injury gives him a go

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t play Viney. I’m saying that it’s good to develop your younger players if they show enough talent as much as possible with senior footy within reason so that they’re ready to step up into more important roles when the senior players retire. If Sparrow goes somewhere else because we aren’t playing him in the midfield at least some of the time and then he’s a star in his prime when Viney, Trac, Brayshaw and Harmes retire that’s a disaster for us. And you don’t need to have your best players at the coalface all of the time anyway.

Sparrow is 6 years younger than Viney, definitely makes sense to continue blooding him as much as possible.
Sparrow - Just even how composed he is/has been when he has the ball, to find targets and not just blaze away.
Rivers was picked up in the last draft and he's supposedly and elite kick by foot.

Anyone else listen to the Captains Run podcast with Gawn and Gus?

Legitimately good listening. They start talking about Luke Jacksons injury at 5-6 minutes and Gawn drops:

"The old David Misson four to six week injury. If it's the David Misson four to six he could play next week. He could also be out two years."