Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

The megastadiums that colleges/high schools have are a result of the huge corparatisation of US sport. It isn't Bobby and Peggy Sue selling snags at Walmart and tin rattling and the school fete that built them. Rich alumni/rich local companies build them, name the stadium after themselves, sponsor them so they can give top talent 'scholarships'.
It's not what I'd consider a great example of grass roots kinda club building.

I do see your point re MFC though. The smaller stadium would be pretty cool. Kinda sad how quick the initial AFL killed off the suburban grounds. They needed some updates but it did take away from the culture of Vic clubs.

I wasn't talking about the stadium in that regard though, I ment more that the school is the lifeblood of the whole community. School kids are more passionate than the NFL players and brings together the whole community. That whole town/city whatever you call it stops for the game. There's nothing similar in Victoria anymore.

Just think about this, there is no team that anyone cares about that is Victoria's team. The closest would be the storm and 90% of people don't give a **** about League.

AFL could do wonders bringing back the suburban grounds, financially it isn't worth it but imagine of every club say split half their games at a local ground and the G or something similar. I couldn't be more certain the AFL is gonna look back sometime soon and realise they killed the intangible passion and identity of footy in Victoria and left 9 organisations with different colours.

Melbourne’s 2021 AFL Fixture

Round 1 (H)

Melbourne v Fremantle
Saturday, March 20
MCG, 1:45pm on FOX Footy

Round 2 (A)
St Kilda v Melbourne
Saturday, March 27
Marvel Stadium, 7:25pm on Channel 7

Round 3 (A)
GWS GIANTS v Melbourne
Sunday, April 4
Manuka Oval, 6.10pm on FOX Footy

Round 4 (H)
Melbourne v Geelong
Sunday, April 11
MCG, 3.20pm on Channel 7

Round 5 (A)
Hawthorn v Melbourne
Sunday, April 18
MCG, 3:20pm on Channel 7

Round 6 (H)
Melbourne v Richmond
Saturday, April 24
MCG, 7.25pm on Channel 7

Round 7 (A)
North Melbourne v Melbourne
Blundstone Arena

Round 8 (H)
Melbourne v Sydney
MCG

Round 9 (H)
Melbourne v Carlton
MCG

Round 10 (A)
Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 11 (A)
Western Bulldogs v Melbourne
Marvel Stadium

Round 12 (H)
Melbourne v Brisbane
TIO Traeger Park

Round 13 (H)
Melbourne v Collingwood
MCG

Round 14
BYE

Round 15 (A)
Essendon v Melbourne
MCG

Round 16 (H)
Melbourne v GWS GIANTS
MCG

Round 17 (A)
Port Adelaide v Melbourne
Adelaide Oval

Round 18 (H)
Melbourne v Hawthorn
MCG

Round 19 (A)
Gold Coast SUNS v Melbourne
Metricon Stadium

Round 20 (H)
Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
MCG

Round 21 (A)
West Coast Eagles v Melbourne
Optus Stadium

Round 22 (H)
Melbourne v Adelaide
MCG

Round 23 (A)
Geelong v Melbourne
GMHBA Stadium

We play Geelong, Bulldogs, GWS, Adelaide & Hawthorn twice - happy with that

Don't see us losing a game until Round 17 tbh. :moustache:

Though it's at the mcg I find it strange that we only ever cop Essendon once a year as an away match in the last 10 season's. A few games have been at etihad and that round 3 game 2019 is the only one on top of my head we've been the home team.

Merry Christmas everyone! Hope you all have a great day and get some good presents. The best present would be for us to be good in 2021, but we all know that's not gonna happen.

Completely disagree, the American sports atleast have ties to their respective city's.
The Oakland, LA, Oakland I mean Las Vegas Raiders say hi.

Hey, get your own material!
Lol, didn’t see that, just responded to the post. But yours only had 3 moves mine had 4. :cool:

It breaks my heart 💔 I hate the OKC with a dying passion. So glad they never won sh*t with Durrant, Harden and Westbrook. They will never be a rebranded Sonics to me. I hate the NBA because of it.

The Glove to the Reignman 4 Eva. :(

One of the best independent sports docos going round imo, a look at the dirty backdoor deals and lies that go on in the NBA (and politics/city councils) , from heartbroken fan's perspective. Really good watch for anyone who hasn't seen it.

Good doco, was just going to watch a few minutes ended up the whole thing. I don't really care for American sports but found myself sucked in. I always found it odd that a city like Seattle could lose an NBA team and quite an iconic team, I never thought to look into it just accept I that's the sporting landscape over in the states any team can just get bought and sold. Didn't realise there was so much against them poor old supersonics had no chance. I know it's completely different but it reminded me of Fitzroy, I hear Fitzroy's decline began when they had to move from Brunswick street oval in the 60s. Anyway I don't think a state of the art facilities for Seattle would have saved them regardless.

Yea, the state of the art facility was just a get out excuse. I hate Clay Bennett with a burning passion, from day dot he planned on moving them to OKC.
That not excuse the Seattle city council who happily excepted his money to leave early.

The whole situation makes it impossible for me to like the nba like I once did. Very sad. Used to love it.

Yea, the state of the art facility was just a get out excuse. I hate Clay Bennett with a burning passion, from day dot he planned on moving them to OKC.
That not excuse the Seattle city council who happily excepted his money to leave early.

The whole situation makes it impossible for me to like the nba like I once did. Very sad. Used to love it.
Yeah that must be the most heartbreaking thing for the fans that the council who they thought had their back just sold out in the end including their history. OKC don't remotely resemble the sonics one iota. It's identity theft without the identity.

There was a video on youtube that went through the origins of the NFL , there seemed not much loyalty to the cities , but to the Knick names , "IE" Brooklyn Dodgers to be the L.A.Dodgers etc.(yeah baseball but you get the drift) The loyalty seems to be to the college system , rather than the franchise setup that prevails in USA professional sport .
They really love their marching bands in yankee land too .
We tried private ownership here , didn't work . The kangas went on the stock market and i think the Blues tried to buy them out to get Carey and Longmire.
The Swans went even worse , although rooting the bosses wife may of been a plus for some of them.
I like our membership based control of clubs , they need us , even if they think they can bullshit us.
To the club i say this , making finals is the bare minimum , anything less and you will answer to the members . To the players , no more excuses . Play like it really means something , play like losing is not an option .
Stand for something you pricks .... B4 i and many of my generation leave this reality .

There was a video on youtube that went through the origins of the NFL , there seemed not much loyalty to the cities , but to the Knick names , "IE" Brooklyn Dodgers to be the L.A.Dodgers etc.(yeah baseball but you get the drift) The loyalty seems to be to the college system , rather than the franchise setup that prevails in USA professional sport .
They really love their marching bands in yankee land too .
We tried private ownership here , didn't work . The kangas went on the stock market and i think the Blues tried to buy them out to get Carey and Longmire.
The Swans went even worse , although rooting the bosses wife may of been a plus for some of them.
I like our membership based control of clubs , they need us , even if they think they can bullshit us.
To the club i say this , making finals is the bare minimum , anything less and you will answer to the members . To the players , no more excuses . Play like it really means something , play like losing is not an option .
Stand for something you pricks .... B4 i and many of my generation leave this reality .
Was talking about this on Christmas day. We got ourselves in a situation where we got excited with Goodwin and now we are stuck. 2019 was a complete disaster I don't buy the excuse that the surgeries/poor preparation explains only 5 wins, this year was a strange year but it was strange for every team, basically should have made finals and blew it against two low ranking teams. The freo game was particularly disgusting Goodwin completely out coached by Longmuir who is a first year as a senior coach. Missing three years of finals after finally making it once isn't acceptable.

This is a completely random and probably stupid thought but I'll post it anyway. Is it just me or do we cop the most criticism from the media? I just feel like we're in the news all the time highlighting every possible weakness and disappointment and making it seem like we're incapable of any success. Whereas St Kilda have been complete trash for years but they have a good year like us in 2018 and they're the best team in the comp, all positives there Ratten best coach ever, supreme draft and trades. I'm probably wrong but it just seems that way to me.

Our lows have been truly dreadful so not entirely undeserved. People were talking us up big in '18 as a flag smokey then as genuine contenders going into 2019. Our ineptitude/the shitness that followed quickly had us back in line for pot shots (mostly deserved tbh).

We've made it a very easy narrative to spin, team that on paper is highly talented and 'should' be contending regular shots the bed had plenty of angles to talk shit about. The Saints had a very mediocre trot since 2011 but never quite fell apart as completely and spectacularly as we did in that time so we're spared.

Carlton probably deserve more flak after their Malthouse/Bolton stuff ups (+ their list management performance) and how shit they've been since they gave Ratten the arse. They're seemingly turning it around though so don't think the boots will get stuck in too much if they put together a finals contending season again.

To be fair everyone was on us after 2018, Melbourne will be top 4, premiership contenders and we backed it up with a 17th place season.

Of anything we've gotten away with being shit. Got given alot of injury excuses in 19 then completely blew it against Sydney and Freo but didn't cop half as much as we should. The hardest anyone went on us was the president

I think we copped it bad during the neeld years. Then roos came along and everyone could see the club was finally heading in the right direction (though David king was critical towards the end of 2014) 2015 and 2016 the improvement continued and so there wasn't much media attention. (St Kilda showing a similar trajectory). 2017 we looked really exciting I remember even kb early on saying we were the only Victorian team that could win it (I think he's been burnt by the tigers before). 2018 the media were really behind us. St Kilda had a pathetic 2018 but I don't remember much criticism but I think it's due to the fact they're not my team. I do think we have largely avoided criticism in the last two seasons particularly 2019. No amount of poor preseason/ injuries could explain that car crash of a season. 2020 was weird but was weird for every team so we probably got let off a bit as well. Next season will be interesting I think the media sees us as a talented list but get frustrated when we don't perform and I think we will cop heat and fairly if we don't perform. Overall I think we notice the criticism towards our team more than other clubs because it is because it's our team.

Of anything we've gotten away with being sh*t. Got given alot of injury excuses in 19 then completely blew it against Sydney and Freo but didn't cop half as much as we should. The hardest anyone went on us was the president

[emoji817] this. I reckon we’ve escaped some deserved criticism to be honest.