Goddard

why? He had a couple of unfortunate significant injuries since, didn't he?..

(he's come to the right club then! :confused: )
why? He had a couple of unfortunate significant injuries since, didn't he?..

(he's come to the right club then! :confused: )

Not really. He's just tapered off to a good player, not a great player. Wouldn't be surprised if he turned it around at Essendon, I just don't expect it to happen.

I am sad about losing a player who can kick the ball as well as he does. Other than that, depending on compensation, I'm not particularly fussed. He was overrated in the past two years based on his 2010 season, and I'm hoping the AFL take that mindset when they come to compensating the Saints.

Wow, an elite, A-grade, All-Australian player coming to our club and all it costs us is a bit of cap space. I love free agency.

I know what a lot of opposition supporters in this thread will be having for dessert tonight - jelly.

It's not just a bit of cap space though is it?

It would take a monumental change of form for Goddard to be worth 800k next year let alone at 29, 30 or 31.

Not to mention the effect it will have on the playing group when a bloke walks in on that type of money. Especially one with Goddard's reputed ego.

The only other thing to add to that is that Goddards footskills, height and versatility mean that he is a player who stands a good chance of playing wll into his 30's. Probably the best player to move clubs since Judd.

What about Ablett? Hell, i'd throw Kennedy up there too, especially since he has time on his side.

Goddard has had one fantastic season, and even that gets overrated because of a great finals series (he started off poorly in comparison). Still a pretty good pickup by the Bombers, albeit with a hefty price tag. It is the first big move with free agency, and i reckon the success, or failure, of this move will affect how willing clubs are to splash the cash in the future. If the Dons can stay relatively injury free, they will certainly be top 8 and pushing for top 4 with Goddard.

It would take a monumental change of form for Goddard to be worth 800k next year let alone at 29, 30 or 31.

Not to mention the effect it will have on the playing group when a bloke walks in on that type of money. Especially one with Goddard's reputed ego.

Mate I’ve been as critical as anybody re the potential price, but I’ve seen now that all anybody is doing is guessing.

I’ve seen figures ranging from $650k per year to $900k per year in the media over the last couple of days, all being from what would be considered “reputable” sources.

Nobody expect Essendon, St Kilda and the man himself know what the figure is, but I wouldn’t mind guessing the vast majority of “journos” are going for higher figures. It simply makes for a better story. I mean, nobody’s gonna lowball the number for their story, are they?

Trust that the club knows what it’s doing, until and if we start losing required players due to cap space, which I’ll bet my life isn’t going to happen in the near future.

Everyone is just guessing.

That's the price of getting a former All-Australian, 'top 10 in the league' quality player to your club; we weren't going to get him for peanuts. If he gets back to his best then we'll be laughing. It's a risk, yes, but you don't improve you team by just sitting on your hands. And he won't be getting 800k a year anyway.

24.4 disposals a game at 76% efficiency in an 'average' year for him. I'd take that from one of our players no worries.

Why would our group care what he's getting paid? To get the best you have to pay the best, they'll realise that. If Goddard improves our team overall and helps us achieve success then I would assume the coin he's on would be the last thing they'd be worrying about.

Have to agree it's a great get, very good player for very little cost. It's a brave new world

Essendon doesn't strike me as a club that was that far under the salary cap. So... who is going to be shown the door to make up the difference?

McVeigh, Monfries...

Plus I don't think we'd be even close to our cap limit. I thought we were operating near the minimum % allowed either this year (before we negotiated Hurley's contract) or last year.

What about Ablett? Hell, i'd throw Kennedy up there too, especially since he has time on his side.

Goddard has had one fantastic season, and even that gets overrated because of a great finals series (he started off poorly in comparison). Still a pretty good pickup by the Bombers, albeit with a hefty price tag. It is the first big move with free agency, and i reckon the success, or failure, of this move will affect how willing clubs are to splash the cash in the future. If the Dons can stay relatively injury free, they will certainly be top 8 and pushing for top 4 with Goddard.
Obviously forgot about Ablett. Kennedy wasn't a gun when he got traded

Gus Monfries looks likely. Slattery, Dyson, Reimers, Lonergan could all go. Plus retirement of McVeigh (and Hille probably has one year left).

If you were playing "Moneyball" I don't think I can justify paying Goddard 800K a year.

I almost rather get Moloney from Melbourne for 250,000, and use the rest on topping up the list in other ways.

Agree. Much smarter move.

do not care. after folling everton in the epl for the last 6 years ive realised its just a part of most sports. when mikel arteta went to arsenal i was almost in tears but now i just dont care.

no player is greater then the club

We need guns, we got a gun. Sure it would have been nice to get a high-possession clearance machine but, in case BigFooty hasn't looked, there aren't too many of them on the market. Goddard fills a need by bringing elite skills, toughness and leadership.

Gus Monfries looks likely. Slattery, Dyson, Reimers, Lonergan could all go. Plus retirement of McVeigh (and Hille probably has one year left).

Cool, sounds like a fair bit to work with.