Grendel

Thank christ his careers nearly over, fair dinkum his 'performance' on the footy show tonight :confused: :confused:

If ever a bloke has confused wit for dross, this bloke wins hands down. Every time he opened his yap with some 'supposed' clever/funny comment it died. It always does, he is lamer than a a leper in a 'Lepers'R'Us' store.

For gods sake, please please please, no Manton next year doing anything remotely associated with Ch.9/10 footy broadcasts. Makes me ill just thinking about it.

I'd rather listen to Manton than have to put up with W.a.n.k. Carey's cliche-ridden poop.

Gotta disagree with ya there Gren, I think Manton's great - makes the rest of the cr@p those idiots carry on with bearable.

top title btw ;) :D

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
Gotta disagree with ya there Gren, I think Manton's great - makes the rest of the cr@p those idiots carry on with bearable.

yeah im with you katie... mants is a champ!! he adds a little bit of humour, like crawford does!! same role, just mants comments are better than crawf's... only cos his blonde and cant get his hand around what he has to say.. :rolleyes:

and yes, he is better than carey and "pie in my face" schwarz

Agree with all of you who says that Manton is great. He is one of the best, and I am always glad when he is on the show. I certainly hope he continues next year.

--------------------------------------------------------
Ball says the crowd, play on says the umpire
--------------------------------------------------------

Manton gave Carey a backhanded compliment and he just missed it !

Eddie: Wats Osteous pubis like, Wayne.

WC: You can play, it just takes your power away.

Manton: Like Kryptonite, you mean

WC: (defensive) what ? Dur ?

Manton: Kryptonite - takes your power away

WC: OK ?

You must be kidding Grendel....Mants is the best of the lot (a pretty bad lot I know). I mean he's sitting next to Wayne Carey and you managed to single Manton out for being crap on the footy show? The example that Pessimistic gave sums it up.

I know sometimes he gets the humour wrong Chris, but he acknowledges it when that happens. Honestly, he's head and shoulders above the rest. Although I also like Crawford as well.

Grendel, I agree with you here mate. Manton just tries too hard to be the 'wierdo' on the panel and more often than not, just falls flat.
I actually thought that Buddha was the funniest bloke on there last night. It was great when he said that from now on he was just going to fly off the handle in every game and bugger playing the ball. He actually came across as a reasonably level headed individual, and seeing how he's from Geelong, that's a grand effort in itself.

Gotta agree Grendel

As soon as Manton starts to speak you just know it's gonna be a pathetic attempt at humour that will die in the arse!!

When he talks about the game, the players etc he's good to listen to but the corny jokes - give it away!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Manton has lost his thunder a bit, and so has Trevor, but they still both kick arse!

Atleast Lloyd wasnt on! :D

Who got mantons joke about that siamese cat being the arch rival of the vietnamese noodles players.

Was it because they are always hunting the cats to put in their dim sims?

Or because they can't get any pussy? (Sorry )

I think Manton is great, but unfortunately his wit is too intellectual for the majority of people on the show, so the humour goes right over their heads. Seems the same thing happens to a lot of viewers.:rolleyes:

Spot on Sandie, that's exactly what I was about to say, but you beat me to it!
Glenn Manton is a very intelligent person, his jokes go way over the head of the average footy show viewer.

Anyone who thinks that Sam Newman shredding the drawing of a child is funny, obviously won't be able to understand anything that may be slightly intellectual. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by mantis
I think Manton is great, but unfortunately his wit is too intellectual for the majority of people on the show, so the humour goes right over their heads. Seems the same thing happens to a lot of viewers.:rolleyes:

Mantis

Are you really trying to tell me that because I don't think Glen Manton's attempts at humour are at all funny are due to it being too intellectual - that it's at a level that I can't comprehend??

Sorry - I just don't think he is funny at whatever level of intelligence!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Originally posted by Gonzo

Mantis

Are you really trying to tell me that because I don't think Glen Manton's attempts at humour are at all funny are due to it being too intellectual - that it's at a level that I can't comprehend??

Sorry - I just don't think he is funny at whatever level of intelligence!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Fair enough Gonzo, but if you don't find Manton funny, who DO you find funny on that panel?

I reckon Glen's alright...he made a couple of bad calls last night...but everyone does from time to time. I think he is one of the better panellists, along with Garry Lyon, Billy, and Crawf (who doesn't pretend to be smart, not afraid to have a go at himself).

Carey is OK, but he is better it seems on Just AFL.

Buckley and Lloyd are the two shockers for me - although I'll probably be shot down in flames for saying that. But Buckley just doesn't have a quick wit like Manton or Billy - he says a laboured joke some half hour after the event most of the time.

As for Lloyd - Essendon's answer to Mogadon. :o :o :o

Originally posted by Blues2001

Fair enough Gonzo, but if you don't find Manton funny, who DO you find funny on that panel?

B2001

I don't find any of the panellists particularly funny, (Marmalade has the occassional good one liner, Gary Lyon the same, hey even Eddie McGuire can come up with a good line occassionally) but by the same token none of them apart from GM attempt to bring out the full blown comedy routine (complete with sight gags etc.!!)

GM shouldn't get his aspirations confused with his ability! - just stick to what he knows and that's footy!

Cheers

Gonzo