Health Getting hassled while exercising

and if it is so busy that you can't change lanes because of traffic, then the bike will end up at the front of the next intersection and away from your sight for good while you are stuck 20 car lengths back at the light -

Umm ... I was thinking of moving traffic, say about 70km/h, but since Aussie drivers have a penchant for tailgating, there's never enough room in between cars to switch lanes, especially considering the speed difference between a car being held up by the cyclist at 40km/h and the rest of the traffic at 70km/h.

But they'll have to wait for the cyclist regardless. Still think its far safer for the cyclist to wait so the cars around them know they are there

I can sort of see your point (only if you wind up with 5 bike at the waiting bay at the front of the intersection) but most of the cyclists i see (especially in built up areas) stay in the bike lane just after the intersection. The issue would be if the bike waited in traffic (like a car) you might wind up with 10 bikes in between cars (think car, bike, car, bike etc) and then you have to go around alot of bikes instead of just one bunch. Additionally if you have a bike sitting in traffic taking up a whole lane i think it would inspire more pure hatred and road rage than anything. I get abused for riding to the right of bike lanes (which i only do to avoid being doored by people who dont check their mirrors before getting out) i could only imagine how pissed people would get if one bike took a whole lane up (even though they are by all right entitled to). This is getting way off track...

I walk. I walk the streets.

Occasionally you get a goon yell out the window...luckily the ipod is up so you don't get startled.

Had some little Richmond supporting ****er try to trip me getting out of his car one night. Just last night i walked past with the missus and told her the story...ranting and calling them shit when the mother was having a ciggie on the front porch (Y) Bitch

A pet walking hate is cars who let you cross the road first. I always stop and look in the sky just to let them know i wont be crossing before them...but they just keep waving me on. They could hold up a whole road just to be nice.

Yes, this. Very nice of them, but a very dangerous thing to do. Roads are safest when everyone is behaving predictably.

Cyclist here (from Perth) - here, we can only take up the leftmost 1.5m of a lane, unless we've signalled to turn right (and then you can come across traffic and sit next to the centre line until you turn right etc)

Are people allowed to overtake you without changing lanes?

Nagging doubt so checked - apologies, I have misled you. When 2 cyclists are side by side, they can only be up to 1.5m apart.

Sorry to have confused - it seems we can in fact ride anywhere in the lane. Would be pretty brave* to do so though! Perth drivers can be pretty feral to we brave and lycrad few

*stupid

I can sort of see your point (only if you wind up with 5 bike at the waiting bay at the front of the intersection) but most of the cyclists i see (especially in built up areas) stay in the bike lane just after the intersection. The issue would be if the bike waited in traffic (like a car) you might wind up with 10 bikes in between cars (think car, bike, car, bike etc) and then you have to go around alot of bikes instead of just one bunch. Additionally if you have a bike sitting in traffic taking up a whole lane i think it would inspire more pure hatred and road rage than anything. I get abused for riding to the right of bike lanes (which i only do to avoid being doored by people who dont check their mirrors before getting out) i could only imagine how pissed people would get if one bike took a whole lane up (even though they are by all right entitled to). This is getting way off track...
Apologies, there are minimal bike lanes in Perth, I was referring to when riding on the road

I only have one pet hate with cyclist and that is when they choose to ride down the footpath when there is a bike lane.

Other pet hate is when running the tan groups of people walk spread out across the track or someone steps onto the track or a normal street footpath and sees you coming towards them and they freeze.

The motor car is a disgusting and utterly disgraceful machine. It has been the cause of much death, destruction and sickness.

The motor car is a problem unto itself. The increasing popularisation of this machine is like a horrible disease.

Problems with road congestion can be eased significantly with the use of two-wheeled vehicles, but due to the common and dangerous nature of the motor car, most road users are too afraid of doing so.

"Stick to the footpath you stupid cyclists" types annoy me. Even the word 'footpath' implies that bicycles aren't allowed. Or for the Seppo influenced people "sidewalk" even moreso.

It is illegal for a cyclist to ride on the footpath, only exception being if they are with a child under 12

We spend millions on bike lanes, I would be happy for bike lanes to be scrapped and footpaths widen but until that happens then cyclist should stay on the road.

If you can't keep up with the speed limit or there abouts then get off the road

That's the spirit, well done mate.

I only have one pet hate with cyclist and that is when they choose to ride down the footpath when there is a bike lane.

Other pet hate is when running the tan groups of people walk spread out across the track or someone steps onto the track or a normal street footpath and sees you coming towards them and they freeze.

Top point is totally valid, if bikes are allowed on the road they shouldn't be (and aren't) allowed to be on the footpath (unless its a designated shared pathway and even then don't hoon along at 40 clicks)

Bottom point could be applied to any footpath really, especially groups of 3 or more, you don't own the footpath and its not the spot to stand around having a chat, a bit of common courtesy dictates you move off the footpath.

The motor car is a disgusting and utterly disgraceful machine. It has been the cause of much death, destruction and sickness.

The motor car is a problem unto itself. The increasing popularisation of this machine is like a horrible disease.

Problems with road congestion can be eased significantly with the use of two-wheeled vehicles, but due to the common and dangerous nature of the motor car, most road users are too afraid of doing so.

YnGlaN1.jpg

So today I was riding home after our footy team's first practice match for the season (I kicked two goals!) and I got a puncture.

So I am on the side of the ride, changing the inner tube, and I am still just wearing my footy shorts (ie, short) with just a jacket over my footy top - We just played on an oval without a changeroom so I didn't bother changing until I got home.

Anyway, a car drives past and a fat prick in the passenger side yells out

"NICE WHITE SHORTS YOU FAIRY HIPPY C*NT!"

Well.. in true car yellling style they were gone before I could reply a witty retort -

I always thought footy shorts were the height of Australian machoism, apparently I was wrong. Lucky the fat f*ck in car set me straight...

So today I was riding home after our footy team's first practice match for the season (I kicked two goals!) and I got a puncture.

So I am on the side of the ride, changing the inner tube, and I am still just wearing my footy shorts (ie, short) with just a jacket over my footy top - We just played on an oval without a changeroom so I didn't bother changing until I got home.

Anyway, a car drives past and a fat prick in the passenger side yells out

"NICE WHITE SHORTS YOU FAIRY HIPPY C*NT!"

Well.. in true car yellling style they were gone before I could reply a witty retort -

I always thought footy shorts were the height of Australian machoism, apparently I was wrong. Lucky the fat f*ck in car set me straight...

If he was indeed a fat pasty loser aussie bogan (which is what it sounds like he was) life has played its own revenge on him. Next time youre having sex with a woman, just smile as you realise that fat campaigner wont ever be doing what youre doing anytime soon. Life has a way of being fair in the end - you just need to see it...

Was walking to work in the CBD and this young woman on her bike was on the footpath waiting with us pedestrians, at the front even. Then when green man comes on she rides on to the road. Not sure why she couldn't have waited on the road...

Also notice sometimes in the CBD that if the light's red but there's no crossing traffic some cyclists just ignore it and ride through :eek: Strikes me as odd (guess they don't have plates to worry about).

I was riding home after our footy team's first practice match

"WHITE SHORTS"

Away game? :p

Also notice sometimes in the CBD that if the light's red but there's no crossing traffic some cyclists just ignore it and ride through :eek: Strikes me as odd (guess they don't have plates to worry about)

Yes totally agree Admiral. The ability to use your own initiative and independence, in terms of knowing what is safe for you, should be eradicated and then left up to the police, the law and bitches like you.

That's right - That all knowing traffic light knows when it is safest - No one who has aimlessly gone through a green light without checking oncoming traffic, safe with the assurance of the all knowing traffic light's ultimate wisdom, has ever come to harm...

Yeah I'm a total pro-state bitch for noticing road users running red lights :confused:

You seem shitty today nicky. Let me guess, the cute barista at work you have a thing for... you saw him kissing his girlfriend... and she was prettier and younger than you.

If he was indeed a fat pasty loser aussie bogan (which is what it sounds like he was) life has played its own revenge on him. Next time youre having sex with a woman, just smile as you realise that fat silly wont ever be doing what youre doing anytime soon. Life has a way of being fair in the end - you just need to see it...
peter_griffin_butt_floss_by_deviousbeats-d2zs1fl.gif

Was out running on Thursday night in running shorts and a singlet and hear "FAGGOOOOOOT". I look up and see two guys with P-plates driving a sky blue Suzuki Swift. I'd dare say the irony would have been lost on him even if I had the chance to point it out to him.

With that sort of attitude, we may as well not have any traffic lights at all. Or any road rules, for that matter.

People that think road rules don't apply to cyclists shit me. Yes, that includes the rule to stop at a red light.

With that sort of attitude, we may as well not have any traffic lights at all. Or any road rules, for that matter.

People that think road rules don't apply to cyclists shit me. Yes, that includes the rule to stop at a red light.
I nearly got cleaned up by four bikes when I was crossing the road today, as they apparently thought red lights didn't apply to them.