Social Science Getting old

bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
This is no picnic I tell you. I noticed the older I get the more people (of the same age) I cross off the list.

It's well documented that the older people get the more right winged they get which is a massive frustration in itself. But want I don't get is the decent into:

1. High pants
2. Tucked in shirts
3. Chinos
4. Boat shoes
5. Travelling to some country town to look at antique shops and taking photos wild flowers and then sitting in some puncey cafe with another bunch of kents wearing tucked in Gazman shirts into their chinos with their 4WD with My Family stickers on them parked in the car park.

This what all you kents have to look forward to.

**** that. Rather go to a mates place and get pissed or sit on the couch and watch the footy.

I have to admit, i'm 31 and i don't feel as though i'm any closer to growing up. Most people my age seem to have developed a 'smart' dress sense and are now all wearing a smart casual with jeans and collared shirt. Where-as i'm still stuck wearing a black band shirt with army 3quarter shorts. Or maybe the others are already on that slippery slope down into the things you've pointed out.

The reason people get more right winged as they get older is because they want the world to stay as they thought it should when they were growing up, when they get old the world moves past their outdated views. Similar to something Grandpa says in the simpsons "I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me."

I don't beleive that people get more right winged as they get older it is just that their values and beliefs have not changed over time and they are viewed as conservative. I also think it has a lot to do with those who remain mentally active.

Take as an example Malcolm Fraser has he become more left wing as time has gone on? No. He has pretty much stayed the same, yet becaue of changes in the way speaks out on the social issues closest to him (immagration & foreign aid) he is seen to be more left wing, yet he is still preaching a similar line to what he did as PM.

Another example would be Catholics over 65, gay marriage is something they are staunchly against so we deem them right wing. My father is 80 and dead set against gay marriage with every ounce of his body, is he right wing? No, he that far left you'd think he's a communist almost.

People don't so much change as public perception does of what is normal. We as a society have moved markedly to the right over the last 30 years. 20 years ago I was centre-left, now I'm on the left moving towards the far left, have my opinions changed? no. Am I willing to accept change? yes, I just don't think that it is always for the better and that in recent year most political change has been for the worse.

I am 44.

I wish that polo tops, tracky pants and runners were the winter uniform for everyone and everywhere and pants were replaced with short.

Alas the only places I know that allow this is prison.

But anywho, should be allowed at nightclubs, restaurants, business meetings...the lot.

The world would be a much comfortabler place.

I don't beleive that people get more right winged as they get older it is just that their values and beliefs have not changed over time and they are viewed as conservative. I also think it has a lot to do with those who remain mentally active.

Take as an example Malcolm Fraser has he become more left wing as time has gone on? No. He has pretty much stayed the same, yet becaue of changes in the way speaks out on the social issues closest to him (immagration & foreign aid) he is seen to be more left wing, yet he is still preaching a similar line to what he did as PM.

Another example would be Catholics over 65, gay marriage is something they are staunchly against so we deem them right wing. My father is 80 and dead set against gay marriage with every ounce of his body, is he right wing? No, he that far left you'd think he's a communist almost.

People don't so much change as public perception does of what is normal. We as a society have moved markedly to the right over the last 30 years. 20 years ago I was centre-left, now I'm on the left moving towards the far left, have my opinions changed? no. Am I willing to accept change? yes, I just don't think that it is always for the better and that in recent year most political change has been for the worse.
Some reasonable points but I disagree.

I've watched a pattern of generations of people get old and right winged. I think it's more about as you get old you get less accepting of non achievers. Most people I associate with are from a mix of intelligent, middle class, professional, white picket fence owners etc.

When you're young you usually have a much wider range of associates. Guys you went to school with, guys you played footy with etc. A mixed bunch. Some are stoners, drug users, dole bludgers, generally useless, but you accept the differences. You don't let them bother you. Plus young people do dumb shit - drink drive, get in fights, lack respect, have a healthy dose of arrogance etc.

As you get older you travel down a funnel. By the time you're 40, you probably have kids, living a middle class existence with a white picket fence and a million miles from where you were 20 years ago. And then you conveniently forget. At the pointy end of the funnel you have a small group of middle class successful type friends and you lose sight of reality (in a way that you lose perspective that young people do dumb shit, no matter what happens percentage of society will be criminals, or drugs addicts, or dole bludgers).

Then they go "**** everyone else who is not like me". Lock all these criminals up for ever, and those damn drug dealers - how dare they do this! they might sell drugs to my kids! (they conveniently forget that they had the convenience of a drug dealer when they were younger)

I've seen too many people change their views as the age, particularly after they have kids. Logic (and memory) seems to fly out the window.

Some reasonable points but I disagree.

I've watched a pattern of generations of people get old and right winged. I think it's more about as you get old you get less accepting of non achievers. Most people I associate with are from a mix of intelligent, middle class, professional, white picket fence owners etc.

When you're young you usually have a much wider range of associates. Guys you went to school with, guys you played footy with etc. A mixed bunch. Some are stoners, drug users, dole bludgers, generally useless, but you accept the differences. You don't let them bother you. Plus young people do dumb shit - drink drive, get in fights, lack respect, have a healthy dose of arrogance etc.

As you get older you travel down a funnel. By the time you're 40, you probably have kids, living a middle class existence with a white picket fence and a million miles from where you were 20 years ago. And then you conveniently forget. At the pointy end of the funnel you have a small group of middle class successful type friends and you lose sight of reality (in a way that you lose perspective that young people do dumb shit, no matter what happens percentage of society will be criminals, or drugs addicts, or dole bludgers).

Then they go "**** everyone else who is not like me". Lock all these criminals up for ever, and those damn drug dealers - how dare they do this! they might sell drugs to my kids! (they conveniently forget that they had the convenience of a drug dealer when they were younger)

I've seen too many people change their views as the age, particularly after they have kids. Logic (and memory) seems to fly out the window.

Drugs are probably the least thing from most parents these days.

Violence would be number one in my group of forty something parents. Violence from other kids, strangers, and predatory types.

I know a lot of people make sweeping generalisations but here goes.

I'd rather die than get old. There, I said it. And I mean it.

This thread scares me more than death. Death I can deal with. Being old and responsible? Where's the escape?

Shudder.

This thread scares me more than death. Death I can deal with. Being old and responsible? Where's the escape?

Shudder.

And what is your nominated age of depature?

I'm 25, cuz.

I've loved. Been loved. Travelled. Done some sick ass drugs. And some 'adventure sports'. Won footy and cricket flags.

I don't reckon age is all that important. Experience and responsibility are. Thank ****, unlike my old man, I've made it to 25 with no kids.

The older I get, the more pointless life seems. If I go tomorrow, it doesn't really affect anybody. I'm lucky.

Shudder.
Two words:

chinos and boatshoes.

I'm 25, cuz.

I've loved. Been loved. Travelled. Done some sick arse drugs. And some 'adventure sports'. Won footy and cricket flags.

I don't reckon age is all that important. Experience and responsibility are. Thank ****, unlike my old man, I've made it to 25 with no kids.

The older I get, the more pointless life seems. If I go tomorrow, it doesn't really affect anybody. I'm lucky.
You have seen the pattern right? As you grow older you generally go with it and become comfortable with what ever age you're at.

I'm 40-ish and as comfortable as ever. Whilst I do roll my eyes at similar aged pussies who can't tell their wives to go country town antique shopping with their friends whilst I scratch my balls on the couch in front of the footy, it's a pretty sweet deal if you got a fridge with an ice dispenser.

I'm 25, cuz.

I've loved. Been loved. Travelled. Done some sick arse drugs. And some 'adventure sports'. Won footy and cricket flags.

I don't reckon age is all that important. Experience and responsibility are.
You ain't done shit until you sit on your own couch and watch a 5 day test match without some bitch nagging your arse.

I am 44.

I wish that polo tops, tracky pants and runners were the winter uniform for everyone and everywhere and pants were replaced with short.

Alas the only places I know that allow this is prison.

But anywho, should be allowed at nightclubs, restaurants, business meetings...the lot.

The world would be a much comfortabler place.

I'd rather die than leave the house in tracksuit pants.

Your fixation on these items of clothing borders on the pathological.
I thought I might have some sort of odd fixation but my shrink told me it is perfectly normal to resent middle aged kents who wear such attire. He said he couldn't stand them either. I think he's a pretty good shrink.

But what is old ? I reckon its a state of mind. I too am in my ( early ) 40's. But its just a number, i dont feel any certain age. I'm enjoying my life with a well paying job, brought up two kids, and can now pretty much travel when and where i want.

I feel more confident and happy than i ever did when i was younger. Not much phases me. My parents are in their 60's. They live on the Gold Coast, and travel. Are they old ? My dad still has his mum alive, she still gets around in her 80's.

Dont think about your age, get on with life and enjoy. Its the only one you've got hey !