Give The Bird The Boot

25 possesions is all good, but what he does with them is what counts. I think that I would like him alot better in the F/HF line.

But to tell the truth I can't wait until everyone can say that he is not in our best 22.

He reminds me of Bart Simpson when he is trying to take a cupcake that Lisa attached an electric shock to for an experiment, even though it shocks him and it hurts he just keeps on trying to grab it.

Brett Burton does dumb sh.t, he keeps doing it, time after time after time. :mad:

jc67 said:
It might just be that he was poorly managed under the old coach..
Ayresy forced him to make bad decisions on the field? I've heard it all now.
He looked pretty good against the eagles..
He was very good against the Weagles, but his decision making is too often poor and detrimental to the team.
We may have (well at least me) been unfair to him over the past couple of seasons.
No, his play warrants critisism at times. Look at the way he polarises opinion.......people aren't just harping on about him for no reason.

**** said:
He'd be taken in the top 20.

**** he wouldn't with the game the way it is these days. Footy smarts, the ability to think your way through traffic, and the poise to hit targets are essential attributes with the game as fast and precise as it is.

Even this year some good young players who were tipped to go in the first 2 rounds got overlooked altogether. A small query over size, work ethic, decision making, skills etc can lead to a player missing out.

I think Birdy is great. Sure...he makes an error or two but his heart is in the right place and he always gives 100%.

k
xx

I said top 20 because in any draft half the players won't even make it. And half of those that do will only be average players. Whereas Burton has already made it. As a good, but flawed, player.

He has awesome fitness levels and athletic abilities. And like players who dominate the draft camp, he would attract heaps of interest based on just that. He is also very versatile and can play anywhere from the midfield to key forward positions. Again, a very attractive attribute for recruiters. Put him up forward and he has that ability to kick goals, even in a disfunctional forward line. And he is a ball magnet and a strong mark.

Given all this, I think it is fair to say he would go top 20 easily.

maccas_no1 said:
He does ******** me to tears at times but is a far better player, than Skipworth, Perrie and Begley.
....and a few others. Its interesting that the people on this board are his harshest critics. Its interesting that the Media (particularly in Melbourne) rate him pretty highly. His error rate as a percentage of his possesions is not that high. He makes more errors than a lot of blokes mainly because he has the ball more than most of them. I'm sure the likes of Skippy would love the opportunity to make so many errors. ;)

AdelaideFan said:
Harsh I know.

I have never been a fan of the Birdman and think he does a lot to hinder our side than help. Truth is he has been out for two great wins. Dont see where we require his services. I know he gets a lot of the football but his disposal is terrible.

Can't think of a game where I walked away doing anything but cursing his teribble play.

Any thoughts???
Oh for goodness sake, if every player in the Adelaide side put in as much as effort as Brett does each week, we'd flog every team we come up against.

Going by your logic, maybe we shouldn't bring back Clarke and Hart as soon as they're ready either?

I rate him in our top six.

Jars458 said:
My first thought is that you have no idea.

Burton has played some blinders for us.

His positives far outweigh his negatives.

I would like to move him forward more.

Only get rid of him if we get a really really good trade.

Well called in all respects Jars.

I'd like to see Burton in the FP or at FF when he returns.

the madness is spreading - get yourselves to the clinics. wtf are some of you on?

the birdman is in our best 22 every week, and he sure as **** is not the 22nd picked player.

Jars458 said:
My first thought is that you have no idea.

Burton has played some blinders for us.

His positives far outweigh his negatives.

I would like to move him forward more.

Only get rid of him if we get a really really good trade.
Totally agree Jars. Seriously some people have no idea. Burton was probably BOG against the Weagles until he was injured.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Totally agree Jars. Seriously some people have no idea. Burton was probably BOG against the Weagles until he was injured.
Same thing in the regional challenge match against Melbourne. Played a blinder but started getting some serious cramping in the last quarter.
He's no superstar, but I wouldn't have him too far outside of our top 10.

Truck Rutten said:
Ayresy forced him to make bad decisions on the field? I've heard it all now.
He was very good against the Weagles, but his decision making is too often poor and detrimental to the team.
No, his play warrants critisism at times. Look at the way he polarises opinion.......people aren't just harping on about him for no reason.
No Ayres didn't force him to make wrong decisions on the field but I think you are missing the point.

Like Mattner he is the player than you don't want thinking when he gets it. You just rather he do what ever comes into his head first. When he tries to think what is he going to do, thats when he stuffs up.

I have been critical of him in the past but if Mattner can control his brain fades there is no reason why Burton can't. Ayres' game plan is different to Craig's and players have different instructions under different coaches and with in different game plans.

Is it a coincidence that Mattner has been playing much better footy when he was told to kick it rather than handball it when he gets it?????? I think not. When ever Marty uses a handball it gets unstuck quite a few times but when he gets it on his boot he more often than not hurts the opposition. This is the example of players playing differently under different coaches and within different structures. Burton is one of only a small handful of match winners in our side and under NC he could well be a much better player than he was under Ayres. I think his game against WC was VERY good and his decision making and disposal was pretty sound.

Truck Rutten said:
**** he wouldn't with the game the way it is these days. Footy smarts, the ability to think your way through traffic, and the poise to hit targets are essential attributes with the game as fast and precise as it is.

Even this year some good young players who were tipped to go in the first 2 rounds got overlooked altogether. A small query over size, work ethic, decision making, skills etc can lead to a player missing out.
I strongly disagree.

You seem to be forgetting that more and more now clubs are drafting athletes in a hope of turning them into footballers. We have done it with Jericho, other teams have done. Tom Williams was taken with pick 6 in last year's draft based mostly on his athletic ability. His kicking is crap and decision making not his strong point.

These days are looking at athletes more and more. How many VERY good footballers got overlooked because they lacked pace and were not athletic.

Burton would be a very attractive player these days in the draft and I agree that he would go in the top 20.

Stiffy_18 said:
I strongly disagree.

You seem to be forgetting that more and more now clubs are drafting athletes in a hope of turning them into footballers. We have done it with Jericho, other teams have done. Tom Williams was taken with pick 6 in last year's draft based mostly on his athletic ability. His kicking is crap and decision making not his strong point.

These days are looking at athletes more and more. How many VERY good footballers got overlooked because they lacked pace and were not athletic.

Burton would be a very attractive player these days in the draft and I agree that he would go in the top 20.

Stiffy, if the Count who apparently rivals Burton in his athleticism, and who's composure, decision making and skills are arguably better at 18 than Burton's are at 26, went at 24 then do you really think Burton would be a top 20 pick as an 18 year old?

I've got no vendetta against him, and I really hope he comes back into the team and plays some great footy......primarily up forward.

Stiffy_18 said:
I strongly disagree.

You lost me at Jericho Stiff.

Truck Rutten said:
Stiffy, if the Count who apparently rivals Burton in his athleticism, and who's composure, decision making and skills are arguably better at 18 than Burton's are at 26, went at 24 then do you really think Burton would be a top 20 pick as an 18 year old?

I've got no vendetta against him, and I really hope he comes back into the team and plays some great footy......primarily up forward.
VB is still unproven, whereas Burton has been a proven matchwinner. There is no reason why both can't be in the 22, given there are worse players in the side.

Kane McGoodwin said:
VB is still unproven, whereas Burton has been a proven matchwinner. There is no reason why both can't be in the 22, given there are worse players in the side.
this is the key....there is plenty of room for both.

Burton, Count >>>>>> Shirley, Skipworth, Doughty Begley......(qualified by saying Shirley and Mrs. Doubtfire played well on Sunday)

oh yes , there is PLENTY of room for both.

*goes back underground*

;)

Kane McGoodwin said:
Matchwinner is a term like superstar, or the great man, which are used far too liberally in footy today in my opinion. Brett's a good player. A valuable contributor with fantastic aerobic capacity and a great work ethic. He's not a gun in my opinion, but others clearly think he is. We'll have to agree to disagree.

As I said before, when he comes back into the team I hope he plays some great footy......preferably up forward. :)

Truck Rutten said:
Matchwinner is a term like superstar, or the great man, which are used far too liberally in footy today in my opinion. Brett's a good player. A valuable contributer with fantastic aerobic capacity and a great work ethic. He's not a gun in my opinion, but others clearly think he is. We'll have to agree to disagree.

As I said before, when he comes back into the team I hope he plays some great footy......preferably up forward. :)
Maybe not a superstar or even a gun, but better than about 30 other blokes on the list. I still claim that WC only won the game because he left the ground.