Getting to know you!

This is ridiculous. I have just come home from work, made a cup of coffee, turned on the PC, read a bit of news, turned on Bigfooty, read a few posts and now my afternoon is in turmoil as I fantasize about serenading Rogers and Hammerstein to an unknown member of the fairer sex at 35,000 feet!! A few of you have a lot to answer for:cool:.

1. Place of Birth - Fitzroy, Victoria.
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Nil.
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Ludwig Wittgenstein - Second most intelligent man of the 20th C - Most intelligent one didn't speak English very well.
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Leave home.
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - Got whacked for disfiguring a window sill, when I had to spend ten days in bed with nothing to do.
6. Your best and worst memory from school? - Best - Leaving. Worst - Getting strapped on my bare behind for not having done my French homework.
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Tortelline ala Panna.
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Black Forest, in Germany.
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - I abhor practical jokes.
10. What one talent do you wish you had - To be able to play the piano.
11.What would you never do again - Get married.
12.What would be your ideal job - Investigative journalist.
13. I would never leave the house without my - Brain engaged.
14. What is your motto - People in glass houses shouldn't fart, it fogs up the windows.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - Restrict the number of players able to enter the forward line.
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Homer Simpson.
17. Who inspires you - Nobody much.
18. What are you listening to Last music I listened to, last night, was Steeleye Span.
19. What are you reading - A series of essays by Arthur Schopenhauer.
20. Favourite Movie - Casablanca.
21. Favourite TV show - Fawlty Towers.
22. Least favourite TV show - Seinfeld.
23. Favourite piece of clothing - Drizabone - I live in an area which gets lots of rain, except for recently.
24. Favourite AFL media personality Jason Akermanis
25. What was the last meal you cooked - Chicken Tandoori.
26. Scariest moment in your life - Fighting a bushfire in a forest, which then turmed into a thunderstorm.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Embrace Jesus.
28. Biggest Regret - Not attending Uni. earlier.
29. All time favourite player Garry Wilson/ Bernie Quinlan/ Kevin Murray.
30. Current favourite player - Jonathon Brown

I'm now exhausted, and this is an exhaustive list.

1. Place of Birth

Mackay.

2. Nickname as a kid and now

None as a kid, and the closest I get these days is "Don". :(

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why

Keira Knightley. No reason, just in case my girlfriend's reading this.

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father

Went to Peru and allowed Mum to tag along.

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for

Parents were fairly unimaginative, so we just got smacked for varying degrees of naughtiness/pissing them off.

6. Your best and worst memory from school?

Best, Year 10 camp. Lots of fun. Worst? Too many. Most of it sucked.

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)?

Keira Kn... errr... Mum's lemon meringue pie.

8. Your ultimate holiday destination

Been there last Christmas/New Year's - Peru. :)

9. The best practical joke you have ever played

Nothing elaborate enough to really warrant an answer to this.

10. What one talent do you wish you had

X-ray vision.

11.What would you never do again

Punching a wall.

12.What would be your ideal job

Ancient history professor.

13. I would never leave the house without my

Wallet, keys, phone and ipod. I actually count them off to make sure I have them all most of the time. Usually a book too.

14. What is your motto

"Don't come up with silly mottos"

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be
I'd go for the three point rushed behind. It really annoys me.

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character

Does anime count? Spike, from Cowboy Bebop.

17. Who inspires you

In no particular order, Machiavelli, Leonardo Da Vinci, Benjamin Franklin.

18. What are you listening to

Scrubs OST.

19. What are you reading

This week's Bulletin, The Devil You Know and The Gold Falcon.

20. Favourite Movie

Spirited Away.

21. Favourite TV show

West Wing.

22. Least favourite TV show

Waaaay too many to count. I avoid TV so I don't have to watch all the crap.

23. Favourite piece of clothing

A comfy t-shirt.

24. Favourite AFL media personality

The guy in glasses on Ch. 10. Andrew Maher? He's one of the few that don't annoy the hell out of me.

25. What was the last meal you cooked

Typical, asking me this after not cooking anything special. Chicken and cashew salad.

26. Scariest moment in your life

I dunno, I'm pretty hard to scare.

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you

"Don't worry about it"

28. Biggest Regret

Nothing too massive that I could do anything about.

29. All time favourite player

Alistair Lynch. I always found it hilarious how he'd manage to get holding calls made on his opponent. Not to mention the fact that he was damn good too.

30. Current favourite player

Jared Brennan if only he was so frustrating at times. Richard Hadley.

1. Place of Birth - Melbourne
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Duck
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Adam Sandler - for the laughs.
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father -
Black and decker BullsEye thingo
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - week suspension from footy for doing something to my sister (cant memba what)
6. Your best and worst memory from school? -
Best: When we won grand final.
Worst: When we lost grand final.
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? -
Anything with heaps of meat in it.
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - rio
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - Entering the number of a gay chatline into teacher's phone book and then showing his wife.
10. What one talent do you wish you had -
Whsitling.
11.What would you never do again -
Tell my PE teacher what i think of his crappy exercises.
12.What would be your ideal job - AFL Footballer
13. I would never leave the house without my - nothing in particular- maybe wallet, phone etc.
14. What is your motto - short term pain equals long term gain
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - personally- Having to bounce the ball every 15 metres (if it wasnt for that i'd probably never get caught) generally- free kick for chopping arms
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Homer Simpson
17. Who inspires you - Ben Cousins, Chris Judd, James Hird, Michael Voss
18. What are you listening to - SEN
19. What are you reading - My mum got me the Da Vinci Code a few months back and i've promised her i'll read it - one day.
20. Favourite Movie - The Shawshank Redemption
21. Favourite TV shows - The Footy Show, Simpsons
22. Least favourite TV shows - Morning shows.
23. Favourite piece of clothing - My personally signed no.4 stephen kernahan baby guernsey.
24. Favourite AFL media personality - Brian Taylor, Robert Walls.
25. What was the last meal you cooked - um- toast?
26. Scariest moment in your life - Coming in to bat on grand final day facing the fastest bowler in the league by a mile when i was only 13 years old laying u/16's and we'd lost 5 quick wickets.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - hasn't been given to me yet.
28. Biggest Regret - I'll find out in 20 years.
29. All time favourite player - SOS
30. Current favourite player - Chris Judd

dlanod said:

Does anime count? Spike, from Cowboy Bebop.
Anime counts and a good choice, Cowboy Bepop is good, up there with Ghost in the Shell and Bubblegum Crisis. I like Anime :) :thumbsu:

1. Place of Birth - Melbourne

2. Nickname as a kid and now - then Emu, now Cloggs

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Jim Garrison. I want to know what happened!!!

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father Still my mums best mate. Always will be. Shucks, I'm a mummys boy.

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for.
Got whacked with a wooden spoon after chaining my sister and cousin to a tree and leaving them out until after 10pm.

6. Your best and worst memory from school?
Best: Running a drinks bar at a school formal, telling all of the students that there was alcohol in the mix and watching them act drunk. Not a drop of alcohol was there, we made a fortune and then made to donate it to the church when we were dobbed in. Easy come, easy go.:eek:
Worst: Going to a school that was predominatley soccer focused.

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)?
1/2 dozen hot jam donuts.

8. Your ultimate holiday destination
The Great Ocean Road. Winter is an awesome time to go, as you can fit in a trip to the MCG as well.

9. best practical joke you have ever played Watching the Ashes on TV with a bunch of mates, must have been 1993. The television coverage was about 1 mour behind the live coverage from the old dart, so I sneeked upstairs, listened to Gooch go out, caugt for 9. Anyway, went back downstairs, waited 1/2 a hour then proudly declared that Gooch would not make 10 (he was on about 8 at the time). The bets came flying at me, and I bravely took them on. The crowd went wild when they thought he had hit a 4, too bad boys, leg byes was the call. The crown roared again when they thought he had struck a six. Good on you Merv, straight down his throat at fine leg. Gooch out for 9. Some of the boys complaining, other going for the wallets. I just cracked up and told them what I had done.

10. What one talent do you wish you had
Kick a goal from 50 on my left, actually, or my right.

11.What would you never do again
Ask Craig Starchvich where he was going to play next year at the Bears Social Club after the 1996 Brownlow Medal count:eek: Actually, I would like to wipe out much of that night. Still hungover from it 10 years down the track.

Football administration.

13. I would never leave the house without my
Sense of Humour

14. What is your motto"Play On"

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be
The cheeky backmen should be marched 50 when they stop the forward from playing on when a mark is taken on a tight angle. FFS they have come over the mark, are within 5 metres of it or something that is not fair, if a forward did it to a backman to stop him from switching to the other pocket, it would be a 50m penalty. *jumps off soapbox* (yes, I used to play up forward:p )

Top Cat

17. Who inspires you My cat, his name is Fitzroy.

18. What are you listening to Bernard Fanning.

19. What are you reading
Re-reading "The Poet" by Michael Connolly. Seriously, if you have not read it, do so now if you like a bit of a mysterry/thriller/who done it.

20. Favourite Movie
Gangs of New York.

21. Favourite TV show
Anything that has sport in it.

22. Least favourite TV show
Today Tonight, that Robson woman gives me the $hits

23. Favourite piece of clothing
My 1997 Puma Lions shirt.

24. Favourite AFL media personality
Bruce Almighty.

25. What was the last meal you cooked
Spag

26. Scariest moment in your life Being in a tram accident on my way back to the city after the 2001 Grand Final.

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you
"Lets go to Victoria Park, the fans there are not too bad." Yeah right. This was 1989, Collingwood v's the Bears.

28. Biggest Regret
Who has time for those. Seriously haven't got one.

29. All time favourite player
Bernie Quinland and Michael Voss. Dead heat.

30. Current favourite player
Michael Voss followed closley by Jonathan Brown[/QUOTE]

irel said:
I changed my mind. My new Ideal job would be to be the negotiator for Akermanis' trade to another club. Would love it!
John said:
Me too. I now want to be your Deputy.
irel said:
That will be good. We'll make a fine team.

And which antarctic soccer club / Siberian hockey franchise would you be sending him to? :rolleyes:

Actually this could be fun ... if you *were* in charge of it ... what would you be going for and what advice would you be giving him etc etc .... :)

irel said:
I changed my mind. My new Ideal job would be to be the negotiator for Akermanis' trade to another club. Would love it

John said:
Me too. I now want to be your Deputy.

well that explains it all it is clear now!! Heard on the radio this morning that Jase has said if the Lions don't trade him to the bulldogs he will be playing for the Lions next year. Can't find a news article to link to it was on Triple MMM.

John said:
This is ridiculous. I have just come home from work, made a cup of coffee, turned on the PC, read a bit of news, turned on Bigfooty, read a few posts and now my afternoon is in turmoil as I fantasize about serenading Rogers and Hammerstein to an unknown member of the fairer sex at 35,000 feet!! A few of you have a lot to answer for:cool:.

Gold! :thumbsu:

I love it when I haven't been on here for a while and a whole thread has come alive, it's like catching up with a heap of old friends.

Lady Lawrence said:
well that explains it all it is clear now!! Heard on the radio this morning that Jase has said if the Lions don't trade him to the bulldogs he will be playing for the Lions next year. Can't find a news article to link to it was on Triple MMM.

ha what is that some form of blackmail? Send me to the doggies or you are stuck with me another year? Do the players have to concent to the trade?

real mature aka, I would love to have you working for me:rolleyes:

1. Place of Birth: Deniliquin, NSW
2. Nickname as a kid and now: Hoss, Tim the Toolman
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why: the guy in 1st Class
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father: left the family business
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for: always got the strap when I was a young kid, many times so always remember them.
6. Your best and worst memory from school?: Best - actually finishing HSC, worst - having Bill Brownless for a study tutor
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)?: My spaghetti with truffles followed by my Scallopini e funghi with eggs oscar for breaky.
8. Your ultimate holiday destination: Gaydon UK to pick up my new DB9
9. The best practical joke you have ever played: my brother & I used to live with my sister and one night she brought a guy home. We dressed up as terrorists the next morning and broke into her room with shotguns and jumped on the bed only to realise it wasn't the guy we thought it was! She never saw him again.
10. What one talent do you wish you had: never short of breath
11.What would you never do again: eat durian
12.What would be your ideal job: Getaway reporter
13. I would never leave the house without my: PDA
14. What is your motto: Punctuality, Courtesy & Common Sense
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be: no advantage when players stop
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character: Fritz the Cat
17. Who inspires you: Brian Tracy
18. What are you listening to: Simple Minds Live 06
19. What are you reading: Ice Station
20. Favourite Movie: Highlander or any James Bond
21. Favourite TV show: The Chris Isaak Show or Rick Stein's Fruits of The Sea
22. Least favourite TV show: Today Tonight.....what dribble puuleaaase!
23. Favourite piece of clothing: Lynchy's 02 GF guernsey hung in my Entry
24. Favourite AFL media personality: Clinton Grabass
25. What was the last meal you cooked: King Island Eye Fillet - blue!
26. Scariest moment in your life: missing a stop sign and collecting 2 cars, yes I was .065 and very much in the wrong. Biggest lesson too!
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you: drive my car home and pick me up in the morning (see above)
28. Biggest Regret: driving that car
29. All time favourite player: Paul Roos
30. Current favourite player: Browny of course!

1. Place of Birth - Brisbane Women's Hospital
2. Nickname as a kid and now - (not telling)
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why (would like the row of seats to be empty)
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - being good
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - caning, dunno for what
6. Your best and worst memory from school? (none)
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - peking duck pancake
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - london, san francisco, paris, cinque terre (italy), bangkok, ...
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - michelle and I were shopping at Coles, she waited for me out the front, then took the bags. I pretended I didn't know her and very loudly said "who are you and what are you doing with my shopping?". The 'cashier' looked very confused.
10. What one talent do you wish you had - to play the piano, or sing
11.What would you never do again - lots of things
12.What would be your ideal job - industrial designer
13. I would never leave the house without my - iPod, and keys (of course)
14. What is your motto - what's yours?
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - just one?
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Stewie Griffin
17. Who inspires you - my cat (edit: when she was still with me)
18. What are you listening to - Athlete (Tourist album)
19. What are you reading - Londonstani (Gautam Malkani) and Final Impact World War 2.3 (John Birmingham)
20. Favourite Movie - Eurotrip, Big Business (with Bette Midler and Lily Tomlin)
21. Favourite TV show - Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Arrested Development, Supernatural, Smallville
22. Least favourite TV show - Today Tonight
23. Favourite piece of clothing - Lions footy guernsey
24. Favourite AFL media personality - Anthony Hudson
25. What was the last meal you cooked - pea and ham soup
26. Scariest moment in your life - when I took my cat to the vet and waiting on possible bad news
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - which one?
28. Biggest Regret - which one?
29. All time favourite player - Alistair Lynch (remember his chronic fatigue and recovering from that?) and VOSSY
30. Current favourite player - Blacky

Tim the Toolman said:

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)?: My spaghetti with truffles followed by my Scallopini e funghi with eggs oscar for breaky.
25. What was the last meal you cooked: King Island Eye Fillet - blue!

Right on. I am coming over for dinner....

Where did you get the truffles from? Vicky Markets?

1. Place of Birth - Singapore (Me Dad was working there at the time)

2. Nickname as a kid and now - Wazzi, Wazza, Waz..... Now its Chezza :D

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why? - A keg of beer

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Tickets to the footy I think :D

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for -
Being yelled at for leaving some shopping at the shopping center

6. Your best and worst memory from school? - Playing sport, being bullied

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Pizza and Donuts

8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Hawaii

9. The best practical joke you have ever played - Always the victim, I'm afraid :(

10. What one talent do you wish you had - More footy ability

11.What would you never do again - Mix Smirnoff Black with a Jug of beer and scull as much as I can... 5 pots in 2 minutes = swimming in vomit

12.What would be your ideal job - Event Manager.... which I soon shall be :cool:

13. I would never leave the house without my - Laptop

14. What is your motto - Bad day or good day, theres always footy

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be -
None come to mind

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Stewie Griffin

17. Who inspires you - Vossy

18. What are you listening to - 'Canadian Idiot' by Weird Al :D

19. What are you reading - Great Beer Guide

20. Favourite Movie - Star Wars Saga (1-6)

21. Favourite TV show - Footy Show, Family Guy

22. Least Favourite - Australian Idol (F*** off and die already), Big Brother (ditto)

23. Favourite piece of clothing - Anything from me Lions draw and Cupboard

24. Favourite AFL media personality - Dermie

25. What was the last meal you cooked - Spag Bol

26. Scariest moment in your life - 15 year old kid running through the streets of Manila trying to get home.

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Meh

28. Biggest Regret - Always finding a way to drink TOO MUCH

29. All time favourite player - Michael Voss

30. Current favourite player - Browny, C.Grant

danielcanberra said:
Right on. I am coming over for dinner....

Where did you get the truffles from? Vicky Markets?

A friend has brought a jar of winter truffles back from Italy recently but I have bought from the home-made pasta place at Chaddy a couple of times and my deli mate can get them in at Chaddy as well. One other place is the essential ingredient at Prahran market.

I can only get pre-packaged summer (white) and winter (black) truffles though. They only import twice a year un-packaged ones: Melbourne Cup week and Christmas I believe. Very expensive way to throw a dinner party though so I only cook for my very closest friends. Even got a special truffle shaver to help prep! :thumbsu:

And if anyone thinks of truffles as just chocolates, those desserts get their name from the times of Louis XIV when chefs would place truffles in a bottle of liquer such as brandy and because the flavour of the truffle was so strong it would lend it's flavour to the brandy which was then placed in a sweet such as chocolate hence chocolate truffles as we know the dessert today.

I can go on and on about types, cooking methods etc... but I just can't quite explain the taste.

An old quote was 'that if a truffle could speak it would adore God and eat me!'

A good alternative to getting to know the flavour is to try and get a small bottle of truffle oil and try some in an omelete or even in a soup, just a dash as the flavour will be extremely intense.

Getting to know you!