Goddard

Brad Ottens wasn't paid anything like the scale you're paying Goddard. And that was in 2004 way before we embarked on our current strategy.

You paid 2 1st round picks (plus I have little doubt a significant financial package). Thats a pretty high price in anyone's language. Whats makes you believe Thompson was only reffering to Geelong's strategy since he left? Active in trade week was very much a part of Geelong's strategy towards building their succesful side (the vast majority of which was done by 2004). Not all trades worked just as not all kids drafted will work.

Regardless, how is getting Goddard sacrificing the development of kids? We will still draft 4-5 kids plus rookies as we have done every year. Goddard will take the spot of a fringe player like Lonergan, Prismal or Dyson. Now call me crazy but I'd reckon kids like Browne, Kavanaugh & Merret could learn a darn sight more from a Player like Goddard than they could from Ricky Dyson.

If you suscribe to the theory that Bombers are paying slightly overs to drag him away from the Saints, it is pretty depressing looking at his 2010 stats versus 2011/12. In that two years his output has dropped off in a big way. Stats arent everything but here is a few clues:

Handballs 351 (2010) down to 187 (2012)
Kicks 367 (2010) down to 300 (2012)
Marks 172 (2010) down to 121 (2012)
Goals 24 (2010) down to 12 (2012)
Tackles 88 (2010) down to 60 (2012)

If you check 2011, it is halfway down to 2012.

Across the board his output has dropped by a third.

Watters is spot on in his analysis and Essendon football club are operating opposite to the Moneyball (Sydney regime). Hird has purchased the hype.

Goddard played 20 games in 2012. He played 25 in 2010. His stats are down by less than a third...

He averaged more touches than any other Saint this year.

Did I say you tagged him idiot? No I didn't I said you blokes said he was a sook who couldn't handle a tag. Learn how to read before you shoot off at the mouth you twat.

Why would Essendon supporters bring up Goddard not being able to handle a tag if we didn't tag him?

Besides if Goddard is as bad as many st kilda supporters are saying it is unlikely he will attract the tag over Watson and Stanton.

Watters is spot on in his analysis and Essendon football club are operating opposite to the Moneyball (Sydney regime). Hird has purchased the hype.

Yep, it's only 2 days hence and already the reigning premier's method is the only way to win a premiership.

Goddard played 20 games in 2012. He played 25 in 2010. His stats are down by less than a third...

He averaged more touches than any other Saint this year.

My bad...if you take averages into account it is still a significant 15% dropoff on disposal and tackles. But you could reason the Saints have freefalled themselves in line with goddards disposals.

If you suscribe to the theory that Bombers are paying slightly overs to drag him away from the Saints, it is pretty depressing looking at his 2010 stats versus 2011/12. In that two years his output has dropped off in a big way. Stats arent everything but here is a few clues:

Handballs 351 (2010) down to 187 (2012)
Kicks 367 (2010) down to 300 (2012)
Marks 172 (2010) down to 121 (2012)
Goals 24 (2010) down to 12 (2012)
Tackles 88 (2010) down to 60 (2012)

If you check 2011, it is halfway down to 2012.

Across the board his output has dropped by a third.

This has to take the cake for statistical stupidity. In 2010 he played 5 more games including 2 grand finals. Just about every Stkilda players overall numbers will be down as the club played 4 less games. His actual average possesions in 2012 are only down by 15% on his best ever year, so half what you are claiming.

Are you supposed to be breaking the bank for a player who is on the decline. 15% drop is still very significant.

Smart recruiting would be paying that for someone who has something left in the tank. Hopefully next year you can offer Judd 700k and we can take the first rounder.

Former Essendon chairman Ray Horsburgh told the club he would give Brendon Goddard a job
Horsburgh, who is chairman of transport and logistics giant Toll, has confirmed the job offer.

"We told David Evans we can offer some work, but I'm not sure if they are going to go ahead with it," Horsburgh said.

"It's been thrown into the mix, but it hasn't been finalised or accepted yet. When David Evans and Bomber (Mark Thompson) and others were going for him, we said we could do something.

Asked if a Toll job was part of negotiations with Goddard, Essendon chief executive Ian Robson said it wasn't.

"The offer wasn't made," he said.

Horsburgh said Toll had employed other Bombers, such as ruckman David Hille, and AFL investigations officer Ken Wood had approved their employment.

"We give them work from time to time; it's about life after footy ... to develop a career," Horsburgh said. "It's about a day and half a week and Ken Wood ticks it off.

"David (Evans) has an advisory board and part of the deal is to try to help these blokes with life after footy, with mentoring, career advice, giving them work if there is any available in the areas they want to pursue."
Former Essendon chairman Ray Horsburgh told the club he would give Brendon Goddard a job

Watters absolutely caned him. Said hed been middle of the road for the past two years.

He's right.

Essendon supporters either haven't watched many of our games the past two years or have been in a coma since the 2010 GFs. He has been mediocre at best and has come under plenty of criticism in that time from Saints supporters to the point where many of us were considering whether we would be better off trading him for draft picks.

700k a year for a 27yo all Australian who barring injury could still be a top 20 player in the comp, who is a life member at his club, and who is regarded as a future captain. Do people really, really think this is way overs? How do you expect to coax someone of that ilk away from their club? By offering him the same deal as that club? Get real people.

I say to all you doubters SUCK IT UP. The bombers will be contending for a flag VERY soon. Hold onto your hats.

He's right.

Essendon supporters either haven't watched many of our games the past two years or have been in a coma since the 2010 GFs. He has been mediocre at best and has come under plenty of criticism in that time from Saints supporters to the point where many of us were considering whether we would be better off trading him for draft picks.
What does that say about your list then if he's fourth in your B&F?

Essendon supporters keep bringing that up but if you had seen his performances over the year it's surprising he finished that high. Personally I wouldn't have had him ahead of the likes of Riewoldt, Dal Santo, Armitage, Steven, Geary, Fisher and Milne. He is pretty lucky to even make the top 10 to be honest.

As I said before, Goddard didn't make the AA squad and wasn't even in discussions for a place in the squad let alone in the actual AA team. If he had anything more than a mediocre season then surely he would have made the AA squad or at least been in the mix.

Thats a lot of money Essendon have just wasted that could have been better spent on conditioning coaches that wont leave them crocked from Rd9 or 10 onwards...

Ah, no sunshine.

Players are paid from a salary cap. Coaches are not.

As a Dees fan, I saw similar vitriol directed towards us for splashing similar coin on one Mitch Clark.

One year later, nobody is calling that a bad deal. Granted, Mitch is younger (by three years), but the similarity is pretty obvious.

In the new AFL, clubs are going to have years where they have 'spare' money in the cap, and if they dont use it it is wasted. Melbourne saw it last year and snagged a gun, Essendon are doing it this year (and they're not even giving up a pick or a player anyway).

New AFL: IF you've got it, SPEND IT.

It is still money your club has wasted, no? That much for Goddard is criminal. Its Scully-esque.

Whether it's a waste or not remains to be seen. I think it might well be worth it.

Your linking of it to spending more money on coaches is absurd and you know it.

Its all still money your club has in its pockets thats now gone, so if it couldnt have been used on coaching then it should have been used on better players. You now have a player to sit loose on the HBF, of which you already had players in that position. Would love to hear his reasoning for the move, has to be for money rather than success.

He's right.

Essendon supporters either haven't watched many of our games the past two years or have been in a coma since the 2010 GFs.
Mate, all people who love footy have watched St. Kilda's last few years, went downhill pretty quick and you didn't have to be too intelligent to realize that none of the STK players were playing to their full capabilities or were happy out on the field - even coach had enough= greener pastures
why isn't Gilbert playing like he used to?

BJ is a great get for the bombers and will dominate :thumbsu:

Its all still money your club has in its pockets thats now gone, so if it couldnt have been used on coaching then it should have been used on better players. You now have a player to sit loose on the HBF, of which you already had players in that position. Would love to hear his reasoning for the move, has to be for money rather than success.

Would think it is far more likely he will play midfield at Essendon.

Ignore the $, you usually have to pay overs to lure a player to your club barring some other circumstances, that's usually the nature of big free agent signings. Essendon targeted their guy and they got him, so props to them.