Gibbsy !!!!!

Have you noticed that very few opposition supporters are raving about Gibbs. It isn't envy, it is the ability to make an unbiased judgment of the guy.

Right. That must be the only reason..............because it couldn't possibly be that almost all opposition supporters, yourself included are incapable of being objective when it comes to Carlton.

You give Gibbs credit for being a good tackler........is that it?

A bit like me saying Anthony Rocca really knows how to lay a good shepheard, when he is kown for his booming....yet wayward kicks.

If you miss the fact that Gibbs is one of the coolest 19 yo you will ever see under pressure.....and miss how with the smallest little hip movement he sends his would be tackler off in the complete wrong direction.....how despite being under huge pressure in our backline last year he performed well..........then......as I said......you are missing one heck of a kid and will be pointed at and laughed at in a few years when you butter up and acknowledge your error.

Right. That must be the only reason..............because it couldn't possibly be that almost all opposition supporters, yourself included are incapable of being objective when it comes to Carlton.

You give Gibbs credit for being a good tackler........is that it?

A bit like me saying Anthony Rocca really knows how to lay a good shepheard, when he is kown for his booming....yet wayward kicks.

If you miss the fact that Gibbs is one of the coolest 19 yo you will ever see under pressure.....and miss how with the smallest little hip movement he sends his would be tackler off in the complete wrong direction.....how despite being under huge pressure in our backline last year he performed well..........then......as I said......you are missing one heck of a kid and will be pointed at and laughed at in a few years when you butter up and acknowledge your error.

Hi BB,

Haven't followed this post for a few days but wonder if you are not being fully aware with what you have written above.I think Gibbs is really coming along well over the past couple of weeks and did stand up under pressure again Freo. However so far he has shown an inconsistency when under pressure.

Many times this season he has butchered disposal from kick outs and in other pressure situations. I believe that he is very gifted with his skills but that under certain situations his mind freezes a bit. Also last year my opinion is that whilst it was great that a 17/18 y/o played a whole season under the pressure of the backline I didn't believe he perfromed any better than would have been expected from any other first year player.

Not doubting that Bryce is a quality talent just think that you are perhaps over playing his performances a little. Great potential, is showing some great signs but has not performed to the absolute best of what he is capable of in my opinion. Perhaps not far away though.

Hi BB,

Haven't followed this post for a few days but wonder if you are not being fully aware with what you have written above.
Hi Pumped.
Thanks for the post.

Yes. Iam fully aware of what I post, as while I may want to wind people up from time to time, I also happen to be Gibbs buddy on the Buddy Draft, and as such, have paid particulalry close attention to BG this season as opposed to others.

I think Gibbs is really coming along well over the past couple of weeks and did stand up under pressure again Freo. However so far he has shown an inconsistency when under pressure.
Only the last couple of weeks?
So you didn't rate his game vs WCE where he racked up 24 odd possies at 90% eff, in the midfield, on Embley, Rosa and Masten......kicking two goals......fair enough.

Didn't rate his game vs Pies? Sure....he turned the ball over ONCE from a kick in that cost us a goal....but then ran down Stanley saving one goal....kicked another ripper himself while keeping Daisy more or less under control..........fair enough.

Many times this season he has butchered disposal from kick outs and in other pressure situations.
I wouldn't call three times "many".
I believe that he is very gifted with his skills but that under certain situations his mind freezes a bit. Also last year my opinion is that whilst it was great that a 17/18 y/o played a whole season under the pressure of the backline I didn't believe he perfromed any better than would have been expected from any other first year player.
You'd be so kind as to show us another first year player with the reponsibility for stopping his opponent that has done as well?
N Browne is the only one that readily springs to mind..........not exactly common......but hey....fair enough.:rolleyes:
Lets compare him to other in his year ATM.
Selwood. Clearly quality, but how would he do in our side? Must be nice having 4-5 super quality mids taking the heat for you each week and not having to shut down your opponent.
Boak. Quality kid, but lacks the consistency of Gibbs. His best ATM is probably better, but to infrequent.
Westhoff - flash in the pan? Second year blues in a major way.....lucky to be getting a senior game this year.
Leuenberger - unfair as he is a ruck and still to emerge. Looks to be quality but who really knows. Has had one really good game vs Port earlier this year, but has been dropped at times as well. Jury out.
Hansen and Gumbleton..........I don't think so.

Not doubting that Bryce is a quality talent just think that you are perhaps over playing his performances a little. Great potential, is showing some great signs but has not performed to the absolute best of what he is capable of in my opinion. Perhaps not far away though.

I agree with your last paragraph, and at no point have I said he is dominating and at the peak of his powers.......actually, I think I said:

as clearly you are missing one of the great talents emerging........directed to another poster

An emerging talent........would you take that to assume he is "not far away" or would you take that to mean I think he is domintaing the comp already.

But thanks for the feedback Pumped.

BTW, check out his buddy page........note how many effective possies his man gets. Not only is he getting 17+ possies and using them well, but his man generally does very, very little to hurt us.;)

If Gibbs was on your list, he'd be playing midfield or forward each week and running around chasing kicks like Thomas and Pendlebury. Unfortunately for Gibbs, we have a better midfield than the Pies and he'll just have to bide his time playing down back, the wing and even forward. He's already a better alround footballer than Pendlebury and Gibbs with his work rate, defensive side and tackling.

If you think Gibbs is soft, he had 9 contested possessions against the Hawks in the NAB Cup when he played on the ball with Murphy and played a huge part in our third quarter.

I think he had Mitchell moved off him for Hodge.

I'd rather have the ball in Gibbs' hands for a goal or to hit a forward lace out than Murphy, Judd, Simpson and maybe even Stevens.

He always picks the right options and uses the ball beautifully.

Hence his disposal efficiency of 83% this year.

You know, I actually see some similarities with Gibbs and Pendlebury. Both are labelled soft by opposition supporters, but both can win the contested ball. Pendlebury is averaging 7 contested possessions a match this year, as well as just under 4 tackles a match. He is also averaging 86.5% disposal efficiency, which is brilliant given he plays in congestion a lot (hence our praise for him having so much time etc). Anyway, they both have excellent disposal, both ooze class, both a perceived as soft due to one or two 'incidents', but are not, I think they'll be similar players when Gibbs moves into the midfield. In saying that, Gibbs does have a way to go before I'm 100% sold on him, but the signs are certainly there at this stage.

The myth continues.

Gibbs has played midfield most of this year, and exclusively in the last 4 rounds, barring 5 unsuccessful minutes as the "man in the hole" in front of Brown.

As part of the midfield rotation he often starts centre bounces on the wing or across the HB line, but watch the play and he is a midfielder, following the ball around the field.....even sneaking up for a few goals.:thumbsu:

Pendles is great. Shouldn't have got a gig ahead of Murph for the Big V, but anyways.
He is a couple of years ahead of BG in terms of midfield development. BG gets in there ATM and is still finding his way somewhat. Thats pretty much our whole midfield though. Still getting used to each other with Gibbs, Judd, Hadley and Stevo all pretty new to each other and learning how each other works.:thumbsu:

You are right though. I think in the next couple of years they will be similar players.

Having said that, when we played you guys in round 4, Cloke had marked on Pendles on the outer wing. Cloke was called to play on and Pendles got very close to him as he kicked........just turned his body out of the path of the ball at the last second and avoided the smother...........but I'm sure it's nothing.:D:o

The myth continues.

Gibbs has played midfield most of this year, and exclusively in the last 4 rounds, barring 5 unsuccessful minutes as the "man in the hole" in front of Brown.

As part of the midfield rotation he often starts centre bounces on the wing or across the HB line, but watch the play and he is a midfielder, following the ball around the field.....even sneaking up for a few goals.:thumbsu:

Pendles is great. Shouldn't have got a gig ahead of Murph for the Big V, but anyways.
He is a couple of years ahead of BG in terms of midfield development. BG gets in there ATM and is still finding his way somewhat. Thats pretty much our whole midfield though. Still getting used to each other with Gibbs, Judd, Hadley and Stevo all pretty new to each other and learning how each other works.:thumbsu:

You are right though. I think in the next couple of years they will be similar players.

Having said that, when we played you guys in round 4, Cloke had marked on Pendles on the outer wing. Cloke was called to play on and Pendles got very close to him as he kicked........just turned his body out of the path of the ball at the last second and avoided the smother...........but I'm sure it's nothing.:D:o

From what I've seen, Gibbs usually plays as a half-back flanker and pushes up. But I may not have been paying close attention.

And Pendlebury isn't a "few years" ahead in development. His first pre-season was ruined by illness, and as a result he only played 9 games in 2006. He also didn't start playing football (in his life) until 2005. He's only 1 year older than Gibbs. But that's beside the point, it wasn't the point I was making.

And why would you come up with something like that (last paragraph)? I'm sticking up for Gibbs, and you say something derogatory about Pendles? Yeah, he could have smothered, but so what? Gibbs has had soft moments as well.

Anyway, I'll just ignore that bit. If you only want to reassure each other with an outside perspective, then please, continue to discretely attack our players to keep us away. Otherwise, just take the compliments as they come. Note: I do know that you praised him as well, so don't worry.

P.S. Pendles dominated the Legends match, shown by his 54% game-time with 19 disposals. But that's another story. :)

Bye for now.

Hi BB,

Haven't followed this post for a few days but wonder if you are not being fully aware with what you have written above.I think Gibbs is really coming along well over the past couple of weeks and did stand up under pressure again Freo. However so far he has shown an inconsistency when under pressure.

Many times this season he has butchered disposal from kick outs and in other pressure situations. I believe that he is very gifted with his skills but that under certain situations his mind freezes a bit. Also last year my opinion is that whilst it was great that a 17/18 y/o played a whole season under the pressure of the backline I didn't believe he perfromed any better than would have been expected from any other first year player.

Well praise the lord, a carlton fan who can make a judgment on Gibbs without letting their bias get in the way. Never thought i'd see the day. This post sums Gibbs up at the moment

One thing I have noticed that he is playing a lot more confident and positive footy since Ratts too over as coach, which does proof two things - One Deni$ Pagan was a shocking coach at Carlton, and two, Ratts is totally the perfect coach for Carlton, and I hope he coaches us for 10 years plus ...

I laugh at how Bummer fans keep bagging him, I wonder how their number 2 draft pick, Scott Gumbleton is going ???
10 tackles is bloody sensational !!

I'm a massive Gibbs fan so be careful about generalising. I see Gibbs as more of a captain type rather than Murphy. Not all good/great footballers are captain material. And about Gumbleton, a bit hard for the kid to show what he's got when he can't get on the park.

Hi again BB,

Thanks for your detailed reply. My reason for posting was not to suggest that you were over playing where he is at in general. It was specifically about how he has been under pressure. I believe he has panicked and frozen in his decision making enough to have been a concern. I haven't seen this being evident over the past 2 weeks and hope that he had progressed past this.

Overall I would agree that he is most likely going to be a very good long term player for Carlton.

Gibbs was not beaten once in a one on one situation at ground level (the Lonergan free was probably the only time he was beaten overhead). Opposition supporters are blind, ignorant or just refuse to accept what they see what Gibbs does week in, week out. He has yet to rip apart a game, but he is extremely solid and does everything well. The signs are there - for one of the youngest players in the competition (second youngest on Carlton's senior list) to be playing consistently well, every week at AFL level is outstanding.

I don't know what opposition supporters expect of him, but he has, without a shred of a doubt, done more than any other player drafted in 2006 apart from Selwood.

Was very impressed with Bryce last night. Felt he held his nerve as well if not better than any Carlton player.

Agree wholeheartedly. I honestly believe he is now starting to show why he was the number one draft pick. In the past, he's been solid but looked to lack confidence at time - now, his composure is a class above and he's oozing confidence. It mightn't be as obvious as others, but Gibbs game last night was in my mind, as encouraging a game that I've seen from him.

Gibbs was not beaten once in a one on one situation at ground level (the Lonergan free was probably the only time he was beaten overhead). Opposition supporters are blind, ignorant or just refuse to accept what they see what Gibbs does week in, week out. He has yet to rip apart a game, but he is extremely solid and does everything well. The signs are there - for one of the youngest players in the competition (second youngest on Carlton's senior list) to be playing consistently well, every week at AFL level is outstanding.

I don't know what opposition supporters expect of him, but he has, without a shred of a doubt, done more than any other player drafted in 2006 apart from Selwood.

Once again proving just how flexible he is. He moved from midfield, to take lonergan, the cats second most dangerous and their primary key forward for the night. Ratts knows there is no challenge he wont take take on. Great bit of work to set-up scotlands goal in the second quarter, reminded me of the magic last week for stevo's goal.

Am really happy after a hard nights work he ended up with a couple of goals, as a bit of the reward for the tough night that he and a few of the other younglings endured.

although in junk time, lovely finish from the pocket in the last minute.:thumbsu:

He just keeps showing why so many of us think he's going to be an absolutely awsome midfielder in a couple of years. His work amongst packs is just phenominal. Showed it again last night when he got that handball out to Scotland who kicked the goal. In around 2 years time, with Gibbs and Juddy getting the ball out of the packs to the likes of Murphy and Stevens, boy are we gonna be hard to stop :thumbsu:

There was a passage of play in the third Q (IIRC) where he was running the ball out through CHB with a man just ahead of him........again...just a little twist of the hips sent his opponent 5m the wrong way and BG made some space for himself.

Not to mention the snap goal from 45m out.

Held his head high in a midfield under siege.......goes from strength to strength.

Anyone not 100% sold yet? :cool:

BTW, my definition of a defender or HBFer is someone who plays on a forward..........genrally playing around the F50 or inside......which he has done in the past, and even this year vs Saints in particular.

However, watch the game and you'll see Bryce playing through the midfield, and pushing forwards more than he ever has. Yes, he still gets back to help out.......but so does every mid at some point.

Judd was in the goal square at one point last night..........doesn't make him a fullback.

Gibbs is now well and truly a part of our midfield rotation.

As for the comment about Pendles being ahead of him in development.......I said quite specifically "midfield development" to mean that Pendles has played there since he started. Gibbs has only just moved in there this year on any meaningful basis. I thought that was pretty clear the first time.

I can see a role for him closer to goal around Fev when resting from midfield duties.

I agree with this. He has demonstrated that he knows where the goals are (6 straight so far this season) & has the size & pace to be a handy player on the lead. I would love to see him spend more time forward.

There was a passage of play in the third Q (IIRC) where he was running the ball out through CHB with a man just ahead of him........again...just a little twist of the hips sent his opponent 5m the wrong way and BG made some space for himself.

Not to mention the snap goal from 45m out.

Held his head high in a midfield under siege.......goes from strength to strength.

Anyone not 100% sold yet? :cool:

BTW, my definition of a defender or HBFer is someone who plays on a forward..........genrally playing around the F50 or inside......which he has done in the past, and even this year vs Saints in particular.

However, watch the game and you'll see Bryce playing through the midfield, and pushing forwards more than he ever has. Yes, he still gets back to help out.......but so does every mid at some point.

Judd was in the goal square at one point last night..........doesn't make him a fullback.

Gibbs is now well and truly a part of our midfield rotation.

As for the comment about Pendles being ahead of him in development.......I said quite specifically "midfield development" to mean that Pendles has played there since he started. Gibbs has only just moved in there this year on any meaningful basis. I thought that was pretty clear the first time.

Gun post. :thumbsu: Paradoxically, clarity often muddies a pool of stupidity.

*BUMP*

I was going to select a few choice quotes on here........but there were soo many to chose from I just thought you'd all enjoy the re-read.

Just goes to show how little some people know about football.

I was particularly looking for the quotes relating to how much we "wasted Gibbs as a defender last year and that he should never be used in a negating or tagger role".

:thumbsu:

Most of the culprits in this thread are Pies supporters.

Maybe we will bump this again in a week.;)

Have to laugh at the idiots from other clubs who keep paying him out. But the sad thing is that they would love to have him at their clubs, the kid made a small mistake when he was 18 and the flogs can't seem to forget that. In my opinion he has more than made up for that incident, which was no big deal. He is ONLY 19, already a gun and a half, and can rip a game open even if just gets 10 possessions. Future GF winning captain for, lets just make sure we keep him at Carlton. There are going to be a ton of clubs after him when his contract expires.