dugrene

It'll be cagey
Sharks
I usually fill up once a week the evening before my local petrol station puts the price up. (Fuel watch works.)

Often as not there is a bit of a back log of cars because people follow the price cycle and know to buy fuel at the bottom of the cycle.

What I do if a car is behind me waiting to use the bowser, is when I finish and before I go to pay, is I get back in my car drive forward a car length so the person waiting can start filling while I go and pay for my fuel. Without fail the person behind me at some point in the process says 'thanks mate', cheers or something. I, without fail say 'no sweat...everybody should do it' smile nod get in my car and drive off.

Thing is I don't see anybody else do it.
We all know the frustration of waiting behind a car while the driver is missing.

So how about it everyone. Move your bloody car forward !
If there is two people in the car and both can drive get it soughted so someone moves the car !

Do it.....tomorrow. Tell your mates, family and anybody else you meet.
Make a difference.

I go to a servo that has an ATM built into the pumps so I don't have to waste time moving cars or going into shops.

Tell your friends :D

I go to a servo that has an ATM built into the pumps so I don't have to waste time moving cars or going into shops.

:thumbsu:

One good thing to come out of the States. Pay at the pump is a real time saver and helps the flow.

Some bowsers Stateside have the option of paying by card or cash now. Just feed in a few greenbacks and fill up!

I usually fill up once a week the evening before my local petrol station puts the price up. (Fuel watch works.)

Often as not there is a bit of a back log of cars because people follow the price cycle and know to buy fuel at the bottom of the cycle.

What I do if a car is behind me waiting to use the bowser, is when I finish and before I go to pay, is I get back in my car drive forward a car length so the person waiting can start filling while I go and pay for my fuel. Without fail the person behind me at some point in the process says 'thanks mate', cheers or something. I, without fail say 'no sweat...everybody should do it' smile nod get in my car and drive off.

Thing is I don't see anybody else do it.
We all know the frustration of waiting behind a car while the driver is missing.

So how about it everyone. Move your bloody car forward !
If there is two people in the car and both can drive get it soughted so someone moves the car !

Do it.....tomorrow. Tell your mates, family and anybody else you meet.
Make a difference.

I used to work in a servo and on behalf of the people still there PLEASE don't listen to this man, especially if it is busy.

• The console operator has no way to differentiate between you getting in your car to move forward or you getting in your car to drive off.
  • The console operator is responsible for drive offs, while they can't deduct it from your pay, you get in shit every time it happens. Therefore, when they see someone getting in to their car and starting to move, they will generally stop what they're doing (serving someone else) to watch you.
  • The console operator is also expected to know the registration of every car and the pump it corresponds to. Moving around only makes that harder to do, taking more time and again slowing service down.
  • When I worked there there was a 'no pump stacking' policy anyway i.e. you need to pay for your fuel before they can pump anyway.
  • We also had so many idiots who would drive forward, forget where they'd started and then walk in a give us the number they thought they were on (we generally knew where each car was but can't be expected to keep track of which person was with each car). They would pay for someone else's fuel resulting in confusion and more lost time when that person walks in.
  • Console operators can only process one person at a time, on busy nights it's one customer after anotother for the entire shift, that's the MAX speed, it's just about how fast you can process each one, moving slows that processing speed.
You may think you're being considerate and efficient but the end result is a net loss of time.

If you want to be processed fast,

1. Know your pump number when you come in
  2. Have any vouchers/rewards ready
  3. Have your money/card out before you reach the counter
  4. Let them say their upselling spiel (they have to) 'no thanks' takes no time at all, having a bitch about being asked if you'd like something does.
  5. If you don't have that 5c piece ready right away, forget it, it's quicker for them to just get your change than wait 30 seconds while you forrage through your pockets.

I can't think of 1 petrol station that's big enough for me to drive forward, stop and still allow enough room for people on the pumps to my left or right to exit.

I used to work in a servo and on behalf of the people still there PLEASE don't listen to this man, especially if it is busy.

• The console operator has no way to differentiate between you getting in your car to move forward or you getting in your car to drive off.
  • The console operator is responsible for drive offs, while they can't deduct it from your pay, you get in shit every time it happens. Therefore, when they see someone getting in to their car and starting to move, they will generally stop what they're doing (serving someone else) to watch you.
  • The console operator is also expected to know the registration of every car and the pump it corresponds to. Moving around only makes that harder to do, taking more time and again slowing service down.
  • When I worked there there was a 'no pump stacking' policy anyway i.e. you need to pay for your fuel before they can pump anyway.
  • We also had so many idiots who would drive forward, forget where they'd started and then walk in a give us the number they thought they were on (we generally knew where each car was but can't be expected to keep track of which person was with each car). They would pay for someone else's fuel resulting in confusion and more lost time when that person walks in.
  • Console operators can only process one person at a time, on busy nights it's one customer after anotother for the entire shift, that's the MAX speed, it's just about how fast you can process each one, moving slows that processing speed.
You may think you're being considerate and efficient but the end result is a net loss of time.

If you want to be processed fast,

1. Know your pump number when you come in
  2. Have any vouchers/rewards ready
  3. Have your money/card out before you reach the counter
  4. Let them say their upselling spiel (they have to) 'no thanks' takes no time at all, having a bitch about being asked if you'd like something does.
  5. If you don't have that 5c piece ready right away, forget it, it's quicker for them to just get your change than wait 30 seconds while you forrage through your pockets.

I thought the only KPI that mattered to the "Big Oil" companies is how many people you can convince that $3 for a Mars bar really is a good deal (then I got to your point 4!).

I find it quite ironic that "Big Oil" (under the banner of the US Govt) are the ones over in Iraq killing innocent women and children, but every servo in the Western world appears to be manned by relatives of the same people being killed over there.

A little off topic... play on.

That would confuse the hell out of the guy at the counter.

I only have one beef about going to a servo, the ******s that use pumps that are on the opposite side to their tank opening. Sure they think that the line there is smaller or whatever but then you see them with a big 4WD trying to flick the hose over the top of their car and putting it in upside down or the worst one, realising that they parked to far away from the pump and getting back in their car to adjust where they park to enable them to do it.

Hell, I have a small hatchback and it would probably be real easy for me to do (a lot easier than a big car anyway) but I just refuse to out of principle. People have their tanks on different sides of their car and should go to the pump that corresponds to that. End of rant.

Other than that, I have no problems waiting a little bit when it is busy. Turn your car off, put the CD player on and sit back and relax until it is time to move forward.

A lot of your points make sense Nick85.

I just want people to pay cash a little more often than they do with card. You can be two deep for the pump, and then when you get inside there are eight people all paying with card. You have exact cash for your purchase but you have to wait while watching eight people who couldn't chew gum and walk at the same time, attempting to swipe a card three times before they finally get which way it goes in the slot, and press buttons on a key pad they don't understand all because it has numbers and words on it. Kills me.

I love cash. Sure, getting heaps out at a time makes me spend more, but I like the convenience of it.

A lot of your points make sense Nick85.

I just want people to pay cash a little more often than they do with card. You can be two deep for the pump, and then when you get inside there are eight people all paying with card. You have exact cash for your purchase but you have to wait while watching eight people who couldn't chew gum and walk at the same time, attempting to swipe a card three times before they finally get which way it goes in the slot, and press buttons on a key pad they don't understand all because it has numbers and words on it. Kills me.

I love cash. Sure, getting heaps out at a time makes me spend more, but I like the convenience of it.

Cash is certainly quicker but I used to use the time it took to process a card to do my sweep around for people looking like driving off or doind something stupid like smoking.

That said I checked my sales once and again an hour later and had done about 114 people in that time. Aroud 30 seconds per customer is pretty good IMO.

i just fill up wednesday morning when it is not busy. it always makes me laugh when i drive home wedensday night and see cars lined up out to the road in a desperate attempt to save a few bucks before they put the prices up.

Usually just fill up whenever I'm low, if that means Friday morning, then I guess I have to pay an extra dollar or two, then that's fine with me. Better than sitting there for fifteen minutes waiting for a spare bowser.

Interesting thread.

Is it cheaper to fill your whole tank with the cheaper petrol and carry around that extra weight for the rest of the week?

Or is it cheaper to only fill up when you are going past the servo (at non-Wed price) and not having all that dead weight in your tank decreasing your economy?

Some ppl are funny with boots full of heavy metal junk and roof racks and all sorts of stuff hanging off their car but will still run to save the 2c per litre.

Interesting thread.

Is it cheaper to fill your whole tank with the cheaper petrol and carry around that extra weight for the rest of the week?

Or is it cheaper to only fill up when you are going past the servo (at non-Wed price) and not having all that dead weight in your tank decreasing your economy?

Some ppl are funny with boots full of heavy metal junk and roof racks and all sorts of stuff hanging off their car but will still run to save the 2c per litre.

Hard to say - mainly due to price variation. If it's the same all week (lets say);

So, you can either carry around the extra weight for the rest of the week.

But, if you fill up every time (or close to) you go past the servo, what you'll be doing is starting the car more often. If the car gets colder getting petrol, it uses more fuel to fire up and take off. Acceleration uses more petrol than cruising past, obviously, so factor that in.

Personally, I wouldn't bother. Full tank every time to as close to empty.

But, I know with my dual fuel, I nearly always have less than half a tank of petrol (need it to start the car and until the car is warm... about 1km) in my car for weight reduction.

But shit, if you care about weight reduction so much, ditch the seats that don't get used per trip. Carpets just an aesthetic, dash materials - aesthetic, stereo.... aesthetic. ;)

Onto the topic though, I usually do move forward if someone is waiting. But, because I'm usually getting LPG I don't have to worry.

QFT. the queues backing out of the local servo on tuesday nights are hilarious. if your budget's that tight that you've gotta scramble to save a dollar on fuel every week, fair chance you're living beyond your means anyway

I have never understood the obsession with petrol prices. Unless you are in the transport industry (courier, truck driver), or travel an hour or more each way to work, you are unlikely to make any significant saving over the long term chasing cheap petrol prices. Especially, once you compare it to the cost of rego, insurance, servicing, repair and maintenance, you realise how little petrol prices matter.

QFT. the queues backing out of the local servo on tuesday nights are hilarious. if your budget's that tight that you've gotta scramble to save a dollar on fuel every week, fair chance you're living beyond your means anyway

True, $6 per week isn't much but I'd rather not spend it when I don't have to at no extra inconvenience. It is possible to fill up at the right point in the price cycle without having to wait 20 minutes to do so.

Got two servos near my house which are within 500 metres of eachother. One is usually 2-3 cents cheaper than the other and that one will be packed (sometimes to the point where cars are lined up outside blocking the left lane :rolleyes:) while the latter will be pretty much empty.

when it comes to getting fuel i pay for convenience.. flipping no chance im gonna wait in a line 10 cars deep to save 5c a litre on fuel.

I thought the only KPI that mattered to the "Big Oil" companies is how many people you can convince that $3 for a Mars bar really is a good deal (then I got to your point 4!).

I find it quite ironic that "Big Oil" (under the banner of the US Govt) are the ones over in Iraq killing innocent women and children, but every servo in the Western world appears to be manned by relatives of the same people being killed over there.

A little off topic... play on.

Nah, you're just an idiot.

Go listen to a greenday album.