Goalkicking Accuracy - A New Low (Is Whitten Oval Part Of The Problem?)

Oliver G

Premium Platinum
May 14, 2009
Week after week goalkicking has been our #1 downfall and main source of frustration. This week was no exception, six of our first seven scores were behinds.

This is our accuracy over the 11 rounds of 2019, bear in mind we are ranked 6th for total shots at goal with 300 shots.

R1 - 41.2% (18th)
R2 - 51.6% (9th)
R3 - 36.0% (18th)
R4 - 40.9% (12th)
R5 - 25.9% (18th)
R6 - 37.5% (16th)
R7 - 51.7% (6th)
R8 - 40.6% (12th)
R9 - 50.0% (7th)
R10 - 48.1% (7th)
R11 - 41.7% (11th)

Western Bulldogs Overall - 41.7% (17th)
Competition Overall - 45.9%

Our best round result this year so far is 6th (R7) and we on track to finish 17th in goal accuracy for 2019 behind Gold Coast. If this eventuates it will be the fourth year in a row finishing in the bottom four….

2014 - 47.9% (14th)
2015 - 51.4% (8th)
2016 - 47.5% (16th)
2017 - 43.0% (18th)
2018 - 43.3% (15th)
2019 - 41.7% (17th)

Here is the player by player accuracy for 2019...
Western Bulldogs - Accuracy - 2019.png

Bonti with 10 goals from 33 shots is painful, only Powell-Pepper has a worse record for anyone with 30+ shots.

Over the past year I have been wondering if Whitten Oval is part of the problem. Yes we have always trained there but after speaking to a couple of ex-players earlier in the year they did mention that it was difficult for them transitioning from shot at goal kicking at the Whitten Oval to Docklands, M.C.G. etc, etc. Since the mid-2000s development of the Whitten Oval the ground has been more exposed (although only slightly). Does anyone else have any thoughts on this?

Why kick around the corner from 9 metres out on a 45 degree angle, crazy

Bit harsh. He was almost at the point post as the tackle was half a metre from the point line.
He should’ve nailed the snap shot regardless but I’d prefer he go the snap from the tight angle than go the drop punt.

I see better kicking for goals at the local footy on the weekend. Not sure what it is with AFL footballers, particularly us and St Kilda. We are exceptionally bad at finishing and I have no idea why. We play most of our games at Marvel, there's no excuse for poor goal kicking.

I only ever feel comfortable with Dickson and Libba taking a set shot. The rest are absolute nightmares.

How about paying for a part-time goal kicking coach!!!!

When Gardner tried to kick around his body for 9 metres out on only a marginal angle just highlighted the need for a coach.

Why on earth a side with our record and with players making simple school yard errors does not have a coach is beyond me.

Rocca's work in the industry is very underrated. He turned Casbault from one of the worst set shots in the competition to above average.

The other issue is 'access to players' which most coaches bemoan. Far all his foibles, Brad Scott banned the fitness staff from pulling his players off the track when they were taking set shots and Ben Brown does more work on his routine than almost any other KPF in the comp. He's improved markedly since he joined the AFL system.

It’s all due to poor technique, Wallis is a more reliable kick for goal than Bont because he has a far better technique. Goal kicking is a very different style of kick to a field kick which is much flatter. Practicing in windy conditions should make your technique better because you have less margin for error. It’s amazing to me that so few clubs have specialist goal kicking coaches.

It's interesting seeing them take set shots in the pre-game warm-up. They almost never miss from 40-50m out, although admittedly they don't seem to do many shots from tight angles.

Then when the game is under way it's totally different.

It seems to me it's less to do with technique and more to do with what's going on between the ears.

There is a Goal Kicking coach running around for Footscray in the VFL, who is past his prime and is unlikely to get much more game time in the AFL team. He has always had a great technique, and should be given the task to work with the rest of the team asap
Has a solid record this year, reckon most of his no scores is because he’s getting old and can’t make the distances he used to.

There is a Goal Kicking coach running around for Footscray in the VFL, who is past his prime and is unlikely to get much more game time in the AFL team. He has always had a great technique, and should be given the task to work with the rest of the team asap
Having heard him speak about goal kicking.... let's just say that just because you can kick them, doesn't make you a good coach of it.

We don't so much need a goalkicking expert ... although I wouldn't say no to one. (Surely we've tried that at some point anyway?)

What we need is a shrink who doesn't need to know much about footy. He/she only needs to know the difference between a goal and a behind. The players have to get the clutter out of their head. Every miss compounds the problem for the next bloke.

We don't so much need a goalkicking expert ... although I wouldn't say no to one. (Surely we've tried that at some point anyway?)

What we need is a shrink who doesn't need to know much about footy. He/she only needs to know the difference between a goal and a behind. The players have to get the clutter out of their head. Every miss compounds the problem for the next bloke.
Agreed. Mindfulness is the next frontier of coaching in sports. Richmond (and others) have already harnessed it.

The yips! bad case of the greg normans or the chris grants, whatever you want to call it.

WHATEVER YOU DO, DONT GET ANXIOUS ABOUT THIS KICK FOR GOAL!!!

It's interesting seeing them take set shots in the pre-game warm-up. They almost never miss from 40-50m out, although admittedly they don't seem to do many shots from tight angles.

Then when the game is under way it's totally different.

It seems to me it's less to do with technique and more to do with what's going on between the ears.
i think people are underestimating fatigue our style of play causes and the effect it has on our goal kicking and kicking in general.

When Gardner tried to kick around his body for 9 metres out on only a marginal angle just highlighted the need for a coach.

Why on earth a side with our record and with players making simple school yard errors does not have a coach is beyond me.
We’re just not that smart as a club mate.

We only have one player in our line-up who I am confident will kick a goal from 45m and that is Lloyd who has come from another club. Dickson used to be that player that we could depend on but he has lost depth in his kicking and form generally. There is no doubt this is an indictment on the players themselves who have not improved in this vital area. If I'm paid an average of $350,000 per year as an athlete I should be expected to be proficient in this skill especially if I'm selected to play anywhere near the forward line. Coaching can help to a certain extent but the end responsibility lies with the players themselves. If the problem is so endemic then perhaps we need to cull those players who are persistent non - performers.

I don't really buy into the inaccurate goalkicking theory too much. Currently we have two of the best set shots that the club has ever seen in Dickson and Lloyd. Naughton is learning, Schache is good when playing, and Bailey Smith is proving to be an excellent sharpshooter, as is Dale.

I have a feeling it's more to do with where the shots are taken from, and the type of shots.
We are simply not going to get the same quality looks as a Kennedy/Darling combo.

An interesting observation by occasional poster Butane that I thought was worth sharing:

Pretty crazy that there is such a significant difference over such a large number of shots, for no apparent reason.

Apparently a breeze comes in left of screen through the car entrance