Get Thorp

For a player of Thorp's junior talent - and potential (yes, I know it's a dirty word).

Thornton + our first round selection (likely to be around Pick #8'ish) would be more likely.

I would prefer to see T-Bird hanging around for at least 1 more year...

We just have to come up with the right combination to pry open the doors at whorethorn

We'd have more hope of getting Thorpe then Hansen.. no way would North release one of the only potential young gun KPPs they have.

Correct. We would fight tooth and nail or expect huge compensation as we already have a backline so fragile that Shannon Watt has managed to play 140 games.:rolleyes:

As for Thorp, I reckon he is waaaaay overrated. I saw him and Reiwoldt play together for Tassie on probably 8 different occasions, and Reiwoldt looked far better on every occasion. Thorp rarely gets in the best for Box Hill and there are whispers of him having attitude problems. He seems a little risky considering what you would have to part with to get him.

Graham Polak (23, 194 cms, 92kgs) is one that is worth looking at for value.

I'd give up a 1st round pick but I think you'd need to throw in a player like Carrazzo. We do really need a guy like Thorp though.

How about Carlton trade Walker to Collingwood for our first round draft pick. About 9 - 10. You guys then can on trade pick 9 - 10 for Thorp?

Or we can just try and deal straight with the Hawks.

Walker won't be going anywhere, especially Collingwood. That's where we send our duds. There and Essendon :)

For a player of Thorp's junior talent - and potential (yes, I know it's a dirty word).

Thornton + our first round selection (likely to be around Pick #8'ish) would be more likely.

l don't agree that we would give away our first pick between 5-8 & a fairly good player in Thornton, particuarly when this draft is supposed to be strong and we have the opportunity to pick up a quaility young player with our pick, this proposal you have suggested certainly is very favourable to Hawthorn.

Comments coming through about this year's draft crop (given we need a CHF):

“We can see there’s a very, very impressive group of tall players,” Sheehan said.

“We could see that from second division, the qualifying division played there, and we saw that with the opening game between Vic Metro and Vic Country the other day.”

While one of the hottest draft prospects in years -- WA’s Nicholas Naitanui -- is certain to gain attention, Sheehan was quick to point out the depth in the group.

"It’s not just all about Naitanui, put it that way,” he said.

“There’s lots of other taller key-position ruckmen type-players that are attracting a fair bit of interest.”

Quality taller players are highly prized due to their relative rarity.

“They’re harder to come by, that’s the key to it,” Sheehan said.

“They’re from a reasonably limited pool … but it’s becoming a bigger pool. We seem to have a lot more bigger blokes appearing at our championships and trials.”

Last weekend a number of taller players impressed during Victoria Metropolitan’s thrilling win over Victoria Country.

“I would have thought in general there’s a larger group of just genuine footballers,” McConnell said.

“There’s perhaps not as many elite athletes as there has been in recent years but lots of very good footballers, if that makes sense.

“They’re smarter players.

... Thorpe was taken at Pick #6 in the super draft of 2006 and even then he was considered a bargain pick up.

A CHF/CHB with his mobillity don't come around every draft - and Hurley aside, I'd suggest Mitch Thorp (regardless of the 2 years of development already in him) is better than any other KPP in this years draft crop.

Pick #8 alone wouldn't snare him - given his reputation and the potential that surrounds him - he'd be playing regular senior footy in the forward line if he was anywhere else but Hawthorn who have a plethora of good young forwards.

The Thornton addition to the proposed trade is merely there to tickle Hawthorns fancy, like us - their key deficiency is their defence (ours is probably 50/50 with our 'one man' forward line). So as much as it would be robbing Peter to pay Paul we would have to give them a key defender to get the deal done.

Even then, I'd say thats pretty fair.

Just to clear up a few misconceptions about Thorp for you guys. He is a genuine CHF who has modelled his game on Carey (his kicking style is exactly the same, thus the nickname duckling) who can also play as an attacking loose defender. He has had limited game time at Hawthorn not due to our "abundance of forwards" as one person put it but rather a hip complaint that he suffered during the offseason. A complaint he has since had surgery on. He is now back up and playing for Box Hill spending an amount of time in the back line. If Hawthorn were to trade him, it would likely cause the same outcry as that generated when Croad was traded to Freo. Supporters (and I believe the club) would demand hefty compensation for him. It would take at least a top 10 pick and young player.

... Thorpe was taken at Pick #6 in the super draft of 2006 and even then he was considered a bargain pick up.

A CHF/CHB with his mobillity don't come around every draft - and Hurley aside, I'd suggest Mitch Thorp (regardless of the 2 years of development already in him) is better than any other KPP in this years draft crop.

Pick #8 alone wouldn't snare him - given his reputation and the potential that surrounds him - he'd be playing regular senior footy in the forward line if he was anywhere else but Hawthorn who have a plethora of good young forwards.

The Thornton addition to the proposed trade is merely there to tickle Hawthorns fancy, like us - their key deficiency is their defence (ours is probably 50/50 with our 'one man' forward line). So as much as it would be robbing Peter to pay Paul we would have to give them a key defender to get the deal done.

Even then, I'd say thats pretty fair.

l am not sure that this actually improves our team on top of the fact that we give away another top 10 pick after giving away Kennedy & pick 3 this year.

The policy of trading away top 10 picks is a dangerous long term approach if we are serious about long term success.
The other issue is that although Thorpe is a high draft pick after almost two years in the system is he showing signs in the VFL that he is improving and he is worthy of this type of investment, otherwise trading away a first round pick should be purely reserved for elite talent, as surely Carlton has the potential this year to pick up another quality young player in this year's draft.

The other point is that l am sure although CHF is a major problem, l would suggest Carlton will select the best talent with their first draft selection regardless of position on the field.

I think the Blues need to trade aggressively this year ala Hawks of a few years ago. Make a few tough calls. This is potentially the last chance before we begin the climb to the top of the ladder and the Gold Coast have first choice of the top talent in the country. IMO I would be looking to involve Carrazzo and Thornton (both rated more highly than they deserve, both have moved down the pecking order) to secure top 20 picks or upgrade our existing picks.

After injury has ruined the last 2 seasons for Thorp I think it would take a pretty good offer to prize him from us.

With a full pre-season behing him I think the Hawks see him as a young gun CHF or CHB (they don't grown on trees).

Trust me the Hawks will not be letting Thorp go.

More likely to look at maybe letting Boyle or Dowler go.

Thorp is actually playing at CHB atm and the club is happy with how he is going.

He didnt do a pre-season because of a hip problem. Along with that, he has a few niggles.

There are no attitude problems and it is understood that he loves the club and wants to work hard to earn a spot.

At this stage if he continues to develop down back, thats where he'll stay.

Or we can just try and deal straight with the Hawks.

Walker won't be going anywhere, especially Collingwood. That's where we send our duds. There and Essendon :)

Nah you got it mixed up we give you our duds, McGuane at 30+, Cloke, Hotton, Scotland (cause he couldn't get a gig in our midfield), the list goes on.

Secondly why would Hawthorn trade Thorp before Boyle, never heard Boyle being taunted as better than Franklin. I wouldn't think that Hawthorn will trade a player who may be the best of their picks in the last 5 years.

Just to clear up a few misconceptions about Thorp for you guys. He is a genuine CHF who has modelled his game on Carey (his kicking style is exactly the same, thus the nickname duckling) who can also play as an attacking loose defender. He has had limited game time at Hawthorn not due to our "abundance of forwards" as one person put it but rather a hip complaint that he suffered during the offseason. A complaint he has since had surgery on. He is now back up and playing for Box Hill spending an amount of time in the back line. If Hawthorn were to trade him, it would likely cause the same outcry as that generated when Croad was traded to Freo. Supporters (and I believe the club) would demand hefty compensation for him. It would take at least a top 10 pick and young player.

I doubt it. We all know what Judd went for, so you are saying that for a bloke who has yet to debut (I think), who has spent 2 years in the AFL would go for almost the same deal as Judd. Yeah right.

Hawthorn can hope all they like, but it Thorp wants to move because he can see himself getting more game time at another club, Hawthorn does 1 of 2 things:

Trade him for the best deal possible

Or lose him in PSD

Remember, Hawthorn don't hold all the cards here should he decide to leave, it's all the other 15 clubs.

More chance I would think of getting Dowler, Petrie, Hansen (Ashley) or Miller - more realistic targets - not that any of them - with the exception of Petrie - would necessarily be much chop

Drew is a dyed in the wool North supporter and he loves the club, I can't see that happening.

He isn't the best player on our list but many North fans would agree that he is the most important, as currently he has been effectively holding down CHB and CHF.

Shannon Watt anyone? 27 yo, 193 cms & 140 odd games?

Drew is a dyed in the wool North supporter and he loves the club, I can't see that happening.

He isn't the best player on our list but many North fans would agree that he is the most important, as currently he has been holding down CHB and CHF.

Shannon Watt anyone? 27 yo, 193 cms & 140 odd games?
He'd be a grandpa at our club next year. Pass.

Nah you got it mixed up we give you our duds, McGuane at 30+, Cloke, Hotton, Scotland (cause he couldn't get a gig in our midfield), the list goes on.

Secondly why would Hawthorn trade Thorp before Boyle, never heard Boyle being taunted as better than Franklin. I wouldn't think that Hawthorn will trade a player who may be the best of their picks in the last 5 years.

Could i just take a moment to thank the Collingwood football club for giving us players like Hotton (who was a very serviceable player) and Scotland (who would be better than most at pieland) and Cloke who is currently in better form than Josh Fraser the worst number 1 pick in history.

and as a side note another huge thank you for being our bitches and letting us bend you over in every grand final we ever played in .:D

As for Thorpe, there is no way i want our club to trade a first round pick for an injury riddled young player .