News Giants in the Media

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
Channel 9 WWOS Phil Gould 4.9.19

P. Gould is predicting, in 4 to 5 years, "GWS will be a juggernaut"; & also said

"...licenced clubs days are numbered...the majority of clubs (NRL) are trading beyond their means...are insolvent...depends on the meaning of insolvent...GWS will be a juggernaut...at the moment it (GWS) only attracts 12,000 (average home crowd)...it will win a premiership in the next 4 to 5 years, then things change remarkably...".

Can anyone interpret his comment "Licenced Clubs (ie Leagues Clubs) days are numbered"?
To be higher taxed, or further restrictions to be placed on poker machines' useage/distribution/net numbers by the NSW govt.?

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
WWOS Phil Gould 4.9.19

P. Gould is predicting GWS will soon become "a juggernaut", & said

"...licenced clubs days are numbered...the majority of clubs (NRL) are trading beyond their means...are insolvent...depends on the meaning of insolvent...at the moment (GWS) only attract 12,000 (average home crowd)...it will win a premiership in the next 4 to 5 years, then things change remarkably...".

Can anyone interpret his comment "Licenced Clubs (ie Leagues Clubs) days are numbered? To be higher taxed, or further restrictions to be placed on poker machines by the NSW govt.?
Can see pokies dying off or being taxed so much they aren't worth being run.

It's funny as they are saying the NRL need to kill off Sydney teams to survive but my thoughts on if the do that those fans will head to another sport, not just the AFL, so I doubt that's a good thing for them.

It's also amusing that a died in the wool league bloke can understand growth takes time and the Giants will get much bigger but fans of the Aussie Rules game are to blinkered in their old time views

Just to add I've heard the Giants have been looking at ways to have our own club, but no pokies, and wether it can be profitable.

Can anyone interpret his comment "Licenced Clubs (ie Leagues Clubs) days are numbered"?
To be higher taxed, or further restrictions to be placed on poker machines' useage/distribution/net numbers by the NSW govt.?

The gaming industry is going through a downturn - no surprise considering it's built on a business model reliant upon alcohol and nightlife. Both which appear to be declining. There's also regulation and more red tape for licenses.

Pubs and clubs reliant upon pokie machines for revenue are going to crumble.

Also social attitudes to pokies will help push it along to its timely death. The kids these days just don't care so much about pokies.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
The gaming industry is going through a downturn - no surprise considering it's built on a business model reliant upon alcohol and nightlife. Both which appear to be declining. There's also regulation and more red tape for licenses.

Pubs and clubs reliant upon pokie machines for revenue are going to crumble.

Also social attitudes to pokies will help push it along to its timely death. The kids these days just don't care so much about pokies.
Do you have evidence/statistics that, for Leagues Clubs:-

. revenues are, in recent times, declining from poker machines; and/or from other (non-gambling) sources of revenue?
. profits, before distributions to Sydney NRL clubs, are declining?
. profits, post distributions to Sydney NRL clubs, are declining?

I assume that many/most suburban Local Councillors are concerned about/opposed to poker machines, due to the massive social & economic harm they create in their Council areas.
Are you aware of any Council public campaigns to minimise venues with poker machines in their Council area?
Do Councils have any actual legal powers to minimise the number of poker machines in their Council areas?

EDIT:

Apparently, NSW might have the highest no. of poker machines, per capita, in the world? And has the biggest average losses, per capita?
There are c. 200,000 machines in Aust.- 1 pokie for every 114 people; & they are patronised, generally, by people in the lowest socio/economic demographic.

Apparently, losses to poker machines are increasing- & the NSW govt. is planning for an increase in the taxes it derives from poker machines (currently c. $760,000,000+ pa).

Do you have evidence/statistics that, for Leagues Clubs:-

. revenues are declining from poker machines; and/or from other (non-gambling) sources of revenue?
. profits, before distributions to some Sydney NRL clubs, are declining?
. profits, post distributions to some Sydney NRL clubs, are declining?

I assume that many/most suburban Local Councillors are concerned about/opposed to poker machines, due to the massive social & economic harm they create in their Council areas.
Are you aware of Council public campaigns to minimise venues with poker machines in their Council area?
Do Councils have any actual legal powers to minimise the number of poker machines in their Council areas?
Don't know figures off the top of my head but you could try look through statements for the last couple years:

To answer second part, legislation was passed last year to bring in caps for number of poker machines in identified "high-risk" areas. Taxes on the gaming industry are as high as ever.

It's also symptomatic of the fact that we have machines so abundantly available ... not just in casinos (like the rest of the world only have them in) but in your bars, pubs, and wherever else you can find them. It's everywhere.

Nov 23, 2015
GWS
An unusually thoughtful and (somewhat) balanced article from a mainstream Victorian media writer ...

An internal club memo was sent to Greater Western Sydney staff this week following the candid comments made by football director Jimmy Bartel on The Age Real Footy Podcast. Bartel had spoken of the need to review "the whole football department". While stressing the review would come in the form of a general end-of-season analysis, Bartel also underlined a growing intolerance at the Giants for finishing "between third and sixth each year".

His comments, made on the eve of the finals, provoked enough public response for club chief Dave Matthews to email staff assuring them there would be no formal post-season review. Matthews did not admonish Bartel but did speak with his rookie board member to address his comments and the fall-out. Bartel's conflict of interest as a media commentator serving on a club board is a side issue to the off-field problems facing the Giants as they head into a sudden-death final against the Western Bulldogs. It is one shared by Mark Ricciuto at Adelaide and Chris Judd at Carlton.

And whatever the depth or formality of any post-September assessment this season the true significance of Bartel's comments lay in his frustration with a football department that had overseen one of the AFL's worst injury lists in recent years. "We can't keep losing our key players like [Stephen] Coniglio, [Josh] Kelly, Toby Greene - all these guys missing. You just can't compete and it's been three years in a row. All clubs review what they do, but we need to look at that whole department and how is it going," he said. "How can we get better so we don't finish between third and sixth each year?"

The doomsday scenarios drawn around GWS in terms of players' defections have never truly eventuated and Coniglio's big decision underlined that. But only Tom Scully and his damaged ankle - deemed unfixable a year ago - has truly embarrassed the Giants system and the environment driven by the players has meant that the salary cap-stressed club rarely loses footballers it truly wants to keep. And while Campbell is clearly under pressure to keep his job it is worth remembering the mess he inherited involving Lachie Whitfield and the compassionate professionalism with which he cleaned it up while prioritising the welfare of the shattered player.

Leon Cameron, who continues to wear the question mark over his performance on behalf of his club from the game's Melbourne power base, has one year remaining on his contract. The internal view is that he must be given the best chance to succeed with the healthiest list come the crunch year of 2020.
Creating that best chance could include some assistant coaching changes as well. It is worth pointing out that Cameron is coaching in his fourth straight finals series and that he has coached as many finals wins as losses. In the Giants' two preliminary final defeats they lost to the eventual premier, with hindsight dictating team selection against the rampaging Bulldogs in 2016 put them on the back foot from the start. They had key injuries against an equally rampaging Richmond the following year and yet performed better against a deafening Tiger army at the MCG that year than any other finalist against the Tigers.

My view is that the Giants and Cameron are unfairly maligned. The general commentary that both club and coach have under-performed with the players in their weaponry does not account for their achievements in building a club from nothing in eight short years - Cameron in his sixth as senior coach - in an 18-team competition. Mark Thompson at Geelong took eight years and a major internal review and shake-up before the Cats delivered on their brilliant promise. Damien Hardwick's Richmond has nowhere nearly matched that Geelong era but his coaching credentials are no longer questioned. Hardwick's first premiership too came in his eighth season in the job and again followed an official review.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
Sydney 2GB Radio Ross Greenwood Program John Stanley filling in. Podcast 4.9.19

GWS CEO D. Matthews said to J. Stanley, re the expansion teams & their broadcasting value to the AFL "...the 9th game is valued at about $60,000,000 per year, they're actually making money off their investment...".

The broadcast $ were $2.5 billion over 6 years, or c. $417,000,000 pa. ($46,330,000 pa, for 9th game). $60,000,000 seems very large, & needs an explanation (GWS & GC don't rate highly at home). Does the $60,000,000 pa include, also, private funding from other sources, & other benefits (eg home GR & MSM growth)?
Does anyone have an explanation for the $60,000,000 pa claim? Has it been made before?

This is the first time, AFAIK, that an AFL executive has provided a specific figure for the broadcasting Rights value of the 9th game. GWS & GC, therefore, are actually providing net funds for the AFL.

(For GWS, go to 51 minute 25 seconds mark)

For more information/clarification on these various podcast figures etc., I have posed questions today about them on the BF Footy Industry Board- "2018 Financial Results etc.".

BarryAglett

7th Round Draft Pick
Sep 24, 2014
Western Sydney
GWS
Not sure if this is the right thread for this comment - but did anyone watch Mr Inbetween S2 on Foxtel?

The main character, Ray, and his mate were in a scene while sitting in the crowd at a Giants home game.
It took me out the show for a few minutes while I tried to work out who they were playing. I think it was Hawthorn.
Pretty cool seeing them in a crowd of orange. :cool:

Ichabod Noodle

Sep 13, 2011
The Riff
GWS
Raiders, Brumbies
Not sure if this is the right thread for this comment - but did anyone watch Mr Inbetween S2 on Foxtel?

The main character, Ray, and his mate were in a scene while sitting in the crowd at a Giants home game.
It took me out the show for a few minutes while I tried to work out who they were playing. I think it was Hawthorn.
Pretty cool seeing them in a crowd of orange. :cool:

I recorded the first ep. was planning on saving them up for a binge but apparently I'm going to have to watch this one tonight after the young fella has gone to bed.

Bay Giant

Jun 20, 2019
GWS
RE: Pokies and Clubs - pokies are a mainstay in NSW. We have a pokie culture. Look at the amount of publicans who had their businesses saved thanks to the introduction of pokies to pubs in 1997-8.

A population where a licensed “club” would survive without pokies, ironically, is Melbourne. My old hood, Port, for example, has 11 pubs and only 2 of them are pokie joints.

But I don’t think that a licensed GWS club would turn a profit in Melbourne somehow 🤣🤣

cowgirl_99

Jun 13, 2013
GWS
Behind the scenes stuff with the Giants after Saturday's big win E N J O Y ! and G O G I A N TS ! this Saturday

ttwb.jpg

Les Malone

Jul 28, 2019
GWS
RE: Pokies and Clubs - pokies are a mainstay in NSW. We have a pokie culture. Look at the amount of publicans who had their businesses saved thanks to the introduction of pokies to pubs in 1997-8.

A population where a licensed “club” would survive without pokies, ironically, is Melbourne. My old hood, Port, for example, has 11 pubs and only 2 of them are pokie joints.

But I don’t think that a licensed GWS club would turn a profit in Melbourne somehow 🤣🤣

Melbourne does not have the club scene like NSW which developed due to pokies, the pub scene in general in Melbourne makes a quid - a hard earned quid on the back of food, not grog.

I have no problem with a pub or club having 6/12 pokies in a separate room, i don't like however a club having hundreds of machines front and center, but i will eat the cheap food and drink the cheap grog they offer however.

Its a conundrum.

Andre the Giant

Feb 20, 2012
Melbourne, VIC
GWS
The shining light to come out of a very tough week for us has been our CEO Dave Matthews.

In a PC era where everybody is too scared and intimidated to speak their minds he is a breath of fresh air.

You can see this guy genuinely loves the club and puts his heart and soul in. I’ve loved listening to his advocacy and strength this week and absolute understanding of the forces this club is up against.

This bloke is exactly the right man for the job, smart, diligent and confrontational when required, we are in very good hands 👍

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...e/news-story/0a30625265219a4e39f103e9877dfd93

Jeremy Cameron returns a fan’s wallet, puts $50 in there ‘for a scarf and beanie’
AFL

• September 21, 2019 9:51pm
  • by STAFF WRITERS
  • Source: FOX SPORTS
GWS' Jeremy Cameron returned a wallet to a fan this week, and left this note.
GWS' Jeremy Cameron returned a wallet to a fan this week, and left this note.Source: Supplied
This is the kind of story that will only gain GWS more fans heading into the Grand Final.
Social media user Mikey Nicholson has shared a note left by Giants star and Coleman medallist Jeremy Cameron as he returned a wallet he found in Melbourne.
“So last night I lost my wallet and Jeremy Cameron from GWS found it, tracked me down and put $50 in it,” the original Facebook user wrote.

Wait, free money? Well, Cameron had a reason for it.
https://twitter.com/Mikey_Nicholson/status/1175351173794058241

“Hey brother, I found your wallet while having a kick with the boys this morning, before we beat the Pies,” the note read (also predicting the result of the game correctly, by the way).
“Hope it gets back to you! P.S. I’ve put $50 bucks in it so you can purchase a GWS beanie and scarf. Cheers mate.”

More in the link above
----------------------------
Karma bus