General Problems Thread: 2009 - 2015

I've just got a new computer (not brand new, but a used one which was better than the old piece of crap I had before it) and I can't get the speakers (which worked on the previous computer) to work on the new computer.

There is nothing wrong with the speakers themselves.

From what I understand it might be something to do with the drivers, or something. Does that sound right?

Anyway, can anyone direct me to anything that can fix this problem quick and easy. And how can I fix it so I can get sound comng through the speakers like there should be.

I've just got a new computer (not brand new, but a used one which was better than the old piece of crap I had before it) and I can't get the speakers (which worked on the previous computer) to work on the new computer.

There is nothing wrong with the speakers themselves.

From what I understand it might be something to do with the drivers, or something. Does that sound right?

Anyway, can anyone direct me to anything that can fix this problem quick and easy. And how can I fix it so I can get sound comng through the speakers like there should be.

is the souncard 2 speaker 5.1 speaker or 7.1,

1. have you tried windows update as sometimes it will find the correct driver for the speaker software.

2. try to uninstall the speaker from device manager in the control panel, reboot the pc, and when the hardware tries to install use the " find a driver for me online " option.

Can anyone help with this issue??

I logged into my hotmail tonight, and hundreds of emails were instantaneously sent from my account. Sent to my entire address book, all saying some rubbish like..." Hi, i've just discovered this great new shop, blah blah blah, check it ot on www.***...". Also when I try to send a new email or reply that same text is automatically generated. I posted this issue on the Windows Live forum, and it seems alot of people have had the same issue in the last day or so. I was hoping, as opposed to far worse motives, these pricks were just some dodgy spamming advertising mob, but i just found a lady who got sent the exact same thing (exact same wording) but for a different "shop". As a complete computer novice, this concerned as it seemed to suggest that it was not even a legit "shop", so there intentions must be more malicious? As i said, i posted this on the Windows forum, but they seem pretty useless over there, noone has even gotten back to me. Do you blokes think it's just some (very annoying) advertising rubbish, or is someone (possibly successfully) trying to do something heaps dodgier, like stealing my identity or something??

Any help greatly appreciated...

Sounds like you're infected with some type of malware. Run a malware/detection removal tool like spy bot search and destroy

Ended up running Spybot, it found 5 infections! Got rid of them, but my hotmail is still generating that bloody text every time I hit 'reply' or try to send an email.

The only form of customer/tech support Windows Live offer is a forum where you post your issue, but heaps of people have posted reporting the exact same thing and noone is answering.

Any suggestions? Even though every single person on earth that I know has only that particular email address, should I just cancel my account to be sure?

Ended up running Spybot, it found 5 infections! Got rid of them, but my hotmail is still generating that bloody text every time I hit 'reply' or try to send an email.

The only form of customer/tech support Windows Live offer is a forum where you post your issue, but heaps of people have posted reporting the exact same thing and noone is answering.

Any suggestions? Even though every single person on earth that I know has only that particular email address, should I just cancel my account to be sure?

Run spybot in safe mode, also run the immunise function of spybot.

Another thing to look at is your virus checker, does it check instant messaging & web mail? If it doesn't download avast and give that a run. It will check instant messaging like msn and will also check webmail.

I’m at the ‘hair-pulling-out’ stage and having massive problems with Windows Media Center. You’ll be able to put two and two together in reading my post that I’m no tech-geek, but I’d be immensely grateful in being pointed in the right direction by way of a fix. First up: my laptop is probably eighteen months old, a HP Pavillion dv9000 running 64-bit Vista Ultimate. My main (read only!) use for WMC is as follows:
Record programs from Foxtel IQ.
Record those programs onto my laptop in WMC via this HP ExpressCard Digital/Analog TV Tuner.
Transfer said files onto an external HD or discs.
This has worked like a charm for eighteen months. Probably half a dozen times during that period, I’d get a ‘Tuner Not Found’ error message that simply required a re-boot and it was fixed. About a fortnight ago, I ran into the problem where WMC would spit out an error message and shut itself down after only being open for 5-10 secs. A handful of fixes were tried, until a full system restore took place two nights ago. WMC now works (it plays the default clips without shutting down) – but says I have to install driver software or something similar. I’ve been to this site –
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=2100&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3340264
downloading HP Digital/Analog TV Tuner Driver Software, re-starting and hoping it would remedy the situation. Bananas.

Bumping this with a query.

I have a generic wired microsoft optical mouse with all notable drivers that I replaced with a wireless Targus AMW05US about a week and a bit ago, it worked flawlessly until last night that is.

The drivers for the Targus seem to exclude point32 that the intellipoint drivers for the wired includes, however XP also tells me that it is working fine even though I think this is odd. However, this is conflicted by the intellipoint using MS Intellipoint drivers and the Targus being identified by HID drivers where point32 might simply be an associated driver for all I know.

The receiver works fine, the mouse works fine, all lights are enabled to indicate as such, however the synchronisation is off / non responsive and upon reading that thing they call a manual and searching online the receiver, to the best of my knowledge cannot be tinkered with to figure out frequencies so it'd work properly.

My query being is there a chance that with multiple pointer drivers despite one being HID and one being Intellipoint (as they do double up on 2 shared .dlls) that they are conflicting with one another? or are there any reasons why the mouse and receiver would suddenly not talk to each other despite the system not adding any additional devices or being powered down since it was installed? (System has since been restarted to see if anything has taken effect and still nada)

Here's a stupid one.

I have typed up a report on Word but now need to get my work number, mobile number & email into a column type thing on the left hand side of each page. Don't know how to do it .. :o

Here's a stupid one.

I have typed up a report on Word but now need to get my work number, mobile number & email into a column type thing on the left hand side of each page. Don't know how to do it .. :o

Go to View then header and footer. You can put it up in there and it will repeat on each page.

I started a thread on this particular problem a while back, but didn't get much response, but hopefull I can get an answer here:

I've had my computer for about 4 years now, and while it's not the latest and greatest, it works fine, is decently fast, and gets me by. It came with a built-in LG CD/DVD Burner, and up until recently, I've never had any problems with it.

I buy a lot of CDs, and like many people, I also have an iPod, so naturally I like to rip the songs from the CDs and put them on my iPod to listen to. Occasionally I like to make a mix CD for a friend or family member as well. Lately though, when I insert a CD into the drive, after a few seconds, my computer resets itself, and then keeps resetting itself every few seconds, until I take the CD out.

I've had issues with overheating with this computer before, which would cause it to reset itself sometimes. I've remedied that by cleaning out the insides more often, and generally making sure it doesn't get too hot (we have the tower inside an enclosed cabinet in a desk, which tends to make it quite hot).

So, could this CD Drive issue just be related to overheating, or do people think it's something else? I really don't want to have to buy a new computer for a little while, or do anything drastic. Thanks in advance for anyone who can provide a solution to this annoying problem.

I was on this before but it was at the top of each page and couldn't figure out how to move it to the left hand side ..

You can change your page setup and move the margin for the header across to the left.

When I set up iTunes on my new computer, I didn't tick the "move files to iTunes folder" options, but I didn't realise it.

Therefore, I've got files both on my external HD, but also in random spots on the computer, where I had the intention of deleting them.

Is there any way to have the files located in the C:// iTunes folder without deleting them from my Library and re-adding them?

I come home and and my mate says there were "threats & infections" in the temp internet files thread, so he deleted the temporary internet files folder & everything in it. Does this matter?

Temp Internet files is just cache for your browser. I.e it would contain the Big Footy.gif file that's on the header for this site. No hard in deleting the files.

It's an easy way to find if someone has been searching pr0n...it's all in the temp inter files directory :)

When I set up iTunes on my new computer, I didn't tick the "move files to iTunes folder" options, but I didn't realise it.

Therefore, I've got files both on my external HD, but also in random spots on the computer, where I had the intention of deleting them.

Is there any way to have the files located in the C:// iTunes folder without deleting them from my Library and re-adding them?

Anyone?

I posted this in another thread about 2 months ago and nothing has changed. It is killing me! If anyone knows the problem can they please help!

Whenever i try and connect to the i-tunes store it comes up with a prompt which reads
"itunes could not connect to the itunes store. Make sure your network connection is active and try again."

I run a network connectivity test and it tells me that the internet connection is verified and that a secure link to itunes store has failed.

So I follow the trouble shooting and clear the DNS cache like it tells me and nothing. So I figure I might have some interference with my wireless connection. However when I plug in the same problem occurs!!

Any ideas? I'm getting so frustrated. Thanks in advance!

Do you have any anti-virus program installed? Its firewall might be blocking iTunes' access to the net.

I-tunes is an exception in my Windows firewall settings. I have Symantec anti virus. I can't see any mention of itunes in any of the settings there.:confused:

I can't work it out at all. I'm no computer wiz but I'm not completely clueless either. i've tried everything I can think of.

Any other suggestions?

I-tunes is an exception in my Windows firewall settings. I have Symantec anti virus. I can't see any mention of itunes in any of the settings there.:confused:

I can't work it out at all. I'm no computer wiz but I'm not completely clueless either. i've tried everything I can think of.

Any other suggestions?
Windows Firewall/Symnatec are different things. Watch the Symnatec Allowance area when you are trying to open iTunes. It should 'smart' allow it though.