LondonCalling

Suspended
Church of Simon Wiggins
* - Before we start the unnecessary Cloke bashing, we need to also realise that we currently have no LTI's and I believe that even if one did occur, we're past the mark for being able to upgrade rookies, so it is too late for Jacobs to get a game. I don't think any of us had any illusions about Cloke becoming a good #1 ruckman for us, but the positive side to it definitely is that come 2009, Cloke becomes a bloody good #3rd or #4th string ruckman.

I don't believe that a decent team is measured by how good your 22 is, but rather who isn't in your 22 and trying to get in. At the moment our ruck back up is Ackland, Jacobs and the younger o'hAilpin, all of whom seem to be dead man walking. Start of next season, you'd assume Hampson either becomes the back up ruck to Kreuzer, or we recruit another seasoned ruck in Brogan/Laycock/Seaby/Warnock, thus pushing Cloke back to the queue. Can't think of many other teams who have such a decent #3rd ruck (Port Adelaide, Adelaide maybe when all are fit)

* - Thought the criticisms of Russell's game were fairly unfounded. Has just become an easy target. FWIW, I thought he had a better game than say, Murphy. When it comes to the likes of Russell and Hartlett, I think it's better to be definitely wrong as opposed to possibly wrong.

* - For next week, I think Bannister needs to come in straight away. Walker hopefully can stay in, the half forward line looked a lot better with him around. Hartlett needs to stay in. Everything else is interchangeable.

* - I look forward to the day next season when our Bullants side has the likes of Cloke, Fisher and Carrazzo running around for it. Not necessarily because of any slight on them, but rather because they are good enough to play senior footy, and there are just other blokes doing more than they are for the time being. Currently, it's not like Saddington, Blackwell and Ackland are banging down the door to keep the others honest.

* - Before we start the unnecessary Cloke bashing, we need to also realise that we currently have no LTI's and I believe that even if one did occur, we're past the mark for being able to upgrade rookies, so it is too late for Jacobs to get a game. I don't think any of us had any illusions about Cloke becoming a good #1 ruckman for us, but the positive side to it definitely is that come 2009, Cloke becomes a bloody good #3rd or #4th string ruckman.

I don't believe that a decent team is measured by how good your 22 is, but rather who isn't in your 22 and trying to get in. At the moment our ruck back up is Ackland, Jacobs and the younger o'hAilpin, all of whom seem to be dead man walking. Start of next season, you'd assume Hampson either becomes the back up ruck to Kreuzer, or we recruit another seasoned ruck in Brogan/Laycock/Seaby/Warnock, thus pushing Cloke back to the queue. Can't think of many other teams who have such a decent #3rd ruck (Port Adelaide, Adelaide maybe when all are fit)

* - Thought the criticisms of Russell's game were fairly unfounded. Has just become an easy target. FWIW, I thought he had a better game than say, Murphy. When it comes to the likes of Russell and Hartlett, I think it's better to be definitely wrong as opposed to possibly wrong.

* - For next week, I think Bannister needs to come in straight away. Walker hopefully can stay in, the half forward line looked a lot better with him around. Hartlett needs to stay in. Everything else is interchangeable.

* - I look forward to the day next season when our Bullants side has the likes of Cloke, Fisher and Carrazzo running around for it. Not necessarily because of any slight on them, but rather because they are good enough to play senior footy, and there are just other blokes doing more than they are for the time being. Currently, it's not like Saddington, Blackwell and Ackland are banging down the door to keep the others honest.

Are you insane????

Russell and Bentick are not up to AFL standard. Both did SFA yesterday and for 90% of the season.

Carrots, Fisher and Cloke should be the 18-24th players picked int he side.

Pointless reading anymore.......your credibility just nose-dived after one comment!

Took a bit of notice of Hartlett on Sunday and quite often he seemed stuck in no-mans land when we were screaming for a strong lead from CHF. Did anyone else notice this?

yeah definately

and his little dinky kick to bentick on the wing didnt help our cause either!!!

no offence but laycock is 3 times the better player then cloke

if a player didnt exist that would be better then having cloke

no offence,
carlton are shit

regards,
krechy

tanks very much,
krechy

reading many of the posts after yesterdays 2 piont loss to the 4th placed swans it would be easy to believe we need to replace the coach the whole forward line, halfe of the backline a couple of onballers the committee and board, to me the only thing that went wrong yesterday was that we kicked sh;t at goal in the first halfe of the game, should have been 8 goals up at the long break, meaning the swans would have to come from a long way back to get back into the game little well win it, we are going as well as could be resonably expected atpit, we are getting better, our core depth of players is still a bit narrow but the next draught should see that area bolstered considerably, we are doing nearly everthing as a club that needs to be done to bring back the good times, and imo we are very nearly there.

no offence but laycock is 3 times the better player then cloke

if a player didnt exist that would be better then having cloke

no offence,
carlton are shit

regards,
krechy

tanks very much,
krechy
And your piont is what? we at Carlton except that we have a problem with our Rucks, we are fixing that at great hast, and at your club the problems are sh;t not going there could take ages to list them all, maybe you should wonder over to the wobbly board and help them sort all there issues out.

reading many of the posts after yesterdays 2 piont loss to the 4th placed swans it would be easy to believe we need to replace the coach the whole forward line, halfe of the backline a couple of onballers the committee and board, to me the only thing that went wrong yesterday was that we kicked sh;t at goal in the first halfe of the game, should have been 8 goals up at the long break, meaning the swans would have to come from a long way back to get back into the game little well win it, we are going as well as could be resonably expected atpit, we are getting better, our core depth of players is still a bit narrow but the next draught should see that area bolstered considerably, we are doing nearly everthing as a club that needs to be done to bring back the good times, and imo we are very nearly there.

So just beacuse we only just lost to a top4 side means we should accept consistant mediocre performances by players like Russell, Cloke, Bentick and fisher?

No thanks even if we had just got over the line yesterday dosen't chnage the fact these blokes are holding us back and will be deadwood in 3 years time.

So just beacuse we only just lost to a top4 side means we should accept consistant mediocre performances by players like Russell, Cloke, Bentick and fisher?

No thanks even if we had just got over the line yesterday dosen't chnage the fact these blokes are holding us back and will be deadwood in 3 years time.
I'm not defending these guys and did piont out that we have an issue with the depth of our list, and yes we may have 8 to 10 players that may not be top liners, and i dont think we will move on 8 to 10 players at seasons end, but as we build this area the bottom end players will become more productive for us, it is our weakness and i am saying it is'nt but only time can fix it with good list managment.

Holding us back from what exactly?

It was pretty clear we were going to improve this year and we have, and whats more we have heaps more to come.

Holding us back from what exactly?

It was pretty clear we were going to improve this year and we have, and whats more we have heaps more to come.

Holding us back from winning more games of football.

We have improved collectivly this season and there have been some individulas who have improved themselves this season like, Gibbs, Murphy, Jamo, Simo, Bower etc.

But there are some who haven't, i am merly pointing out the fact bacuse of injuries and lack of depth the likes of Russell etc. are getting games but ain't showing improvment.

I want to see them imporve, but they ain't improving Russell has gone nowhere, fisher still can't kick, Bentick has played a couple of good games but isn't consistant enough.

I admire Russell's and benticks heart and comminment becuase they really have a go, but i also want the club to move forward and unfortunantly Hoops, Bano and Hadley offer more than these blokes do.

We have improved collectivly this season and there have been some individulas who have improved themselves this season like, Gibbs, Murphy, Jamo, Simo, Bower etc.

But there are some who haven't, i am merly pointing out the fact bacuse of injuries and lack of depth the likes of Russell etc. are getting games but ain't showing improvment.

I want to see them imporve, but they ain't improving Russell has gone nowhere, fisher still can't kick, Bentick has played a couple of good games but isn't consistant enough.

I admire Russell's and benticks heart and comminment becuase they really have a go, but i also want the club to move forward and unfortunantly Hoops, Bano and Hadley offer more than these blokes do.

I agree that Hadley and Hoops offer more (Banno was going well too but maybe is a fringe player also) but all have been LTI. So it doesnt help your argument that these players should be in but arent.

Russell has definately improved and Bentick has been good for many games this year. They are both young players and train well, go in hard and follow the team instructions and listen to the coach.

Should they be in the team?, well thats up to the MC and coach, will they be there long term?, I reckon for at least 2 more years (unless we trade).

from the game it's clear that we need more depth. that will come with time and everyone knows carlton's 2009 is going to be very exciting.

we need better disposal to our forward line. the 60-80m kicks inside the forward 50 need to be better. right now, take this fact that carlton are playing with heart. we got very close to sydney yesterday and we'll get them sooner rather than later.

keep playing with heart boys and we can't complain too much.:)

Get a clue mate - would you still be complaining if we had kicked another goal yesterday?

I was one of the many that had bagged Russell for his first lot of games but he had a reasonable game yesterday and has been a marked improver.

Bannister has been good this year but was has been very average over the last couple, Hadley has had one good game and Hoops??? (even though I feel he's in our best 22 you can't take away from the fact that ever since he has been out we seem to be performing pretty well - would've thought he'd be on shaky ground should he not step it up till years end)

Did you actually go to the game yesterday?

I think the main issue is disposal. Guys like Carrotts,Fish,Russell,Cloke and Bentick have been around long enough now to have ironed out poor skills.

Yes Players will make mistakes, but the amount of simple basic mistakes these guys make is just frustrating people.

Class act!!!

When you can't use reason and fact try and get personal....is there one point on your childish comments that is loosely based on something that happened yesterday??
class act!! jese, senior ******** here accuses me of getting personal when he is the one who firstly called upon a fellow Carlton supporter to get a clue, and then defends his outburst with the declaration stating JR's game was "reasonable".

Go back and have a look at your post. I'm sure you'll find the only reference you make to yesterday's game was your opinion on JR, of which I took aim at. Wouldn't that prove that I actually did make reference to yesterday's game? Ohh yes but I forgot, arrogant people like yourself only read what the want to, and type before they think.

This is the reason why BF is so crap; full of people who are full of themselves. Everyone thinks that their opinion is better than everyone elses.

class act!! jese, senior ******** here accuses me of getting personal when he is the one who firstly called upon a fellow Carlton supporter to get a clue, and then defends his outburst with the declaration stating JR's game was "reasonable".

Go back and have a look at your post. I'm sure you'll find the only reference you make to yesterday's game was your opinion on JR, of which I took aim at. Wouldn't that prove that I actually did make reference to yesterday's game? Ohh yes but I forgot, arrogant people like yourself only read what the want to, and type before they think.

This is the reason why BF is so crap; full of people who are full of themselves. Everyone thinks that their opinion is better than everyone elses.

But last month you thought you'd join in anyway. :rolleyes:

To prove for once and for all, that his opinion is in fact better than everyone else's.

You know Thy...posters that think they know everything are so annoying to those of us who acutally do :cool:

To prove for once and for all, that his opinion is in fact better than everyone else's.

You know Thy...posters that think they know everything are so annoying to those of us who acutally do :cool:

Can't tell 'em. :rolleyes:

ThyPatrol - "actually" :D

When Murphy was good, he was very good, but went quiet during key moments of the game, especially in the second half.

I'm neither here nor there on Russell, but he remains the only one regular senior player to consistently shephard, chase and do the other 1%'ers with some degree of success (Apologies to Wiggins also).

If Russell stays or goes, so be it, but I'd rather the decision be made with as much time put into him as possible. If not just for his sake, but the other poor first round draft choices we've had before him.

This thread went off topic a little didn't it?

When Murphy was good, he was very good, but went quiet during key moments of the game, especially in the second half.

I'm neither here nor there on Russell, but he remains the only one regular senior player to consistently shephard, chase and do the other 1%'ers with some degree of success (Apologies to Wiggins also).

If Russell stays or goes, so be it, but I'd rather the decision be made with as much time put into him as possible. If not just for his sake, but the other poor first round draft choices we've had before him.

This thread went off topic a little didn't it?

Does a fish swim in the woods? ;)

tumbleweeds01.jpg